We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are back again!”
Review of Zula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zula Lodge
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We are back again!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had to move out of our house for our earthquake repairs & our first thought was where could we go that felt like home - so it was straight to Alberttown Lodge! Oh my god it just gets better & better! The improvements that have happened in the last year have been amazing - extra car parking, painting, new duvets, new furniture, new bedroom heaters and awesome new big screen TV. We just LOVE this place! Darryl & Tania are the best, the welcome was awesome. The fire was going, it was so warm & inviting. The kids are loving seeing Ridgey the dog & Ford the cat again (should be called Holden!) :-)

Room Tip: The family room rocks - queen bed with bunks for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodsy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
10
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a great stay here! It's a "backpackers" place -- sleeping rooms for 2 to 4, good clean bathrooms, very big well-equipped kitchen, and a wonderful lounge area with tv, dvds, lots of books to read. It's a bit out of town, so if you want to be in town it wouldn't be perfect, but we had already visited Wanaka and were looking for a place to stay on the river for fishing.
It was raining and it was a wonderful place to dry out and relax (and had a washer and dryer). Tania, the owner, was great too.
We were so happy to have found it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A wonderful place to stay, fantastic complex with great frendly staff running it.
Bedding & towels supplied with great ammenities. Don't go past it, stop in for a look for yourself.

Room Tip: There are 2 double/queen beds for couples otherwise bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaAnderson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Qld Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Albert Town Lodge what wonderful little place to stay clean and friendly, many thanks to Tania and Darryl for the great hospitality, through all our travels through malaysia, europe, australia and new zealand, this would have been the most home feeling place we have stayed, so thanks again to Darryl and Tania, and special thanks and scratch to Ford and Ridge xxx

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothrist
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed in Alberttown Logde from 28th of December 2011 till the 2nd of January 2012. It was more like a stopgap. But it turned out to be one of the best places I've been in New Zealand! The staff is very friendly and helpful and makes you feel like home. Thank you Tania and Darryl
Cheers Thomas

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_sweet_as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodlyn, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I am so glad we found the Alberttown Lodge, we had been camping a lot and only staying at Hostels for one night every so often but after staying here, we booked four more nights. Tania and her husband we extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful with our trip. The whole place was very clean and well organized; as well as extremely well stocked (huge family room with tons of books, DVDs, and children's toys, large kitchen well stocked with cups, plates, silver ware, pots, pans, and free tea and coffee!) If I am ever in New Zealand again this will be the first place I call to stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you say if you have a couple in your group, so you can get a room with a full size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Far exceeded our expectation.Obviously upgraded recently. Fabulous kitchen, dining room & lounge areas. Very clean, well presented. Hosts Tania & Darryl very congenial & helpful. 4 bed dorms,with 2 options of Queen bed with extra bunks in room.

Room Tip: call ahead if couples want to secure Queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nzvicster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
3.0 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
340 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zula Lodge

Property: Zula Lodge
Address: 8 Wexford Street | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alberttown Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful grounds close to Clutha River. A great place for groups, schools, clubs & families. Kayaking, fishing, biking, walking tracks & 3 ski-fields at your doorstep. Family rooms and dorm rooms available - no en-suites. Full large shared kitchen with large dining & lounge area. TV, DVDs & videos free of charge. Zenbu wirelss internet available for a small charge. 5 minutes drive to Wanaka. Shop, takeaways & tavern across road. Kids Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Zula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing