We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal touch with flowers in your room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wanaka View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wanaka View Motel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Personal touch with flowers in your room”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Wanaka for only one night and the 3 bedroom option at Wanaka View Motel was perfect. The beds were great, it was wonderfully clean and newly refurbished. We had the elevated cabin with the fabulous view over the roofs of the other cabins, there is a wide open field between the motel and the lake, and the best part were the flower arrangements in every cabin - so that even walking by the other cabins, you see the lovely little touch that the owners provide. There are folding chairs for every cabin for you to sit and chill and look out at the vista.

Room Tip: Ask for Cabin 1 - the one on the top of the hill - next to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We agree that Chalet number 1 is perfect for a family stay and has great views. What a great time of year to visit Wanaka. We hope you have wonderful lasting memories of your trip to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
92
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Excellent (5 star) service. Cosy cabins very clean, comfortable and tasteful with all the comforts of home. Short walk to lake & town, park opposite for kids to run and burn some energy. Stunning views of lake and mountains. We will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Your feedback much appreciated and we look forward to your return. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very well run. Small cabins are very efficiently laid out with kitchen, bathroom and bedroom very well appointed. Walk to the Cinema Paradiso, the lake or town, with all 3 less than a 100 yards away. Great fun little cabins.

Room Tip: Cabins #4 and #6 are closest to Lake and provide the most visibility to the lake which is about 100...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

stay at Chalet #6 with stunning view of the lake and mountain from the living room, the entire suite is newly renovated with modern and fresh feeling. A complete set of new cooking equipment and dishes. All 3 bedroom are very small, but beds are comfortable and clean. The owner provides excellent customer services. Location is superb where the lake, supermarket, and town centre are all within walking distance. Wished we could have stayed longer, a 5 star recommendation!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

everything is good. location and view are just perfect. However, only the size of the room is quite small. great motel to stay. everything is there for good. friendly couples at the reception. will go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy4188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

On the Plus side: we had chalet #6 which has corner windows and a great view onto the lake. The suite has a great modern and happy energy. Living room is spacious. Our host was very friendly. Free internet (although a little spotty at times). Clean. Insect screens in bathroom. Nice heater. Well stocked kitchen (kitchen supplies).

On the Minus side: the bedroom was a little cramped and there are no drawers to put your clothes.

Room Tip: Chalet #6 is a corner chalet with lots of windows and excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

After a long drive from the Franz Joseph we were glad to check into the Wanaka View Motel on October 31st. The owner, Bret, checked us in and generously upgraded us to the one bedroom with a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. The kitchen was well appointed and the layout was spacious. We walked five minutes to town and had a great meal at the New Wanaka Speight's Ale House. The massive fireplace was stoked and we had a lovely meal here. The service was friendly and the food suited us to a tee. The next day we walked around the lake front and we wished that we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Book the front room with the view - it's well worth the upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka View Motel

Property: Wanaka View Motel
Address: 122 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Refurbished and modernised, self-contained chalets. (kitchens have ovens) Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke Park to lake & town. Perfect motel accommodation for summer & winter. 200m to lake and shop & Cafes - 5 self-contained chalets & 1 Studio unit. (3 with lake and mountain views) Serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleep 2)2 x 2-bedroom (sleep 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). FREE unlimited Wifi, Free use of bikes. Drying room for the Tramping gear & winter skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking, SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. Tariff Motel $130-$255. Seasonal rates apply. Visa, MasterCard, Eftpos. Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Recently refurbished and modernised, self-contained units. Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke park to lake & town. Perfect winter & summer location. Motel Accommodation - Handy to all ski fields - 200m to lake and shops - 5 self-contained motel units, 3 with lake and mountain views, serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleeps 2)-2 x 2-bedroom (sleeps 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). Drying room for the Winter Skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking,SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wanaka View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing