We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST. EGGS. EVER.”
Review of Federal Diner

Federal Diner
Ranked #13 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$60
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The organic eggs are absolutely incredible!

We were recommended this place by a local when I asked if they knew of any cafe for lunch with wholefood and GF / DF options. I'm so glad they told us about Federal Diner otherwise I never would have known! I love how you have to walk down a little alleyway from the main street to access.

I'm gluten free and dairy free and although they don't mark the dishes with 'GF' 'DF' etc. The staff were friendly and helpful and just by reading the menu it was pretty obvious which dishes were.

For lunch I had roast pumpkin, free-range chicken, greens, quinoa with almond butter dressing. My three year old had a poached egg on toast with a side of bacon (very reasonably priced kids meals).

We all went back on our last day and enjoyed quinoa and coconut porridge (although I would have liked more pineapple and mango on top :) ) and poached eggs with bacon. The eggs are INCREDIBLE - perfectly poached with golden egg yolk spilling out onto the plate when cooked. They were absolutely divine. Will definitely be going back next time we're in town.

Thank KiwiColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and great to hear that you enjoyed your Federal experience. I've taken note of your comment regarding the GF / DF marks on the menu and will have a think about adding this to the next seasons menu. Hope to see you next time your in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Have enjoyed many a meal here with and without Children , great food and atmosphere
Have never been disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lin637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and great to hear that you enjoyed your Federal experience. We are very child friendly so glad to hear that the kids enjoyed it too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

4/5 of us were disappointed with the breakfast meals served to us today.

2 pieces of bread, a small bit of dry salmon, half a wizened tomato and 2 poached eggs was not what I had expected when I ordered tho I see it is pictured on their website. Pretty poor I think for a cafe. Others in the group had similar experience.

On the positive side the engaging barista served great coffees and when The cashier asked how our meals were she apologized.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiwi093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and I'm disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. I will be taking your comments on board and addressing the presentation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Visited Federal Diner for dinner on Fathers day. Had a wonderful night of good food and drinks. The restaurant can be a little noisy but it wasn't too busy so noise was ok. Food was good as always.

Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and great to hear that you enjoyed your Federal experience. Yes, your right it can be noisy at times due to the open play nature, but glad for your trip this wasn't the case. Hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Gotta try the roti!!! It's amazing We also has the seafood chowder, was extra tasty! The coffee is solid too! Cute little place

Thank Cal1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and great to hear that you enjoyed your Federal experience, the roti has now become our best seller - even more than the cheese scone! Hope to see you next time your in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Federal Diner also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Federal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing