We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Management needed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glendhu Bay Motor Camp
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“New Management needed”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We were invited by friends who have been going to Glendu Bay for 3 generations so was very excited to check out this idyllic campground.. We turned up to check in and was greeted by a very rude and abrupt woman at the front desk her name was Chris. Chris checked us in an charged us for 15 booked days not 10 that we were staying as circumstances changed and couldn't stay longer I understand in peak time but camp was half empty. The campsite amenities were basic and showers were miles away from our site. My wife fell very ill at 2am and they did not answer the Emergency Phone so had to call an ambulance (at our cost) as we could not get gates open to drive her this is totally unacceptable. Due to my wife's illness we had to leave early so went to check out asked Chris if she would kindly refund us the balance of our stay but she queried if we had even paid I had to prove from my bank account before she would even consider it. Not sure wat kind system you use but with computers u would think we booked and paid for it so it should show up on your system. Chris finally refunded us after we proved had paid. Beautiful setting but after talking to few campers u will not have a lot left if you keep Chris there!! Maybe she should be kept away from customer service.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SouthIsland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Over our many many years of loving Glendhu Bay, like many of the long term campers who have written reviews, I am astounded by the ignorance shown by the management responses. Yes, it is good to see that management are responding to comments by the reviewers however the fact remains, the campground has aways been busy every December/January, due to it idilitic location (one of the most scenic in New Zealand), however the previous management have successfully kept harmony amongst the campers, including the long term campers whereas the current management, in particular the "rude woman" is ignoring such as the 'true and honest' people are saying. This in my view is going to be and is the only downfall of this wonderful place. It's has got to the point where I ask myself, have the management been hired to destroy and chase the campers away?

Guys, it breaks my heart to encourage you to alternative campgrounds as the New Zealand 'ambassador' of this campground are a poor representation of the New Zealand service industry.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay, not flash but clean and comfortable and well priced. Could you please put a light down the side of the building that leads to the ladies toilets as a bit dark at night.
Thanks heaps, office staff very nice friendly and helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeside1127, Manager at Glendhu Bay Motor Camp, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thanks for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you back again soon. Thanks for the tip about the light - until someone lets us know that a bulb is out, we are sometimes unaware!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The setting over the lake might VE beautiful but this holiday park is not nicely layed out especially for the number of people it caters for. It feels too overcrowded. Staff are friendly enough but I generally didn't feel comfortable there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeside1127, Manager at Glendhu Bay Motor Camp, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the holiday park. The campground was established in 1938, and by the request of the majority of long-term campers here, very little has been done to change the layout of the camp. We pride ourselves on being an iconic Kiwi camp, and the thousands of people that visit us year after year, agree that this is the case. We are sorry in this instance it did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a few family and friends getting together in Glendhu bay for Christmas & New Years because it is a great place for boating, kids, camping and a beautiful location. The moment we arrived the lady serving us was nothing but rude, disrespectful and unwelcoming. She was the only thing we had to complain about.

Beautiful place would go back but not if this lady is still there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeside1127, Manager at Glendhu Bay Motor Camp, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the campground. You visited in the busiest time of the year for our campground, when we have thousands of campers on site. Managing that number of people, vehicles and boats can be a huge job, and at times can be very stressful. Sometimes the minority can sometimes ruin things for the majority of people, and it is our management's job to ensure that everyone has an enjoyable time, but also that rules had adhered too. We are sorry that in this instance you were not happy with our management, as we have so many positive, supportive comments about the job they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a great weekend staying at the camp ground. It was raining when we arrived but the helpfull staff managed to get us into a cabin which saved us from having to put a tent up in the rain, then when it cleared we used one of the powered sites. Awesome location and the showers were just the ticket after a 'fresh' swim in the lake!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I was pleased we made the drive out to Glendu Bay from Wanaka. This campground was perfect for what we needed and away from the hustle and bustle of Wanaka Township where we would have paid double the fee for a powered site.
We had a lakeside site, which provided us with views of Lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountains of Mt Aspiring National Park.
As some other reviewers have stated, the facilities are a bit dated but clean.

Room Tip: Lakeside powered sites were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
5.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
3.0 mi away
Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet
Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet
#19 of 20 in Wanaka
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
4.4 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendhu Bay Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendhu Bay Motor Camp

Property: Glendhu Bay Motor Camp
Address: 1127 Mt Aspiring Road | Glendhu Bay, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true iconic Kiwi camp on the shores of Lake Wanaka. Stunning location 11km from Wanaka on the road to Mt Aspiring National Park. Only minutes from Treble Cone skifield, Mt Roy and the Motatapu Valley. One hours drive away from Queenstown. Powered and non powered sites available along with rustic cabins, a new lodge sleeping 21 in total (separate rooms sleep up to six) and a fully furnished 3 bedroom house to rent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing