We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling on a budget motel-style”
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This place is great.Big carpark,great terrace overlooking Lake Wanaka(with chairs,benches and tables and even a lawn to sunbath)close to town,clean,enough bathrooms and big kitchen.Huge living room with panorama-windows and plenty of tables,comfy sofas and a PC desk.Our doubleroom even had a sink in it-Great!All in all,very affordable motel-style backpacker with a warm feeling.Thanks

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wuschel-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in January this year. We are glad to hear that all the facilities and common areas were enjoyable and added to your stay!

Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Wanaka Backpacka has a great lakeside location and is a short walk from Wanaka town. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the rooms are clean, warm and comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped and makes self-catering a joy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Jami

We are pleased to hear you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay here with us in January. We are lucky with our location which allows guests great views of the mountains and lake and not to be in the centre of town but only a short walk away.
We hope to see you back here another time!
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Luckily we had booked in advance as the place turned out to be quite popular with last minute lodging applicants.
Clean, friendly staff, good internet deals, and... not always guaranteed in hostels, quiet at night!
Great views in the morning from the outside breakfast tables, nice close walk to town.
Go for it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Drkluitjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi there

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in January. Wanaka is now becoming a very popular destination and due to this we are often heavily booked through the year. We agree booking in advance is a great idea so you don't miss out and enjoy all that Wanaka has to offer.
Thanks you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope you have taken away some amazing memories of your travels in New Zealand.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Where do I even start… This is definitely one of my favorite backpackers I have ever stayed in in all my traveling. This beautiful little lakeside cottage style house is a dream for any tired traveller. Its right off to the side of the central town of Wanaka, but a very close 5-10 min walk to everything you need. It has the most beautiful view of lake Wanaka from every angle in their amazing lounge room surrounded with giant windows and comfy seating. Their kitchen is FULLY equipped, and very open, also probably one of the nicest kitchens I have seen at a backpackers. The rooms are very comfortable all around with great beds, the room I stayed in was near the front of the house and had a beautiful little window that opened up to the front garden area and you could see the lake. I was in a 4 share female room, and we had our own bathroom which was great. The staff working were some of the nicest people I came across in my travels on the South Island, I ended up staying an extra night because I was just too tired to hit the road again and even though they were really fully booked, the man helping me was very kind and helpful and somehow made it possible! The young girls working in the hostel were very sweet as well and really made an effort to make you feel comfortable and start conversation with you. I felt extremely comfortable and happy throughout my stay here, I wish there was a Wanaka Bakpaka in every city i traveled!! Great job guys, you have def earned a 5 star review from me! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit_Powers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Brit

Wow, we love to hear it when guests have enjoyed their stay and are blown away when we are ranked as your favourite stay in NZ thank you! We love our location and are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and staff here. If you are tired another day relaxing and enjoying the view here can definitely re-charge the batteries and allow the next adventure to not be so tiring.
We hope you continue to enjoy all New Zealand has to offer

Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a very clean and well run backpacker. We had a double room and even an en suite which we weren't expecting. Hannah was very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent and had a beautiful view over the lake. We could not fault this establishment and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernGirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

HI there

Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. We are so pleased to hear your stay in January was enjoyable and you would recommend us to fellow travellers. We will pass onto Hannah your comment as I'm sure she will be chuffed to hear you appreciated her help!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked a double room with ensuite for $72/ night with no bbh discount. We thought this was good value. Washing machines available and full kitchen which was well equipped. There were separate working areas with hot plates so plenty of room for people to cook together. Lounge area large with comfortable a couches overlooking water. Also area outside on nice (if windy) day. Wifi worked well from lounge and can buy extra data from desk for small amount.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Hostel seemed well run- were not disturbed at night, slept well.
Easy walk into town. Would definitely stay again.
We had breakfast in bakery nearby- hammer and grill. Great Danish pastries, light & moist muffins and good coffee- was recommended in book in hostel. Not very touristy plus lovely area outside to eat in sun.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi Pippa

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay this month at Wanaka Bakpaka. We always hope that the facilities whether the kitchen, laundry or common areas make guests stays more enjoyable. Our location is a handy short walk to town or the Hammer and Nail Bakery which we agree does good coffee & pastries.
We hope to see you back in the future.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great location, great facilities, beautiful views and friendly staff, what else could you ask for? I had a read through your bad reviews and laughed cause they are ridiculous. This is the best hostel I have stayed in throughout Australia and New Zealand. I highly recommend Wanaka Bakpaka and hopefully will come back again one day to stay longer. Unfortunately I only stayed one night but I really liked the room and your hostel. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic_Ped86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi Nic

We really appreciate your comments and are blown away that you rated us so highly compared to other establishments you've stayed in during your travels! When a guest remarks on their stay with us so positively it boosts our confidence that we are running the hostel well. We do look forward to seeing you in the future and hope you enjoyed your trip around Nee Zealand in December.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 46 in Wanaka
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £12 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing