We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly cottage that has it all”
Review of Wanaka Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wanaka Cottages
Ranked #10 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly cottage that has it all”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We came back for a 5 night stay after having such a good time last year. The cottage is very conveniently located to the Cadrona ski fields and Wanaka town. I would highly recommend the cottage to families as well as couples.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MondayMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka_Cottages, Owner at Wanaka Cottages, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments. It really makes our day when our guests enjoy their stay at the cottage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We went with 6 adults and 2 kids. The place is awesome , really. The big lawn for the kids to run themselves crazy, the selection of games in the "treasure chest" as my girl calls it!

The rooms were cosy and clean. The huge dining table was excellent for family meals. The close proximity to town was great too. And the adjacent cafe is a bonus for quick meals .

We really did not get enough of the house, we hope to be back. This is our 2nd trip to wanaka, and if we ever come back , it will be the wanaka house that we'll be booking!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaclyntansweeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka_Cottages, Owner at Wanaka Cottages, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house! We would love to have you come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was a perfect in every way. The whole process from booking to departure was seemless. The arrival instructions were clear and accurate, the little touches like the muffins and the fridge stocked with the basics were much appreciated. Our little boy loved the toy box. The Kitchen was exceptionally well equipped and everything was comfy and cosy. we just loved it. It was a little out of town but that meant it was quiet and peaceful. Overall this was the best place we stayed in NZ and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage and loved it, couldn't comment on the house but I am sure it is equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larissamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka_Cottages, Owner at Wanaka Cottages, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Cottage. We always think that its the details that matter so we are really pleased you noticed things like the kitchen equipment and that you little boy enjoyed the toy box! Thanks again Larissa :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had two families with kids aged 9,6,4,and 2 for 8 days at Wanaka Cottages.

The accommodation was perfect for our families.

When not skiing the kids spent time in the spa pool or in the media room watching the extensive collection of kids DVD's.

In terms of skiing the house is well located to get to Cadrona where we skied.

Highly recommend this property to groups and families

If you stay here make time to try the food and coffee at Florences next door which is fantastic.

Room Tip: This house is a little out of town so requires a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka_Cottages, Owner at Wanaka Cottages, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. The Media Room is a family favourite. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
289 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Don't bother with a hotel just come here and enjoy!

After having been to a couple of ok hotels on our trip around New Zealand's South Island it was a breath of fresh air to come here and enjoy a home away from home! A quick shopping trip to New World for wine and food meant lovely home cooked meals in a luxurious cottage with a roaring fire and stunning views of the mountains.

Great outside parts with BBQ and hot tub combined with some very thoughtful additions to the kitchen/bathroom and bedrooms meant that this place feels relaxed and happy as soon as you walk in!

It's a wonderful locations for various ski fields and within short car ride/long 2km walk to the town centre with the amazing views over the lake onto the mountains. Some interesting bars and restaurants are down by the lake and the staff i encountered in shops and cafes were very friendly and welcoming.

It's a great HQ for exploring Central Otago wineries, landscapes and ski fields, couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka_Cottages, Owner at Wanaka Cottages, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to post feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We can't rate this accommodation highly enough! Our 4th visit in the winter for skiing and generally enjoying Wanaka's beauty, Warm, stylish and with all mod cons. Great welcome - muffins and wine.We'll be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka_Cottages, Owner at Wanaka Cottages, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We really enjoy having you girls to stay and look forward to catching up with you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

What a wonderful experience with scrumptious muffins and sparkling wine on arrival. For our honeymoon weekend where we found everything was set up for us. It was the little things that made the difference. Beautiful linens and beds that were so comfortable! Sharynne and Rob were wonderful to deal with. We would definitely stay again next time. Everything made for a luxurious weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka_Cottages, Owner at Wanaka Cottages, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review our cottage for your stay. It gives us great pleasure to pamper our guests, especially on their honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Cottages

Property: Wanaka Cottages
Address: 11 Orchard Road, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanaka Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous holiday home and cottage to stay for all seasons...Luxury 5 Star Wanaka accommodation providing peace and tranquility, views, quality, comfort, space and facilities. Wanaka Cottages offers a choice of either our 5 Star luxury Holiday House OR luxury Cottage Wanaka Accommodation. Wanaka Holiday Home (sleeps 8) Wanaka Cottage (sleeps 4). The cottage is perfect for couples and honeymoons and the house and cottage both fantastic Wanaka accommodation for skiing holidays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing