We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in Wanaka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for weekend when we had to attend a wedding at Edgewater nearby. I'm so glad we did!! We had the small studio room which had everything we needed. Beautiful view out of the back of the room and would be super cosy in winter.

The park operates a courtesy shuttle to town from 4pm - 8pm which is an awesome service, but they also kindly took us to the wedding location outside of these times. Lovely, friendly staff, and we really appreciated it.

Will definitely be staying here again :)

Room Tip: The small studio room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspiringcampervan, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Jess,
Thanks for your lovely review. Hopefully the wedding was a blast! We look forward to seeing you next time you come up from Dunedin :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    96
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
124
204
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Good all round camp site but on the pricey side due to added facilities eg free wifi, sauna etc.

Wifi was ok - a bit slow but fine after not having any for a week!!!

It's a 20-30 min walk into town though there is a free shuttle into town but you need to walk or taxi it back at a cost of $12 NZD

Staff are friendly and helpful

Stayed 2 nights - would stay again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn_L81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspiringcampervan, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Kathryn,
Thanks for your review! Sorry the wifi was slow, again as the other review below yours I am not sure why this is but now I know we still obviously have not resolved the problem I am straight on the phone to find out why :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heidelberg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We chose this place over others because it had "free wifi.. Then found out that they were the impost expensive place we stayed. In our prior two weeks........because the "free wifi" actually added about $7 to the site fee.
Okay, we really needed to be connected. BUT...
BUT THE WORST PART is that the wifi is awful. McDonalds does better. Can't download any attachments coming in. Cannot download a book - it has taken 2 and 1/2 hours for one chapter so far. One chapter.
The camp itself is like others. Not better. Not worse. The WIFI is overpriced and rubbish.

Room Tip: If WIFI matters - go somewhere else. They charge everyone, even those without need, for this service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fegusoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspiringcampervan, Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello Fergusoc,
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate hearing ways in which we can improve.
Firstly we compare our prices frequently to our competitors and find that our pricing has very little difference- we like to offer no hidden costs when our guests stay with us.

It does come to my attention that you have only recently stayed with us and had problem with the wifi connection? Did you tell us? Maybe an aerial needed to be re-set..
We have just invested more time and money into a new system which we have finally found to be a successful trustworthy, reliable wi-fi system. This was put in place early February.

I promise you that we are not over priced, if you travel further south you will find parks the same price or even more :)

I would love to say come and stay again and if wireless internet it a priority for you then we will make it work-our customers always come first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A mate and I camped here with a van on a trip around New Zealand. I think it was the best campsite in terms of facilities we stayed at.
The staff were really friendly and the kitchen/tv room and outdoor BBQ kitchen were great. The hot tubs were a nice little addition, that definitely made a huge difference.
The Internet was free which was a welcome difference in New Zealand (even if it was a bit slow). We were only upset that we didn't get an invite to the staff Christmas party, but perhaps that was expecting a bit too much.
A fantastic campsite that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspiringcampervan, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Mike,
Thanks for your review!! We are so pleased that you had a great time with us during your stay in Wanaka...
We are sorry that the wifi was slow- we unfortunately had a very unreliable system, after spending alot of time we have finally sourced a reliable network and system!
Our christmas party wasn't much to miss out on just a bit of pizza and some beers- the more the merrier ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The motel is inacessible from the North after 6PM due to Hasst pass closure. As soon as we found out we called to let them know we wouldn't be able to make it, spending money to use internet to make the skype call to do so. They wouldn't give even a partial credit. They said the confirm had a warning about the closure (it didn't). In a later email they said there were signs all over the south island that we should have seen (maybe if you live right by the pass that is somewhat true, if not, that is also untrue). They said they would rent our room out to other guests because we cancelled and even if this happened we could not get a refund or anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omaha2013-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspiringcampervan, Owner at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello Omaha,
Thanks for your review- unfortunately anywhere north of Haast is inaccessable after 6pm and has been since last year with the tragidy of two tourists.
We have specific instruction about this on our website and when we confirm your booking with you. Prior to December we were giving everyone a refund and since travelling to Hokitika in December I could not understand how people were not seeing the large digital signs at every entrance and exit of towns all the way up and down the west coast. After discussing this with other motels and parks to get their feedback we were all in agreeance that it was costing our businesses immensly ( hence why we put such specific instruction in place to notify of the closure). I am very disheartened that you have publicly displayed this on Trip Advisor when an agreement was made that if you wished to stay the following night we had options available and also the fact that we never said that we would re-sell your rooms that you had booked, we infact said that at such late notice we could not re-sell the rooms hence why we could not give a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

On our recent trip round New Zealand this was one of only a few sites we stayed at twice. We returned because of the quality of the accommodation and the helpfulness of the staff. The motorhome pitches were of a good size and the communal facilities were clean and spacious. The staff were very helpful - especially Annie who became our guide and chauffeur during our first stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspiringcampervan, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Peter,
Annie is absolutely rapped she got her name on Tripadvisor!!! Thank you from her :)
AND we are absolutely rapped that you came back twice because you enjoed the park so much- hopefully we see you again!

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was one of my favourite places in NZ. We stayed in a two bedroom unit - and it really is two-bedrooms plus living. It had a lovely retro 50s feel about it, but with all the mod-cons, and sensational views. A double door opens on to a verandah, which then flows out onto a beautiful grassed area. We were going to eat out but decided to stay in because it was such a lovely place to be. Staff very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aspiringcampervan, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello Jen,
Thank you for your lovely comments! Our two bedrooms are the originals from when the motels were built around 50 years ago... To make them affordable we havent invested too much in the little things such as furtniture and tried to make it feel like your home away from home! Hopefully we will see you again!
Another popular option if you do come back is a family studio, these are modern and can sleep up to 4.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels

Property: Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Address: 263 Studholme Road North | PO BOX 11, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, Motels, Powered or Un-Powered campsites - we have accommodation for every budget. Studio, one and two bedroom self contained motel units with ensuite bathroom. Spacious 3 bedroom holiday house. When you stay with us enjoy FREE wifi, showers, spas, sauna, under-cover heated BBQ pavilion, communmal kitchen and TV lounge. Car wash & vacuum, drop off courtesy coach (4.15pm-8pm daily. All camper sites are fully sealed. Views of Mt Aspiring & Lake Wanaka. Winter warmers include log fire, under floor heating, wax bench and drying room. Free info-booking desk. Playground for the smaller travellers. Bike hire. Free DVD hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing