We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of being labelled a top 10” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #13 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worthy of being labelled a top 10”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I've toured around New Zealand now for almost 4 months, I've been all over the North Island and all over the west coast of the South Island. This place has got to be the worst Top 10 I've visited yet. It should be kicked out of the top 10 brand because it's not what you'd expect when you pay a premium for the top 10 parks. Men and Womens showers and toilets are run down. A grand total of 2 showers for the men and 2 for the women for the ENTIRE park. There's waterpipes in the toilet mended from leaks with masking tape, there's hooks broken off one of the doors of the mens shower. The other shower has two hooks on the back of the door but each hook is of a different style - everywhere you look this campsite is just a hotch potch job. The kitchen is small and has no cupboards .. there is communal frying pans and pots but since there's no cupboards this stuff is just strewn all over the place. There's only IAC internet available and for the majority of my stay it didn't work (it wasn't user error it simply didn't work .. I tried on two phones as well as a laptop AND ipad). The powered site plots around the tent grounds are very poorly marked and not level at all. Whilst staying on one rainy night we had people park between our site and the site next to us (i.e. inbetween two marked sites)... that same night another person squeezed in to the site beside us - so basically 4 separate groups of people squeezed in to 2 "marked" sites. Were they meant to be there? I don't know but I wouldn't blame them because most of the plot numbered signs are barely legible. Even thou the sites are grassy the quality of the grass is very poor - all the grass is burnt/dead so it ends up coming in to your van/tent. It gets very muddy here if it's raining. It's also pretty far (around 3-4km) from Wanaka town centre. You're much better off going to the lakeview campgrounds.. better location ,better facilities and cheaper too, even if you're a top ten member! I stupidly booked this place for 2 nights running.. waiting for our 2nd night to run out now so we can move elsewhere because this place just isn't worth it. We should have known this place was going to be a bad apple when we saw the broken down Top 10 vehicle just inside the main entrance - it looks like it hasn't moved in years. This campsite is a disgrace to the top 10 brand. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flipperdepheeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    55
    57
    22
    11
See reviews for
69
68
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times - camping in Jan 2012, and in a terraced cabin in Jan 2014.

It was not too bad for camping 2 years ago - though seems to feel a bit more tired now - the facilities really need refreshing and updating.

kitchen: almost no implements, very basic, needs a refurb.

cabin : thin walls - plenty of noise from next door, fit out looks a bit tired and dated, and only ok value at around $60-70.

showers: a bit dingy, need a refresh / overhaul

I stayed here because the other options were fully booked up - would not really recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: be aware that terraced basic cabins have thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DN164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We spent one night in a cabin here in the middle of a 3 week tenting holiday around the South Island using other Top 10 parks, to allow our wet tent to dry out.

Room was dingy and in need of some TLC. Stifling hot but with so many insects buzzing around we had to either get bitten at night and have fresh air or close the window and suffocate. No insect screens at all.

Showers were tired too and in need of a spruce up. Kitchen was adequate and laundry facilities were limited due to a number being out of order.

Not the best Top 10 we stayed in and would probably go elsewhere next time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We camped on a camp site for three nights, near the front of the property. The facilities nearest us were clean but sub standard. The kitchen is very small, three chairs and one rickety table, two toasters - one didn't work, one electric jug and the stove had two non working elements. There was a dead lighbulb in the bathroom and in our three nights there it was not changed. We also had a very noisy group camping next to us, music and loud socialising until one in the morning and it was not monitored. Not sure what the criteria is for being "Top Ten", but I would not regard this campground as one of them.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here in an unpowered site for several days. Unpowered sites are on terraces at the front of the camping area, and the facilities close by are frankly dingy. unisex ablution blocks which smell of urinal deodoriser are not my faves. Neither are kitchens where the equipment doesn't work. Pool is unheated, so kids found it too cold to swim most days. Tried out the spa and it was really grubby. On the positive site it is a lovely location and the staff were helpful and friendly. Doesn't have the polish that I expect from a top 10.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

A group of friends and I stayed at the Wanaka TOP 10 over the new years Holiday.
We were greeted by friendly staff and despite being an incredibly busy tme of year we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The unit was lovely exactly what we needed with comfortable bedding. Being New Years we expected the park to be noisy but it was the opposite and we had a fantastic stay all round. Definitely would recommend this place to others :) Thanks Tracy and Patrick for a lovely stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our initial site assigned to us overlooked a paddock of disused caravans however when I asked if we could move they were only too happy to oblige and our next site had a lovely view of the lake. The staff in reception were very welcoming and gave excellent advice on what to see in the area. The showers, while very clean, had an infrequent temperature. They were either boiling hot or cold. The kitchen facilities were clean and spacious. The pool area seemed a bit tired. The location is a bit out of town which was a bit of a walk for the kids.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Etc147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
1.6 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 217 Mt. Aspiring Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing