We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It seemed like my own house.”
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peak Sport Chalet
Ranked #7 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2010

It is a small private house but had everything we needed. Warm welcome with local desert my friend loves it very much. Breakfast was perfect with many choices and all you can eat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cc_funny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thank you for your review. We value every feedback. We like to take this opportunity to clarify that the view shown as ‘nice view at night’ is not the view guests have from the studio. It is in fact our garage and storage area situated on an angle not visible while sitting on the deck in front of the Studio. Please compare the view with the other up loaded photo. We also would like to clarify that we are not directly situated on the lake as shown on the photograph titled “great view on morning”, but a short 5 min. walk from it. We endeavor to make our guests feel at home with the best possible service, sharing insider knowledge, planning personalized activities and dining etc. As we are permanently on site we are always approachable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2010

Dear Christine, Alex, Josephine and Lukas,
Sorry it's taken me so long to write this, but we often think of you guys and how wonderful our stay was with you. We are really keen to come back and have been looking into another trip, so I'll get in touch about this.
Hope you are all well, with love and best wishes from Jacky and Stephen (Manchester, UK)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Better suited to a family rather than 3 adults travelling together.
Friendly and comfortable.
Alex and Christine are wonderful hosts

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StamperSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We endeavor to make our guests feel at home without interfering their privacy . We have a very high expectation on cleanliness within our units and the beds were replaced 10 month ago with only the best comments about their quality. We trust you had a good travel back and wishing you all the best for your further travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We spent 4 wonderful days as the guests of Christine and Alex Schafer in their studio apartment. The apartment is tastefully and adequately furnished. We enjoyed the comforts of a lovely shower and the small but well equipped kitchen. Most of all, we loved the warm hospitality of our hosts not to mention the excellent tips regarding the hikes we did in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrisgelkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed there for one night only due to tight travel schedule. If we had known that it was such a good home like motel, we would have planned to stay there for one more night. The owner, Christine was so kind to help us solve the problem with the rented car and we could get the replacement car the next morning. The stay was so short but the good impression of this motel will surely last long in our memory. I will definitely recommend this to any one of our friends who would like to visit Wanaka in the future.
Wai Yuen (William)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My title says it all. The hosts are there (only) if you need them. Otherwise they're invisible. They were the most obliging hosts I've ever experienced. Everything about our stay there was absolutely 100%.
We're back there next year !!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reachthebeachnpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Important to note that this is 4 Star Qualmarked. I booked the Studio Chalet because my brother and his family had already booked the 2 BR Chalet. The Studio is lovely and cosy (with heat pump which is important in winter), very nicely presented, with a small kitchenette big enough to prepare breakfast and small easy meals, and separate bathroom. It is conveniently located to town and just a short stroll down to the lake for a lakeside walk. The hosts, Alex and Christine are a delightful couple and very gracious hosts. They serviced our rooms daily. Our generous package included a bottle of wine, a massage by Alex and a $25 voucher for a local Restaurant. Highly recommended for couples or individuals and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to other people or returning myself. Thankyou Alex and Christine for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
359 reviews
15.5 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
348 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#6 of 53 in Wanaka
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 53 in Wanaka
275 reviews
14.4 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £73 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing