We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a lovely bed and breakfast in a beautiful home just blocks away from downtown Wanaka. The two rooms we stayed in were perfect. Comfortable beds, quality pillows and linens, clean & updated bathroom, and every convenience anticipated. (Kettle, teas and coffee...even fresh milk in the mini-fridge.) The breakfast was not only delicious and plentiful, but beautifully presented. But perhaps the nicest part of our stay was getting to know Helen and Wayne. We highly recommend D'lavande Bed & Breakfast and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at d'lavande in Wanaka and it was such a pleasant stay. Helen and Wayne's hospitality just makes your day feel warm and fuzzy. Whether it's providing good advice on where to walk/hike or where to eat, u know these folks r genuinely keen to make sure u enjoy yr time at wanaka. Of course, the room was clean and beautiful and Helen's cooked breakfast was just delicious. Highly recommended if u want a great b&b experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 7529559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had an excellent stay with Helen and Wayne who were really accommodating. We had to get up early one morning for a fishing trip with a local guide and Helen was kind enough to make us a cooked breakfast very early. The breakfast was above and beyond what we expected and really fueled us for the day ahead. Our hosts are genuine and really do all they can to make your stay pleasant. We came in really early the first day (prior to check in time); nevertheless, took care of us and welcomed us. The town centre is in walking distance, and we came to look forward to the walk each day we were there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDSLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

How delightful it was to stay at d'lavande. Our hosts were so accommodating, lots of advice on what to do and see. We needed an early start and were happy to help ourselves to a continental breakfast but Wendy insisted on spoiling us and also sent us off with muffins for the trip to Manapouri to meet up with our cruise to Doubtful Sound. The room had all the home comforts and some baking treats. The B and B is situated walking distance to town. We highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelling A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My partner and I travelled down to Wanaka to support a family member doing the Challenge Wanaka triathlon series recently and this was the perfect place to set up base while we were in town. Helen and Wayne a simply put extraordinary hosts and were wonderfully welcoming to us, nothing was a hassle and their knowledge and expertise about the region is exceptional. We stayed in the Provence Room which was perfect for us to be able to come and go as we pleased, especially at the very early hours of the morning on race day. Helen's breakfast muesli is legendary and after finding the recipe on the website I have even made on my return home. I would not hesitate to recommend D'lavande to family and friends and we will be back in the future no doubt for the next Challenge festival.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We'd had such lovely times staying at d'lavande before that when the opportunity to get away came up, we had no doubt where we wanted to stay! We're always touched by Helen's thoughtfulness and generousity and this visit was no exception (I'm not sure what she'll do next time we stay!). We can almost feel the stresses and worries slip away as we turn into the drive at d'lavande - it's such a lovely, peaceful setting and the warmth of Helen and Wayne's welcome is always special. As always, Helen's breakfasts were legendary (if she patented her museli, I think Hubbards would go out of business) and the home baking treats were delicious (and the subject of some anticipation each day!). D'lavande is a very special B&B and we hope to make many more return visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

A lovely little B & B in Wanaka. The hosts were very friendly and Helens baking was gorgeous! The room was cosy and snug and exceptionally clean. Would have liked it a bit bigger to make it more comfortable. Facilities were good. Tea & coffee making. fridge, flat screen tv. The bathroom had all the right facilities but again a bit on the small side. The breakfasts were excellent. and plenty to pick from. Fruit juices/ cereal/ home made muesli/ toast and home made preserves/yogurts/and cooked breakfast if wanted. Helen goes out of the way to make you feel welcome and giving lots of advice as to where to go. You must try the Paradiso cinema in Wanaka - it's brilliant! Would recommend anyone to come here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'lavande Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'lavande Bed and Breakfast

Property: D'lavande Bed and Breakfast
Address: 97 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast with lake and mountain views, and warm welcoming hosts await your arrival. D'lavande Bed and Breakfast in Wanaka is a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and Cinema Paradiso. Our aim is to provide affordable luxury accommodation and a memorable stay in our 2009 purpose built home with private access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing