We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good cuppa”
Review of Federal Diner

Federal Diner
Ranked #18 of 81 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
“A Good cuppa”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had coffee here while I was walking the lake, the coffee was really good and the views of the lake and the surroundings were great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    82
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“To be avoided.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were drawn to the Federal Diner because it reminded us of the vibrant buzzy cafés at home in Christchurch. The prices were mostly dearer than expected, the service chaotic and disorganised, and the food unpalatable to say the least. I ordered eggs Benedict, the chiabatta was dry and stale as if it had been toasted the day before and then soaked in butter leaving me with a rubbery lump on the plate that I was unable to cut. Although one egg was delightfully runny the other had been poached solid. There was no hollandaise sauce but instead a buttery substance that had split in the cooking. My latte was the only saving grace of the meal. As I wasn't asked at any point how my meal was I didn't give my feedback at the time. Value for money? No. Worst $42 spend ever.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LouBLoo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
362 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Cool, Funky Breakfast Joint - wishing those scones were gluten-free”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Yes, the scones made me wish I wasn't gluten-free - bliss! And taunting from their displays. Had a great breakfast here one morning, loved the free wifi and chill atmosphere, outdoor seating. Good food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb cheese scones”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our morning coffee at this delightful cafe and had absolutely the best cheese scone ever!!! Absolutely delicious, fresh out of the oven. We weren't in Wanaka long enough for a second visit for another scone but it will be top of the list for next visit. Thank you Federal Diner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20Ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is really as good as its reviews”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Federal Diner is a relaxed friendly cafe serving first rate food and coffee .. And the cheese scones really are very special.

It benefits from friendly attentive staff and a hidden central loaction. Simply a rare treat ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Federal Diner also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Federal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing