We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wanaka Bakpaka
Nearby Hotels
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Apartments(Wanaka)
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lakeview Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Archway Motels(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
209
85
14
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
85
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble roomthe kitchenfree wifibig windowsgreat kitchenfree tea and coffeeoverlooking the lakecommon roomprivate ensuitecommon areasfridge spaceshared bathroomper daythree roomsenjoyed staying herelounge areaquiet at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here. The Lake View double ensuite wasn't available the first night so we stayed in 10B (?), a double room with a shared bath and then moved to the Lake View room the next day. I actually liked the double room better. It was much bigger and had a closet. I don't know about the other rooms but our shared bathroom was right outside our door. The Lake View room had a porch with a view of the lake (and a picnic table where a woman smoked) but we are never in the room anyway and the view from the lounge was better. The main problem with the Lake View room was that it was really tiny. There was barely room to walk around the bed on all three sides. We had to maneuver around our suitcases to go to the bathroom. Instead of a nightstand there was a narrow tapered metal shelf attached to the wall on each side of the bed that was probably only 6 inches wide at the widest point so there was no place to put anything. . The room was clean and we slept fine, which is all we do in a room anyway. It just didn't seem worth the extra $20/night to me.

They had a large lounge area and huge kitchen with several refrigerators, sinks and cook and prep areas. The manager was really friendly and helpful. We could easily walk into town for dinner and they had a notebook in the room with information about activities and restaurants.

They have a ZenBu wifi hotspot. I think they gave us 50 or 100Mb/night but I bought another 500 Mb for only NZ$4. Unfortunately we had bad luck with Zenbu the entire trip. I frequently couldn't get connections to US sites and couldn't even access my gmail account several days. Luckily, I was always able to access one of my email accounts. Zenbu's website acknowledged that people were having trouble accessing US sites but said the problem wasn't on their end. However I only had those problems with the Zenbu wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi there

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. We're glad that you found all the common areas well stocked, enjoyed the views and appreciated the staff. We appreciate your comments and like to remind guests that we are a backpackers- budget accommodation and this is represented in our rooms and prices.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at Wanaka Bakpaka in a double room in July 2012 and still have fond memories. A warm, inviting place, great views, staff and clean. Will be back in Wanaka 2015 but not sure if I will be staying here as I have a 1 year old daughter but would not hesitate recommending this place to couples and solo adventurers.

Room Tip: Found the double rooms upstairs instead of the en-suite very comfortable and value for money.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeHonest73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi there

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with is in 2012. We always love to hear from guests whether it be recent or a couple years ago like yourself. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others. Congratulation on your daughter, their are some great alternatives for young families in Wanaka, some backpackers offer family rooms such as Matterhorn South Backpackers or YHA Wanaka or Lakeview Motels.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Loved this hostel - easy walk down to the main street, while having one of the best views you could have of the lake. We had a private room with bathroom (shared between 3 private rooms) just across the hall. The only thing that would make this hostel better is if the room was en-suite but the shower room & toilet were quite clean and newer looking than the others.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank trixdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay in April with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. Right now our view is changing by the day with winter fast approaching we are getting light dusting of snow on the mountains which makes for a stunning view from the living room! We are pleased you found all facilities clean and enjoyed your stay.

Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Randomly booked a night in this hostel and I just arrived in a friendly, clean and cosy place... The view is just amazing. You have all the facilities you need with a very helpful and smily staff ... You could not find better place for your staying in Wanaka!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Klopette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi there

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with is in April. We try to make all of our guests stays enjoyable, relaxing and help them experience all Beautiful Wanaka has to offer.
We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels around New Zealand.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

just had to come back here visiting south island for the second time

the location is unsurpassable

watching the sunrise or sunset from either the lounge window or outside

brilliant

our twin room was well spacious with a clean efficient en suite, good hot shower

bit of i fight in the kitchen sometimes so choose our time to dine but plenty of dining tables

great atmosphere which changed every night depending on the other travelers

hosts as friendly and accommodation as last time

not often i visit a place twice but a might consider a 3rd visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Chris

Thanks for taking the time to review your second stay with us! We are chuffed that you liked staying with us so much the first time you decided to stay again. We agree that the kitchen does have its peak times for use but find most people don't mind sitting in the living room chatting with other guests or just relaxing when they are waiting for space in the kitchen.
We would love to see you back for a third visit!
Wanaka Bakpaka :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews