We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #31 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Scotland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed in what is called a 'tourist flat' but that means a motel room. It was reasonably clean, could be better; however the large flat pan was dirty and the replacement from Reception was not much better, so decided not to use. It doesn't take much to check the state of crockery, cutlery and pans. The location is good, far enough from the centre of town, close to the lake and walks and right next to the beautiful Cardrona route to Queenstown. The accommodation was overpriced at $130 for one person and there was no flexibility as there usually is with so many tourism operators.

Room Tip: Ask to see first and check cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    36
    12
    12
See reviews for
30
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed on the 30th December 2012 and it was a bad choice. It seems that all of the 16-18 year olds school kids from around Otago descend on this particular campsite for a huge party at this time of year and it means that it's a crazy place to be.

We luckily had a tent pitch away from the partying teenagers but the experience still wasn't great. Plus most of the pitches don't have a lake view so they are stretching the truth with the name. We got woken up at 2am by some of the teenagers letting off loads of fireworks in the campsite. The facilities are very tired and we couldn't get a shower in the morning because the queue was about 50 people long. There were also bouncers on the main gates and we had to wear those plastic bands that you have to wear at music festivals.

If we went back to Wanaka we would find another campsite.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Its more like a 3.5. We had a 4 Berth Camper and took a site for one night here because it was close to town and we could walk in for dinner. I did look at Trip Advisor first and saw some negative reviews but if you have a camper van and your not a ' Princess ' when it comes to shower amentities you will find this Park acceptable. Some sites have good views of the Lake and everyone I dealt with at Reception was fantastic. They were very happy to offer advice and local tips about where to go and what to do. I agree that the showers and toilets are dated and old but they had been freshly painted and were clean. Plenty of hot water in the showers. The Communal kitchen did look a little depressing but we didnt have to use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlomeshGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chervil_82
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We've booked this powered campsite for 1 night and found that their facilities are indeed very basic. Toilets are acceptably clean, and there's plenty of hot water for showers, but after taking showers in the female toilets, the water flooded the shower area. The campsite is situated by the lake, about 15 minutes walk to the town centre, but not all campsites has lakeviews. For one night, it was still bearable, but we felt this place is definitely due for an update!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chervil_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Satyed in a cabin at Lakeview. Could have been a 1970's accommodation offering and was the least best accommodation on our trip in NZ. The cabin was clean and had the basic amenities, but lacked quality.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
177 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The self catering cabins are grim so grim in fact we almost cried they looked so bad

It was at the end of the summer so it was a bit of a dust bowl and the lake view was just about possible if you looked a hundred meters away and through the trees

The cabin had two bedrooms one had some rather dubious stains on the sheets so we slept in the other room

The kitchen was well equipped and had a tv but nowhere to sit other than at the table so if you were planning to stay a long time it would be rather cramped

It was however clean and plenty of towels

The cabin looked like a prisoner of war hut and was located by the campers kitchen so lots of foot traffic and also the lights were on to well past midnight when we went and turned them off

There are lots of accommodation options in Wanaka so if you are really desperate book otherwise book into a motel

If the management are reading a few comfy chairs would help and a spruce up of the grounds and someone to double check the sheets for stains

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt emu
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed overnight in a tourist cabin it was basic and clean. Didn't use camp facilities so can't comment. The cabins are all located on a hill very bare and have no shade with the large glass front make them very hot, as the title said okay for an overnight but wouldn't want to stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
1.3 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
1.0 mi away
Fairway Motel
Fairway Motel
#14 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park

Property: Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
Address: 212 Brownston Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park is Wanaka's most central holiday park. It is handy to the lake and only 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. This park has served the Wanaka area for many years by offering clean and affordable accommodation that will suit all budgets. Accommodation ranges from tent sites and powered sites through to cabins and self contained units. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing