We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value of entire holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manuka Crescent Motel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Toured both North and South Island during January / Feb used 19 motels in all , seeking twin accommodation. Just one night spent here. Pleased to find the place as the map in the Jasons/AA? book was not so clear. So glad we did. Excellent value, Double bedroom and two beds in living area. Good dining space. Clean, comprehensive kitchen and ditto bathroom. Quiet too, a real bonus. Parking outside, even a little pool. Very affable host. Although out of town it is only a few minutes drive and excellent value. Would stay again and have recommened to a friend already.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed for one night in a standard studio for $88. This wasn't the best motel we stayed in during our trip to New Zealand but it was one of the cheaper ones so I guess you get what you pay for. The room was a good size and clean. Bathroom was fine if a bit dated. It's located maybe a couple minutes drive from the town. It'd be a longish walk though, maybe 25 mins so not the best location if you like to walk into and out of town. We didn't find the staff particularly friendly. They didn't volunteer any info on the locality when we checked in. The usual "Do you need a map?" and "Are you looking for somewhere to eat?" would have been nice.

This place did the job for a one night stopover and was decent value but nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

this motel is very good value, clean and well maintained and very cheap as it's not on the main drag in wanaka. Only 2 minutes from the restaurants and the lake.
we were going to leave wanaka and go further north to find something cheaper as all the motels were over our budget but the helpful lady at the i-site gave us this recommendation and we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed for a week over the winter season. First thing we noticed in our motel room was the cleanliness of the bathroom and kitchen- for us a big positive! The beds were comfortable, and the staff even recommended a restaurant and gave us a voucher. I think for the the cost it's great value and we could store our skis in the dry room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Studio is very good value we found, we could cook dinner before we went out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had a nice time staying at the motel. We stayed in a studio room and enjoyed the room very much. It was clean, comfortable, and the owner was very kind and helpful. great value for price. Much recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meyblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I used to stay here, and the old owners were really considerate. I think the new ones need to learn how to run a motel. The taps leaked in my room. I told the owner, and he said that several other people had also mentioned it, and he would fix it.

I arrived at the motel, after having booked. They had a room picked out for me. When I got there, the door to the room was open, and it was about 7 degrees outside, and the inside was no different. A wee heater was supposed to do the trick. Which it didn't. I finally asked for more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCM47126, Owner at Manuka Crescent Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Edith thank you for your review we are very disappointed with the comments made and can only offer our apologies for the treatment you received from our staff. We have owned the motel for nearly 10 years so I am guessing you have visited during that time? It is practice to air our rooms after cleaning and then close them up late afternoon and turn on the 10 bar oil fuelled radiators for those guests checking in. Statistically speaking the radiators are sufficient to heat the area once they have heated the room up and during our ski season when temperatures outside at often below freezing we receive very few negative comments about them. I understand you were provided with an additional radiator when asked so hopefully that kept your room warm. As regards the leaking taps, I am unsure why our staff would tell you he had many people say they leaked as this is untrue the taps were not leaking just dripping and the washer was changed the day you checked out as it would have been had someone made a complaint previously? I sincerely hope you will visit us again in the future and apologise once again for any discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Found this gem of a motel in the AA NZ Visitor Guide. A little way out of town but that suited us as a good walk is great after a day travelling, also it was quiet. Very welcoming, neat, very clean and good sized room with really pleasant surroundings. The helpful, friendly owners are working on updating the motel as they have not been there overly long - and are doing a great job!!!
Good reasonable rates. Would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
2.0 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuka Crescent Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Crescent Motel

Address: 51 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#10 Family Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £64 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuka Crescent Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an extremely quiet location offering affordable spacious self contained studios & one and two bedroom apartments. Free wifi, 32 inch flat screen tvs with Sky TV. Kitchnettes with stove tops for two saucepans, Electric fry pan, microwave oven refrigerators and kettle/jug for tea & coffee making. All units have a dining area & couches for relaxation along with outside seating terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manuka Crescent Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wanaka
Manuka Crescent Hotel
Wanaka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing