We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit”
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

just had to come back here visiting south island for the second time

the location is unsurpassable

watching the sunrise or sunset from either the lounge window or outside

brilliant

our twin room was well spacious with a clean efficient en suite, good hot shower

bit of i fight in the kitchen sometimes so choose our time to dine but plenty of dining tables

great atmosphere which changed every night depending on the other travelers

hosts as friendly and accommodation as last time

not often i visit a place twice but a might consider a 3rd visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Chris

Thanks for taking the time to review your second stay with us! We are chuffed that you liked staying with us so much the first time you decided to stay again. We agree that the kitchen does have its peak times for use but find most people don't mind sitting in the living room chatting with other guests or just relaxing when they are waiting for space in the kitchen.
We would love to see you back for a third visit!
Wanaka Bakpaka :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Modern, bright and airy hostel. The dorms are spacious, clean and colourful. My dorm shared toilet and shower facilities with only one other room so there was never an issue getting into the shower. Shower and toilet facilities clean and modern. Gorgeous big kitchen with lots of cooking facilities. Large living room with plenty of soft seating for chilling out and wooden tables for eating. Only 40mb wifi but it was not expensive to purchase extra. My only issue was that my mattress was not thick enough and I could at times feel my hip bone against the base of the bed, but the pillow was nice and bouncy and the bedding warm and soft. Five mins walk to town and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved it here and would go back any time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princessepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Nicola

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here with us in Wanaka Bakpaka. We are pleased to hear that you found all the facilities clean, tidy and enjoyed the kitchen. We do try to regularly check - re-stock bedding to ensure guests have a comfortable stay and will look into the mattresses In our dorms. We appreciate your comments.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This Backpacker has a great view of Wanaka Lake. The room, kitchen and lounge were really clean. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Good location as it only took about 5 minutes to walk to the main street. We have a wonderful stay here. Will definitely recommend this Backpacker to friends. Good job!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank totoro_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi there

We love when guests recommend us to their friends with think it is one of the best compliments you can get! We do try to keep the rooms and common areas clean and tidy for guests to enjoy. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This place sparkles. Everything is kept clean. Everything works reliably. The view from the lounge is superb. Our double room (in the back building) was as spacious as could be expected in a hostel. We shared toilet and (lock protected) shower with one other room, and toilet and shower were separate (yay!). Excellent outdoor seating and indoor seating. Kitchen as good as it gets. Staff very helpful and knowledgable, and keep you as well informed as possible on the Haast Pass road condition. Location is near enough to "downtown" Wanaka to be a pleasant walk, and far enough to be quiet.

After racking my brain to think of anything to complain about, the only thing I can come up with is that some of the spaces in the many-slot car park are a bit tight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi there

Yah we love to receive new positive reviews! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. The summer season is so busy with a lot of guests staying only one night so we try to make sure all areas of the hostel - rooms, kitchen, outside .... Are kept clean tidy and welcoming for guests. We really appreciate the time you have taken to right about your stay with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Bakpaka is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at.
Starting with making a reservation to checking out, everything went as smoothly as possible. We made a reservation and payment on their website, and anytime we emailed for information and/or confirmation we got prompt and courteous responses. There was a road closure between Fox Glacier and Wanaka that affected our travel dates, and the hotel staff were prompt to let us know about it and what our options are in case we needed to cancel. We ended up having to cancel our first night, but stayed for the next two. Even though we were outside of the cancellation policy, and would have completely understood not getting a refund for the first night, we still ended up getting a refund because the staff made an effort to rent out our room for the one night. When we arrived, we were greeted with with a smile and shown to our room.
Our room was one of the private ones on the second floor, and a shared bathroom (for only two rooms), right across the hall. The room and the bathroom were both very clean. The room had two big windows and views of the trees outside. There was also a heater in the room if needed. The bed was comfy.
The kitchen at Bakpaka is very spacious - there is tons of space to keep your groceries (they have a separate room with shelves). The hangout area is big and there is lots of space to eat or play games. They have lots of games to choose from. There is also a terrace.
The hostel offers bike rentals for about 13 NZD, and we took advantage of this on one of the days. The bikes are good quality - make sure you book in advance because there are only 3-4 bikes.

The location of the hostel is perfect - up on a small hill, overlooking the lake and the centre of town, it's very close to everything (5 min walk) yet still away from the noise for a good night's sleep.
I can't recommend Bakpaka enough!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi there

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us in January. We are thrilled you enjoyed and would recommend your whole experience ! We try to assist guests as much as we can and the road closure for the Glaciers has become very tricky to manage but we endeavour to supply as much information as possible. Biking around Wanaka is a great way to get around and stunning around the lake. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you took away some great memories of Wanaka.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I accidentally left my rain jacket behind. The staff mailed it back to me promptly and then said not to worry--they paid for the shipping costs! Super nice and generous of them! The place was very clean and comfortable, too. We had a 3-bed share room; there was a sink right there in the room for brushing our teeth and such. The kitchen was roomy, clean, and well-stocked with cooking supplies. The showers had wonderful pressure and no shortage of luxurious hot water. Very cute deck and comfortable lounge area with lots of couches and reading material. Excellent hostel--highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Andy

We are pleased to hear your group enjoyed their recent stay with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. You would not believe how often guests leave belongings behind - we do try to get these back to the owners but can sometimes be tricky when guests are moving around the country quickly. It's great to hear you found all the facilities clean, tidy and well stocked.
We hope your group enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Located right by the water on a hill, it has spectacular views of Lake Wanaka. 5 minute walk from town without being right in the middle of it. It is nice and quiet.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Internet is not free, but you can purchase cheap internet at the front desk.

The common areas are clean and not at all worn down like most backpackers.

We got a private room with ensuite. Again, lovely and comfortable and clean. The bathroom smelt a bit musty, but nothing to complain about.

The kitchen was clean and fairly well equipped. It is a little cramped but serviceable.

It is overall a great place to stay. I would highly recommend to anyone interested in Wanaka

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodbLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi there

Thanks your for taking the time to review your recent stay at Wanaka Bakpaka. We are so happy to hear you found your stay comfortable and staff friendly and welcoming. We do try to keep all facilities clean and tidy and agree the kitchen is very popular and there tends to be a rush hour when a lot of people try yo cook at once- we have a BBQ outside to try and help with overflow.
We hope you took away some great memories of your travels.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 46 in Wanaka
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £12 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing