We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peak Sport Chalet Wanaka”
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peak Sport Chalet
Ranked #7 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Wonderful accommodation.....would be as enjoyable in all seasons! Very friendly and obliging hosts.....thoroughly recommended. Chalet is within a 25min easy walk of central Wanaka. Other beautiful walks possible from the Chalet. Must NOT miss a visit to the Cinema Paradiso and the freshly made cookies during the break!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in Wanaka and wished we had booked more. Our host Alex was most helpful and had catered to our every need(including the decaf coffee for my husband). He also suggested a lovely walk up Mount Iron which was worth it for the spectacular views at the top. The cosy annexe had everything we needed and although we ate out in the evening, we noted the kitchen facilities were good.
A lovely gem of a find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed with Alex and his family for one night and loved the experience. The room had a secluded little patio right on the garden, a comfortable bed and a well-equipped little kitchenette. Alex welcomed us when we arrived with Christmas cookies, and hosted us the next morning in his home for breakfast. It was great to sit and chat about the area and get some recommendations for places to hike! We wish we could have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review and your stay with us. We'd love to welcome you again at some stage. All the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

An absolute recommendation to stay at if in Wanaka. Christine is a very friendly and welcoming host. Although we only managed to stay for a night, we made full use of the lovely kitchen facilities for cooking dinner. We were definitely impressed with the overall cosy and homey feel of the cottage and its facilities. Would definitely stay at Peak Sport Chalet again when visiting Wanaka the next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joleeqh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a great time in Wanaka and especially at Peak-Sportchalet. Hope to welcome you again. All the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is definitely the best B&B/motel/apartment we stayed at in our 14 nights in NZ. Everything was perfect. The hosts, Alex & Christine, were absolutely wonderful & helpful. Christine even prepared some great welcome cookies. Alex gave lots of lovely suggestions when we arrived. Christine specially came over afterwards to say ‘Hi’. The apartment was tastefully & beautifully decorated. Super cosy & made you feel at home. We were a couple but the apartment would also be perfect for families with small kids as they even provided toys & there was a lovely backyard for them to play. The apartment provided privacy with the hosts were on hand for any questions. Everything was spotlessly clean. It was so comfortable to just relax on the sofa or the benches in the backyard.

Do note that this B&B is located in the residential area so might be easy to miss. Only gripe was the free wifi was a bit weak in the apartment. We highlighted this to Alex & he was extremely apologetic about it & promised will look into it. All in all, an absolutely perfect stay! Wish we could stay longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDYTANHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your complement and your review. We have changed the modem, so the WiFi reception is better now.
Thanks for staying with us and all the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Our host Alex gave us a great welcome and good advice about hiking and dining. The chalet rooms were spacious , warm and comfortable and well-equipped. Strongly recommend. We stayed two nights in this lovely area and wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review and your stay. All the best in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Good travel tips from the hosts .They are warmly and kindly.
The chalet has a fully equipped kitchen, the environment is very lovely and I think the host has put great effort to create a warm feeling to guest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Glad that you enjoyed our Chalet. All the best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
359 reviews
15.5 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
348 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#6 of 53 in Wanaka
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 53 in Wanaka
275 reviews
14.4 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £73 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing