We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the Plane Enthusiast”
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #21 of 73 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,031 reviews
358 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
“To the Plane Enthusiast”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went during the Easter Festival and it is simply stunning to see such an array of old warbirds and old aircraft doing fly past and you can see on the ground. The highlight of our whole trip was to see the only flying restored WW11 Mosquito bomber. Those Rolls Royce Merlins are amazing.
Book accommodation early as Wanaka gets full.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
The reviewer may be a little confused because we have never had the Mosquito aircraft here in Wanaka. The Mosquito, which was built in Auckland, left some months after completion for the United States where it is now located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    69
    24
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An impressive regional museum”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My Husband, Son and I visited Warbirds and Wheels on our recent visit to New Zealand. We were surprised at the quality of the vehicles and the presentation, the museum was well set up and labelled. We all really enjoyed our visit. The staff in the museum and 50's diner were very helpful and made us feel welcome. The shop had a good range of products. We visited on a fine day and there were hardly any other people there. Great place to visit on a rainy day, they even have an old car to sit in to take your photo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuluDol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. Great to hear you had such a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“first class experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I had a really great experience seeing the wonderful layout of the museum from the American '50's Diner to the layout of the aeroplanes and cars in various buildings around the airport.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Excellent to hear you had such a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We came looking for the New Zealand Fighter Pilots Museum but found that it had closed in 2011 and all the aircraft sold off. This appears to have taken its place and does have a wall with biographies of the fighter pilots, which was interesting. Apart from that there are only five aircraft on display and lots of cars - but I'm not a car fan.
Apart from the fighter pilots' wall the best part is the retro style cafe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
As per previous responses we are NOT the NZ Fighter Pilot's Musuem. In fact the full Sir Tim Wallis collection of Warbird aircraft has not been together in Wanaka for many, many years. We do however get lots of positive comments about our "Evolution of Fighting Aircraft" display of five Warbirds and other aircraft memorabilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“history”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

great place to visit and see a part of aviation history.
loved it
some beautifully restored aircraft here some thing I am interested in some of the group I was with were not into aircraft but enjoyed it also

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thanks. Lots of our visitors agree with this reviewer that our visitor attraction has so much variety. We have the Warbird aircraft, a world-class collection of cars, original NZ Art, the story of a local legend, a retail shop and a great cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing