We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wanaka View Motel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here overnight with 2 adults 2kids in a 2 bedroom room. Run by a friendly lady small place with about six little units. The location is fantastic just on the edge of main part of town,2 min walk. Across the road is an open park and you can walk straight down the lake,s edge, it's open space to the lake. So walking is easy to get anything you need. The units are really small, especially the bedrooms, but lounge and bedrooms were modern. So while it was a tight fit we found it comfortable. Basic kitchen with everything we needed to make a simple breakfast. Bathroom was a bit older looking than rest of the unit. Overall for the price it was great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
91
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Our 2 bedroom unit was for two adults and 2 children .The rooms are really small, the children had their change of clothes in supermarket bags which fitted between the end of the beds and the wall.Their beds had no pillow slips and one had long dark hair under the pillow on the sheet. Service was laid back. Our room had a double bed but I had to walk sideways at the end of the bed to get to my side.Then there is the plug in the electric blanket , unplug and plug the bedside light in with a scramble under the bed to access the cord.
We were dining in and there are only 3 chairs at the table so someone had to sit on the couch to eat. The crockery and glasses are very large and difficult for children to hold.
If you are travelling light then this place is cheap for a family to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed one night at the 3 bed room motel unit. The room is quite small but clean and the view overlooking the mountain range and Wanaka Lake is spectacular.

It is perfect for a short stay. Owner may be slow in responding to email, so you may want to call them directly for booking. Alternatively, you may book through Wotif.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The Alpine Motels in Wanaka was great & homely - bathroom and kitchen all in one place.
And the one in Mt Cook , very much like a hotel ( minus the lift , if there is one that will be great so we don't have to drag our luggage up to 2nd floor ). We like the friendly & helpful staff, & the friendly and lovely environment & views. I will recommend because the price is cheap & the rooms are ok.





















, we like the & Mt. Cooks

Room Tip: Should have more power supply for charging purpose ( esp. you have 4 people in a room we need to cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingo Beach. 4800
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This chalet was spotlessly clean, slept three comfortably. The views were magnificent and we were even offered a chalet with full frontal views for no extra expense. Would return in a heartbeat. The owner lived onsite and could not have been more helpful. Great value in Wanaka.

Room Tip: Best views up front of building, depends on number of people. Can sit outside of chalet and get firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka View Motel

Property: Wanaka View Motel
Address: 122 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Refurbished and modernised, self-contained chalets. (kitchens have ovens) Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke Park to lake & town. Perfect motel accommodation for summer & winter. 200m to lake and shop & Cafes - 5 self-contained chalets & 1 Studio unit. (3 with lake and mountain views) Serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleep 2)2 x 2-bedroom (sleep 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). FREE unlimited Wifi, Free use of bikes. Drying room for the Tramping gear & winter skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking, SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. Tariff Motel $130-$255. Seasonal rates apply. Visa, MasterCard, Eftpos. Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Recently refurbished and modernised, self-contained units. Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke park to lake & town. Perfect winter & summer location. Motel Accommodation - Handy to all ski fields - 200m to lake and shops - 5 self-contained motel units, 3 with lake and mountain views, serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleeps 2)-2 x 2-bedroom (sleeps 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). Drying room for the Winter Skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking,SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wanaka View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing