We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradiso Cinema

Paradiso Cinema
Ranked #1 of 7 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Went here on a hangover day, was so cool with all the sofas and the old cars you can sit in, they have an interval half way through. Good chance to get your self a homemade cookie.
Only problem I found was that the seats were so comfy it was easy to sleep!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    91
    18
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful little cinema with great cookies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

After checking into our campsite, we headed over to this local 1 screen cinema. It was a wonderful experience; local adverts before the film, and a variety of seats including sofas and cars and other mismatched cinema chairs filling the auditorium. At intermission they served hot freshly baked homemade cookies, ice cream and hot chocolate. All which I recommend you try! A wonderful and relaxing evening – thank you!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lianne-KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Best activity in town, a must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I forget living in Wanaka, how lucky we are to have Paradiso as our local movie theatre! The couches are so comfy it feels like your watching a movie in your living room! The cookies are a must-do at half time, or order a pizza before the movie and it will be ready at intermission! You can even buy a alcoholic drink and enjoy it while watching a movie! TIP: Line up really early to get the best couches! I have lived in Wanaka for 10 year and if you are visiting, this is the number 1 thing you have to do!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteMoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is what a cinema should be! I wouldn't have thought seeing a movie would stand out during my visit to NZ, but Paradiso ensured that it did. We watched the new Thor movie here. The cinema is quirky from the moment you walk in. For seating there is lounges and pillows, so much more comfortable than your average cinema experience. There is even an old car you can sit in! So great. Snacks are so affordable. We got home made ice cream which was very flavoursome and cheap as. I could not recommend this place more. I feel like I'd stepped back in time. Wish all move cinemas were like this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a cold, rainy afternoon in Wanaka and decided to see a movie. This theater is quaint and quirky. They also offer a great, affordable menu for dining but we didn't know that and had eaten beforehand. The movie showing was about Sir Edmond Hillary and his quest to conquer Mt. Everest. He is a kiwi and it was a great coincidence we could see this movie in NZ, and in such a cool and quirky little theater. They offer fresh cookies during intermission and Inrecommend the ginger. Delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradiso Cinema also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Paradiso Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing