We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Wanaka View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wanaka View Motel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I love this place. Lovely location, clean and comfortable room. We stayed here for 1 night for our next trip to Franz Josef. Our motel has mountains and lake view. Free WiFi with superb speed. Kitchen amenities were complete. That's what we need the most. Laundry also FREE. Isn't it awesome? The owner, Mr. Brett (sorry if I spelled it wrongly) was very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to infamous attraction - Cinema Paradiso (300m) and supermarket, New World. Highly recommended place if you travel more than 4 pax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poobritney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We do hope you have wonderful memories of your holiday in New Zealand. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    43
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
101
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We loved our stay, a great motel in an ideal location for everything in Wanaka. The room was clean and warm and comfortable. Our unit had a lovely view of the lake and the mountains, the unit had a kitchen with everything we needed. All of the restaurants, cafes and shops were within easy walking distance. Charlotte who welcomed us was wonderful, she helped with directions and was able to answer all of our questions about the area. The free wifi was important to us and worked well. We will definitely stay again, a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka View. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

If we could give this hotel a good score we would, it seems a big harsh to give average yet it probably wasn't quite at very good. We stayed here for one night between queenstown and greymouth. We booked chalet 4 which has the lake view. Clean unit with view over oval to the lake, close to the shops etc. has been renovated, and conveniently includes small kitchen. There were a few downfalls - uncomfortable bed, very small bedroom (you have to put your luggage in the lounge room so you can walk around the bed. Also no light in shower, cold stainless steel bottomed shower, no fan in bathroom section. We could also hear noise from unit next door (thin walls). It advertises sky tv but this only includes 3 or 4 channels, wifi connection poor.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Your comments are very valuable, and we agree that a light and fan is required in the bathroom. These are being added in May 2014. We were concerned regarding your wifi comment, and have been checking with guests since your stay to ensure the wifi has been fully operational for them. So far....so good. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here with my husband, mom and aunt. It was very clean and had great amenities. Free Wifi and laundry. The price was great compared to what we had to pay at other places around NZ for such a location and view. Just a short walk to the main streets of town, but amazing views just outside your door. The only down side was that it was quite small for 4 people and luggage and we had to keep some bigger luggage in the living room which was already "cozy". But we made it work and just thought the place was a great motel. The owners/staff were all very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallyj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our cozy chalet's. We are indeed very lucky with our location and wonderful staff. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights and everything about the motel and it's location was great. It was very close to all the restaurants, bars and shops and it was a lovely walk to all of them with wonderful views of the lake and mountains. The rooms themselves were absolutely fine and very clean. The owner, Brett was a mine of information both in relation in Wanaka but also extremely helpful with our travel plans. He was friendly and very kind. Wanaka itself is delightful. We loved it. Do go to Cinema Paradiso for a very different cinema experience. We would also recommend eating at Urban Grind and Relishes Cafe. We would definitely come back here again one day if we could.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those at the front because they have an uninterrupted view of the park and lake w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for feedback. It is much appreciated and we do hope you have wonderful memories of your trip to NZ. Best wishes from the Wanaka View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Nice view of the lake and the surrounding mountains. Close to town and our friendly hostess Charlotte made us felt right at home! Nicely appointed chalets with free usage of mountain bikes. Comfy bed and comprehensive self catering facilities. Recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cocuye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is always great to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay and we were delighted that you used the mountain bikes to explore Wanaka. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

On a road trip around the SI this was my favourite stay and will be returning. Although the bedrooms we had was fairly small the hosts and rest of the layout of the room was top notch. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, so much so that our in-laws cancelled a booking in Lake Tekapo to return to Wanaka View Motel. The views are wonderful. The hosts fantastic highly recommend can't wait to return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay in Feb. It was so lovely to meet you and your in-laws and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka View Motel

Property: Wanaka View Motel
Address: 122 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Refurbished and modernised, self-contained chalets. (kitchens have ovens) Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke Park to lake & town. Perfect motel accommodation for summer & winter. 200m to lake and shop & Cafes - 5 self-contained chalets & 1 Studio unit. (3 with lake and mountain views) Serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleep 2)2 x 2-bedroom (sleep 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). FREE unlimited Wifi, Free use of bikes. Drying room for the Tramping gear & winter skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking, SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. Tariff Motel $130-$255. Seasonal rates apply. Visa, MasterCard, Eftpos. Welcome to Wanaka View Motel, Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Recently refurbished and modernised, self-contained units. Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across Pembroke park to lake & town. Perfect winter & summer location. Motel Accommodation - Handy to all ski fields - 200m to lake and shops - 5 self-contained motel units, 3 with lake and mountain views, serviced daily: - 2 x 1-bedroom (sleeps 2)-2 x 2-bedroom (sleeps 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6). Drying room for the Winter Skiers, Off-street parking, All non-smoking,SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wanaka View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing