We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peak Sport Chalet
Ranked #9 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

As a group we used both the studio and the 2 bedroom chalet during a stay of 2 nights. Both rooms were impeccably clean, with a small selection of sweets awaiting our arrival. Both rooms feature a full array of cooking utensils and equipment. The studio has a couple of hot plates, but the 2 bedroom apartment boasts a full oven.

Breakfast was provided in the morning, and what a spread! European style bread (absolutely delicious, thanks Christine!) along with muesli, yoghurt, fruit and muffins as well as great conversation to accompany the food.

One of the best things about this accommodation is the hosts, as Alex and Christine really know the area they live in and are able to recommend a wide variety of activities for all sorts of abilities. They know their stuff, which really is integral to having that little 'plus' on top of a bed and breakfast service.

As a group of travel agents, we would not hesitate to recommend this to our clients, to our family, to our friends and to anyone who might be looking for accommodation in Wanaka! In regards to the comment about signage further down the page, Alex advised us that shortly there will be a new sign to help guide guests in, and thus no reason not to visit the fabulous, wonderful, lovely Peak Sport Chalet!

Room Tip: The Studio is connected to the main house, but remains private and has its own deck out front. The T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed in the studio apartment and it was a spotless haven. The kitchenette may be a tad small for two but as I was on my own it was perfect. Alex and Christine are very nice and can provide advice about walks. The studio is right next to the main house but still very private. The only problems I had were that their signage at the street front is hard to spot and driving up I wasn't sure where reception was, fortunately Alex was there to help. Parking is limited but not a real issue. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zamphira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to here you enjoyed your stay. The Studio has a small kitchenette with microwave, hot plates and fridge and is advertised as this. For a full kitchen we recommend you choose the Chalet next time as it has all you could wish for, incl. dish washer and oven.
We also got a new sign up mid December so our guests find us more easily. It should have been up already at the time you stayed with us, but unfortunately we had unexpected detalys. I posted a photo of it on Trip Advisor, have a look.
Thanks again and we are looking forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was our first time to New Zealand and our first time at Peak Sport Chalet, which was excelllent. Wanaka is a very nice town to stay in and is much more laid back than the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. We stayed two times in October 2012 in the studio, which was very comfortable and very clean. We had a gap of one night in between the stay because we went down to Milford Sound, and Alex and Christine were very accomodating and let us store some luggage during that time at the B&B. Each night that we arrived back at the B&B, we had some type of homemade goodie, i.e. a cookie or rum bar, waiting in the room for us and Alex and Christine were very pleasant to talk to. We chose to have the breakfast buffet on one morning, and joined Alex and Christine, where we had the choices of muesli, apple muffins, homemade bread, jams, and fruits. Alex and Christine were interested in hearing about our adventures and gave us some tips and info about the next towns that we were visiting. We would definitely recommend to stay at Peak Sport Chalet if your travels take you to Wanaka and we would also recommend a jetboat ride on Wanaka River Journeys.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMO-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We've stayed at the Peak Sport Chalet numerous times now since 2006, mainly each time we go to Wanaka! This happened per coincidence mainly in winter when we go skiing, but we have also made it to Peak Sport Chalet in other seasons! The service is always excellent, with a warm welcome by Alex and Christine, and lovely home baking waiting for us each time. The chalet is perfectly suited for our family of 2 adults and 3 young children, the 2 rooms are lovely and spotless, the bathroom is small but fine and has underfloor heating. The kitchen is very well equipped for self-cooking, much better than most motels we've been to. The kids can go run around the house and in the backyard safely. The only hazard for very young children in the Chalet is the log fire. I'd say the biggest plus point is the hospitality of the owners who really care about your stay and that they keep improving it, at every visit we see changes in the Chalet for the best! I remember one visit I thought (or did I say it loud?) "it would be nice to have a step stool for the kids to be able to wash their hands." and the next time it was there! :-) If I had to find a down side to this accommodation, it's probably that the Chalet has no view on the lake, as it is tucked at the back of the property, but we don't really mind as we usually just go back to the Chalet when it's evening time and dark in winter, we're happy to be tucked in our warm cozy place!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the 2 bedroom self-contained chalet, twice with another family when we only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunedinite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Highly recommended. Very welcoming hosts. The room was spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the deck with a beer after a hard days skiing.They were very helpful with recommendations for walks and activities. Thanks again Alex and Christine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This place is amazing and I can only highly recommend it. The rooms are spotless and everything looks like new, the service is great and Alex and Christine are so friendly, warm and helpful without being pushy or intrusive. The quality of everything is really high and it just feels nice to be there. We will definitely come back here when we visit Wanaka again!

Room Tip: We had the studio and it's great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatharinaJohanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This little place is awesome. The studio had everything we needed. We arrived to a very welcoming Alex and some homemade brownies awaiting us on the table!! The place was spotless and Alex made some great recommendations for Dinner and Lunch. We were extremely impressed!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovychicIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thanks for your review. We loved having you as our guest and are looking forward to meeting you again.
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.2 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#11 of 53 in Wanaka
170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#2 of 53 in Wanaka
112 reviews
14.4 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
1.5 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 48 in Wanaka
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £73 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette or self-contained Chalet. Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. Check out the promotions on our web-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing