We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED this place. Fabulous Helen and Wayne!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We LOVED this place. Fabulous Helen and Wayne!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We spent three weeks in NZ and this B&B was our favorite on the south island by a mile. Helen and Wayne were great hosts ... she even brought in our laundry while we were out hiking!

Very comfortable beds for our three travelers ... fabulous breakfast (made to order) in a lovely setting. Walk to the waterfront in less than 10 minutes.



And be sure to have dinner at Relishes and also at the Edgewater.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Our last two nights stay at D'lavande in Wanaka was very memorable. Helen & Wayne were helpful giving us many ideas & information about activities around Wanaka, food & restaurants, history of the region, etc. The breakfasts were excellent!! Helen's homemade muesli, stewed peaches from her garden, apricot and strawberry jams, crispy bacon & free range eggs - what a fantastic meal to start a day!! She also gave us beautiful cup cakes and brownies each day which we had for our treats after a day's activities. This is a very fine example of Kiwi hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay and fell in love with Wanaka. Helen our hostess could not have been more helpful, recommending walks, restaurants etc. The breakfasts were excellent - scrambled eggs and bacon superb. A lovely room.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yougottalaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night with Helen and Wayne, but it was one of the best of our holiday. They were so welcoming when we arrived and soon had us seated on the patio with a cold drink overlooking Helen's beautiful garden. She asked us what our plans were for our stay and we told her that we would like to go jet boating. Well no sooner said than done. She was on the phone to a friend of hers and the next day the minibus came right to the house to pick us up.
This was after a wonderful breakfast which she cooked for us making sure we had enough to last us for our trip as we would not be back until early afternoon. She was a wonderful hostess and the room too was so fresh, light and clean with lovely decor. We would thoroughly recommend this home stay to anyone who wants to get a real taste of excellent Kiwi hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is our first experience of Bed and Breakfast accommodation. Helen is extremely welcoming and interesting. She is full of local information which she is constantly checking and updating. The room and facilities are excellent. So too are the breakfasts and home made cakes which mysteriously appear. I thoroughly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogRac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

As always we had a wonderful stay! If you are staying in Wanaka and want the personal touch, a very warm welcome and a visit you will always remember, book D'lavande. Helen and Wayne are true South Island Kiwis. Nothing is too much trouble, the room and food are second to none. The B and B is handy for town and both Helen and Wayne are a fount of information. We first visited 4 years ago and have become regular visitors. It is that sort of place! I know you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GouldsDunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at D'Lavande for five nights. Helen and Wayne are exellent hosts, Helen made good cooked breakfasts and gave us good advices of what to do, were to walk. She help us with tablebooking and clotheswashing.The B&B had a very good location.
Every morning we had fun and intresting talkes with orher guests and Helen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0lveig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
2.9 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'lavande Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'lavande Bed and Breakfast

Property: D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Address: 97 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast with lake and mountain views, and warm welcoming hosts await your arrival. D'lavande Bed and Breakfast in Wanaka is a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and Cinema Paradiso. Our aim is to provide affordable luxury accommodation and a memorable stay in our 2009 purpose built home with private access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing