We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zula Lodge
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

This place is great to stay. Heater and sheets in rooms. A big TV with lots of DVD's you could watch. Very good bathroom and kitchen facilities. Very clean and tidy. Very nice and friendly place to stay at very very affordable rates. Just a few minutes out of Wanaka. Also next to a very nice river that you could go for a walk or swim at. Very quite area with beautiful landscape. Will definitely be coming back for sure. :0)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithPeteTeddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
10
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Easy to find with a big sign on the main road a couple of miles outside Wanaka. Good parking, no traffic noise. Friendly hosts and relaxed atmosphere. Plenty of room in the shared kitchen and lounge, showers hot and spacious. Rooms basic, clean, beds comfortable. Lovely garden. Shop & takeaway food 2 mins walk. Prices very good for what you get. Highly recommend for all types of travellers.
As they weren't full, I got a 4-bed room to myself !
Thank you Tania.

Room Tip: Front side you would hear cars on gravel, back side overlooks garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Delightfully easy to find and very clean fresh and friendly and helpful hosts....... Nothing was too much trouble including helping with accomodation at our next stop Mount Cook. Excellent value and certainly will return.

Room Tip: A number of options available depending on your cerci stances and traveling partners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

What a great place to stay was in Wanaka for the A& P show as a stall holder.
Staying here was great as able to sit back and relax after a busy day at the show.
A1 for cleanliness , friendliness & homeliness
Tania & Daryl where great hosts
Will be back again next year

Room Tip: Room 8 has a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were part of party of about 25 over 60s. We had excellent weather (warm & not too much wind) for a week in mid February. Tania & Darryl are great hosts - real Southern NZ people. The lodge is comfortable and the facilities were kept spotlessly clean and the kitchen is well equipped. It is a superb location with lots to do. There are great bike rides (you can hire one - $10/day) and Lake Hawea was warm enough for swimming! We walked up Roys Peak (about 6 h) for great views. Blokes will enjoy the hundreds of old vehicles at the museum beside the Airport and I understand that there good trout fishing in the river.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights while experiencing Queenstown. A great room with extremely clean facilities. We had a queen bed and a set of bunks in a room spacious enough for us and our 21yr old and lots of sports gear.
This has easily the best kitchen, dining and lounge facilities of any comparably priced property we have used. The owners couldn't be more helpful -- even down to lending me a tool to make some adjustments to a mountain bike.
Great location away from the noise of Queenstown yet very close -- a great walk or bike ride around a track. Excellent pub across the road for a drink or a meal. We will definitely use this every time we are in the area!
There were few clients when we stayed so all facilities were easily accessible at all times

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Due to the horrendous weather on the West Coast over the Xmas/New Years period - our travel plans changed due to the bridge being blown out by HariHari. We were travelling back to Wanaka (along with many others) to find accommodation for the night. We were lucky enough to secure the last tent available. There is everything you need and more at lodge. Tania and Darryl were so welcoming and helpful - making sure we had extra blankets so we would be nice and toasty. Just as well as it snowed overnight :-). Excellent Location - right across the road from the Albert Town shops - which have a shop, takeaway bar and pub.

Highly recommend staying with Tania and Darryl and their pets :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirate71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
4.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lake Hawea Hotel
Lake Hawea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lake Hawea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 45 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zula Lodge

Property: Zula Lodge
Address: 8 Wexford Street | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alberttown Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful grounds close to Clutha River. A great place for groups, schools, clubs & families. Kayaking, fishing, biking, walking tracks & 3 ski-fields at your doorstep. Family rooms and dorm rooms available - no en-suites. Full large shared kitchen with large dining & lounge area. TV, DVDs & videos free of charge. Zenbu wirelss internet available for a small charge. 5 minutes drive to Wanaka. Shop, takeaways & tavern across road. Kids Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Zula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing