We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Grind

Urban Grind
Ranked #17 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We popped in for a quick bite and were seduced by the menu - wow! The food tasted excellent and there was plenty of it. The Atmosphere was lovely and you can never tire of looking at the mountains of Wanaka through the huge glass entrance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    130
    44
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, lovely food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I came here for lunch with husband, baby and parents. We had really nice lunch (I had eggs benedict with salmon - delicious). Only downside is the highchair is really only suitable for kids that won't slip down (no leg strap). Miss 11 months ended up having to sit on someone's lap. Other than that we had excellent, friendly service, and a great lunch

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanG_12, Manager at Urban Grind, responded to this review, 30 January 2015
I’m confused. You wrote lovely comments about our food and service but only awarded us 3 out of 5. Clearly its not about your enjoyment but that of miss 11 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Coffee, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great Service as well as good food and good coffee. Warning, if you have their lovely roast pork toasted sammie, share with a friend as plenty enough for 2!

Went there twice on recent holiday to Wanaka.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a relaxed bite after the slopes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We came for dinner here reasonable late (round 9pm) after a day's skiing and it suited our needs perfectly. We weren't super hungry so we shared some sliders (pork belly and blue cod) and fries and they were delicious. The ambience/decor was modern and warm and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Really enjoyed our meal and would come back if we return to the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant, excellent service and food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently enjoyed a night at Urban Grind. After thoroughly enjoying the outdoor fire place for some craft beers we were seated inside for and dined on their delicous food. The prawn stew and blue cod sliders were to die for.
The wait staff were especially friendly and polite and provided us with great service all night. A special mention goes out to Ruth!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Grind also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Urban Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing