We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights
from US$314.69
More Info
from US$318.19
More Info
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
214
4
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
214
4
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound fly cruise fly cruise boat new zealand mt aspiring mt cook fantastic flight awe inspiring breathtaking scenery wanaka airport beautiful country once in a lifetime worth every cent an amazing trip these guys big thanks couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

This would have to be the best Scenic flight worldwide, from huge snow capped mountains, to flying up fiords with waterfalls cascading down out of the bush what a great trip

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank TimE2039
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Tim E,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are overjoyed you had an excellent time with us, we are flattered you have called us the "best scenic flight worldwide" this makes us very proud.

Thank you again for choosing to fly with us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I was recommended to do this trip by a friend - it wasn't something we had even considered but I have to say it was one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand......absolutely stunning......we had numerous flights cancelled due to the weather and had to rejig our trip a bit but I am so glad we did....it was exciting being in such a small plane, the views were outstanding with views as far as the eye could see.....Mount Aspiring, Glaciers, then swooping down into and through Milford Sound......I can highly recommend this trip, just make sure you do it....

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Ciaran Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Keebo_925,

On behalf of the Southern Alps Air team, I wish to thank you for your review. Your comments remind us of how lucky we are to have one of the most scenic places in the world to fly to.

Milford Sound is indeed a captivating destination and with the journey just as incredible. From Wanaka we take in more of the Southern Alps including Mt Aspiring and sometimes we can even see Mt Cook!

Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,
Bayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

What a trip this was! We flew in a tiny 7 seater plane which looked daunting but was made to feel very safe by our pilot Will.
The beauty of the mountains and glaciers were astonishing - you really couldn't take your eyes off the scenery for a second. It only took 40 mins to reach Milford Sound rather than 5 hours in a coach. The cruise was simply beautiful - you're seeing some of the nicest places in the world here!
Will was kind enough to highlight many interesting places and provide information all the way there and back. To be able to do this entire trip in 4 hours is just fantastic!

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Owner at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise experience. We were delighted to meet you and have the opportunity to share the spectacular views that this region has to offer. It is a great way to visit Milford Sound, you see lots more than travelling by road and it saves a lot of time as well. Only 4 hours for the flight and cruise. You seemed to be having a great time and I hope you continued to enjoy your New Zealand holiday and will return again one day. Will is a great pilot and full of interesting information that he enjoys sharing en-route. Kind regards Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Leaving Wanaka heading to Milford on a small plane was a little daunting but soooo happy we did it this way.. There is no way you could see all the stunning scenery but from the air. Snow, glaciers and lakes from up there is a sight that will live with me forever. A big shout out to the pilot Paul smooth ride cheers

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank Nibsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Owner at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise We are excited that you believe the views will live with you forever - we really hope so!! Paul enjoyed your company and having the opportunity to share this spectacular part of the world with you during your visit to the Wanaka Region. Safe Travels and we hope you will come and look us up again if you are back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Highlight of our west coast trip. Staff were friendly, informative, and our first flight in a small plane was never an issue. It was what was outside the window that was captivating. The mountains, the glaciers were majestic. Flying out of Wanaka was an added bonus with great lake views and seeing clear across the South Island from the Tasman to the Pacific. Another tick for the bucket list. I love N.Z. Thank you Souther Alps Air, you do good stuff!

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Owner at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for your amazing review, we really appreciate you taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. To take a flight in one of our 5 and 6 seater Cessna Aircraft is often a first for our guests and your description is very similar to what we are told by others. The flight tours are very personalised because of the small group sizes. It's hard to beat a flight in this part of the world on a perfect weather day, so happy the plan came together and we got to share this spectacular landscape with you during your visit to the Wanaka region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews