We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peak Sport Chalet
Ranked #8 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our stay at Peak Sport Chalet in Wanaka was amazing. Alex and Christine are such amazing people, friendly and welcoming. I was surprised at the size of the chalet - it was much bigger than I had imagined! It was sparkly clean and our 2 boys (3 and 2 years) loved playing with all the toys. It was a home away from home, yet with the feel of being on holiday and taken care of by our dear hosts. I honestly recommend Peak Sport Chalet and would definitely stay there again should we visit Wanaka in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaetetiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Peak Sport Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We only stayed one night; it is not common to be able to stay in chalets etc for just a night, so this was a good start. Very reasonably priced.
Very friendly and welcoming hosts, who live on site, but totally unobtrusive, except when needed. Chalet really well equipped - most of the utensils etc seemed brand new. Bright and very clean. Well equipped kitchen. Whilst we stayed in summer, it obviously would be very warm in winter - under floor heating in bathroom, big woodburner and huge store of wood, as well as electric heaters.
It is a (short) drive to the town, but this means that the neighbourhood was very, very quiet. Lovely lake walks just a couple of minutes (by foot) away.
Great place to stay - would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiatoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Thanks you for yet another great stay. We love the fact that we are basically completely self sufficent & independant to do our own thing. Plenty of room & private. Really nice family running the place - always come for a greeting chat/ caych up. Looking forward to staying again next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent one night in this place and enjoyed the lovely and peaceful evening here. The landlord were great and be willing to help you out throughout your stay and lastly the nice farewell made our stay perfect in this lovely town. We had memorable experience in this small beautiful town and I can guarantee you that this hotel contributes at least 70% towards our overall rating of this beautiful town. Thank you so much for having us in this lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tongxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay and found the place very comfortable and welcoming. In particular I wanted to thank Alex for his terrific sports massage. I had a painful knee after hiking and was a bit worried about how I'd go as we had booked in for a full days hike on Fox Glacier a couple of days after Wanaka. Fortunately Alex did some work on the knee that really helped settle it down and as a result I did my day on the Glacier without a worry. So I'd recommend the sports massage if you have any sore spots. Thanks again Alex!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinterRose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Wonderful accommodation.....would be as enjoyable in all seasons! Very friendly and obliging hosts.....thoroughly recommended. Chalet is within a 25min easy walk of central Wanaka. Other beautiful walks possible from the Chalet. Must NOT miss a visit to the Cinema Paradiso and the freshly made cookies during the break!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in Wanaka and wished we had booked more. Our host Alex was most helpful and had catered to our every need(including the decaf coffee for my husband). He also suggested a lovely walk up Mount Iron which was worth it for the spectacular views at the top. The cosy annexe had everything we needed and although we ate out in the evening, we noted the kitchen facilities were good.
A lovely gem of a find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
792 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
1.4 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £72 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing