We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night with Helen and Wayne, but it was one of the best of our holiday. They were so welcoming when we arrived and soon had us seated on the patio with a cold drink overlooking Helen's beautiful garden. She asked us what our plans were for our stay and we told her that we would like to go jet boating. Well no sooner said than done. She was on the phone to a friend of hers and the next day the minibus came right to the house to pick us up.
This was after a wonderful breakfast which she cooked for us making sure we had enough to last us for our trip as we would not be back until early afternoon. She was a wonderful hostess and the room too was so fresh, light and clean with lovely decor. We would thoroughly recommend this home stay to anyone who wants to get a real taste of excellent Kiwi hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is our first experience of Bed and Breakfast accommodation. Helen is extremely welcoming and interesting. She is full of local information which she is constantly checking and updating. The room and facilities are excellent. So too are the breakfasts and home made cakes which mysteriously appear. I thoroughly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogRac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

As always we had a wonderful stay! If you are staying in Wanaka and want the personal touch, a very warm welcome and a visit you will always remember, book D'lavande. Helen and Wayne are true South Island Kiwis. Nothing is too much trouble, the room and food are second to none. The B and B is handy for town and both Helen and Wayne are a fount of information. We first visited 4 years ago and have become regular visitors. It is that sort of place! I know you will love it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GouldsDunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at D'Lavande for five nights. Helen and Wayne are exellent hosts, Helen made good cooked breakfasts and gave us good advices of what to do, were to walk. She help us with tablebooking and clotheswashing.The B&B had a very good location.
Every morning we had fun and intresting talkes with orher guests and Helen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0lveig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Had an amazing weekend here.
Wayne & Helen are fantastic hosts.

Just a few minutes walk from the Main Street and lakefront.
Room was comfortable and clean.
Breakfast will keep you going well past lunchtime!
Home baked treats left in your room when you return at the end of the day!
Great advice of where to visit and where to eat.

If you come to wanaka, stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_JRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Small B&B nestled in a residential area a short (few minutes) walk from Wanaka shopping area & lake front. Run by a wonderful, friendly couple (Helen & Wayne) who were caring and very helpful. Helen prepared us with a top notch breakfast of our choosing before we left. Thank you both for a wonderful stay and your travel advice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FellowTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This homestay is on the edge of of the resort and located in a quiet part of the town. On arrival we received a friendly welcome from Helen our host and chatted in the back garden over delicious homemade biscuits and a pot of tea. There was a lake view from the garden but was interupted by numerous houses. The garden of the homestay was lovely and spacious. Our ensuite room was at the front of the house so we had no view. It was clean and well furnished although rather small. Each room had it's own entrance so it felt like you were in a motel rather than a homestay. The breakfast was good and it was nice to meet other guests. Helen printed an information sheet of places to visit enroute to our next destination which proved useful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnleyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'lavande Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'lavande Bed and Breakfast

Address: 97 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast with lake and mountain views, and warm welcoming hosts await your arrival. D'lavande Bed and Breakfast in Wanaka is a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and Cinema Paradiso. Our aim is to provide affordable luxury accommodation and a memorable stay in our 2009 purpose built home with private access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing