We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed longer”
Review of Wanaka View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wanaka View Motel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Should have stayed longer”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Had planned too far ahead so could only stay one night which was a real pity. Wanaka is a lovely town and the motel is perfectly situated facing over the park to the lake. Our chalet was spotless with a roomy lounge/kitchen. Bedrooms are small but more than adequate. Excellent value. Thanks to Brett and staff for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcanddp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    43
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
99
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had a very comfortable night here. There were lovely views across the park to the mountains plus Pam and Brett went out of their way to facilitate an urgent business call. It was va short walk to the town centre; restaurants and lake shore. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The front chalets have the best views and handy to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We toured south island and stayed in 9 different hotels.This was the best. Great rooms. Clean and spacious. Pam , was extremely nice and friendly. We had a baby and wanted to check out a little later the usual time. She said we can check out anytime we want. The rooms also had great views of the mountain and the lake . Cross the road to go for a walk in the park or 5 min walk to town center.
Great service and great rooms. What more can you ask?

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We planed to stay at wanaka for 2 nights only. But the weather and the motel were great - so we end up staying for 4 nights!
The room was modern design and it was very clean! It has a full kitchen (with a stove & oven). We had a great view from our room to the lake and moutains... The host's were extraordinary. They were very nice and helpfull (we are travelling for a month in NZ and did not come across with such a nice host's). Over all it was an excellent experience for us!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst driving round the south island. We didn't have a booking but pitched up on the night. It is a family run place. There are similarly named places in Wanaka so make sure you go to the one you want. I'm not sure this was the one we meant to go to but still. We paid for a one bedroom unit but the wifi didn't work in that one so we were moved to a 2 bedroom unit. The units are very small. The double bedroom door wouldn't close because there was no room. The living area has too much furniture in it, there is nowhere to put luggage. The bathroom was freezing and the shower was like a big sink, with a metal base and no shelves or anything. Having said that, the unit was modern, clean and very well equipped with full oven and hob for those cooking for themselves. It is also slightly away from restaurants and pubs, which would be fine in the summer but in the winter it is not very nice walking far when it is so cold outside. We stayed in nicer places for the same money but it was ok for a night.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mandeem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here overnight with 2 adults 2kids in a 2 bedroom room. Run by a friendly lady small place with about six little units. The location is fantastic just on the edge of main part of town,2 min walk. Across the road is an open park and you can walk straight down the lake,s edge, it's open space to the lake. So walking is easy to get anything you need. The units are really small, especially the bedrooms, but lounge and bedrooms were modern. So while it was a tight fit we found it comfortable. Basic kitchen with everything we needed to make a simple breakfast. Bathroom was a bit older looking than rest of the unit. Overall for the price it was great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Our 2 bedroom unit was for two adults and 2 children .The rooms are really small, the children had their change of clothes in supermarket bags which fitted between the end of the beds and the wall.Their beds had no pillow slips and one had long dark hair under the pillow on the sheet. Service was laid back. Our room had a double bed but I had to walk sideways at the end of the bed to get to my side.Then there is the plug in the electric blanket , unplug and plug the bedside light in with a scramble under the bed to access the cord.
We were dining in and there are only 3 chairs at the table so someone had to sit on the couch to eat. The crockery and glasses are very large and difficult for children to hold.
If you are travelling light then this place is cheap for a family to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka View Motel

Property: Wanaka View Motel
Address: 122 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Refurbished and modernised, self-contained chalets. (kitchens have ovens) Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke Park to lake & town. Perfect motel accommodation for summer & winter. 200m to lake and shop & Cafes - 5 self-contained chalets & 1 Studio unit. (3 with lake and mountain views) Serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleep 2)2 x 2-bedroom (sleep 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). FREE unlimited Wifi, Free use of bikes. Drying room for the Tramping gear & winter skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking, SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. Tariff Motel $130-$255. Seasonal rates apply. Visa, MasterCard, Eftpos. Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Recently refurbished and modernised, self-contained units. Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke park to lake & town. Perfect winter & summer location. Motel Accommodation - Handy to all ski fields - 200m to lake and shops - 5 self-contained motel units, 3 with lake and mountain views, serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleeps 2)-2 x 2-bedroom (sleeps 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). Drying room for the Winter Skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking,SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wanaka View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing