We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manuka Crescent Motel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was a great value for money motel. Spacious, clean and comfortable. We were greeted by an extremely helpful young man who gave us plenty of ideas about things to do. Although this was a little way out of the main town centre it was only a short drive and was walking distance if you dont mind an energetic stroll.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our accommodation at the Manuka Crescent Motel was spacious, well equipped and comfortable particularly for us as we were upgraded at no extra cost. In general the whole establishment seemed well run, with friendly staff. We thought it was good value for money and the only negative being some way from the centre of the town and the lake and without a sat nav harder to find than most.

Room Tip: All rooms are more than adequate but an upgrade adds space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A strange room (or rooms): a lounge at the front, dark bedroom in the middle (with no natural light) and a bathroom at the back (with a window at the end). The decor was a little dated. There were dishes and utensils but only a microwave oven and no kitchen sink and nothing to clean the dishes with. You had to trek to the bathroom sink to get water for the kettle, etc. A weird set-up. We had hoped to cook a meal that night, but as there was only a microwave, we settled for 2-minute noodles. Also, the fridge and beds smelled very strongly of cleaning products (way too much for sensitive noses). The smell was so overpowering on my pillow that I was tempted to sleep on the couch. Instead I covered it with an item of clothing. A light was plugged into a powerpoint directly behind the pillow. I don't want to sleep on top of electricity, so switched it off and unplugged it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krudyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCM47126, Owner at Manuka Crescent Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We thank the guest for this review however would like to point out that this is our Economy Twin Studio specifically advertised as limited kitchen facilities which is why it is extremely competitively priced which hasnt been mentioned in the review. It is not one of our standard motel units which all have full cooking facilities and are priced accordingly the Economy Twin Studio is more of a hotel type room which would only have tea and coffee making however we have added extra things like the microwave & toaster so that they guest may make breakfast and be self contained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Manuka crescent is a mainly residential street a little way from the town centre so one of the few times we actually used the sat nav to find somewhere in NZ. The motel is pleasantly laid out and rooms are comfortably equipped and not expensive.

The parking area and driveways are surfaced with loose stone which could potentially be noisy at busy times but we stayed at a fairly quiet time of year so weren't bothered except when the owner came to check if room was OK and we heard his approach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a long way from the best motel we've stayed at in NZ - the decor was a bit dated and the level of service nowhere near as good as most motels (e.g. rooms not fully serviced every day, beds not made). However, it was by far the cheapest accommodation in Wanaka that we could find, and so does provide fairly good value for money - the room was a good size, we had a 2-ring cooker top and fridge, and there were BBQs for guests to use.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 444Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Greeted by a really friendly face at reception. Nice extra touches - free milk and WiFi.

Room was great - good cooking space, spacious shower room, king sized bed, comfy couch and outside dining area.

About a fifteen minute walk to town but only minutes from the lake shore.

We wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here with the family its quiet and affordable, Compared to other places in this price range it is a very good stay, a good 20min walk to town. Tea and Coffee and Microwave available. Would Stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
821 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
264 reviews
1 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuka Crescent Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Crescent Motel

Address: 51 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuka Crescent Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an extremely quiet location offering affordable spacious self contained studios & one and two bedroom apartments. Free wifi, 32 inch flat screen tvs with Sky TV. Kitchnettes with stove tops for two saucepans, Electric fry pan, microwave oven refrigerators and kettle/jug for tea & coffee making. All units have a dining area & couches for relaxation along with outside seating terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manuka Crescent Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wanaka
Manuka Crescent Hotel
Wanaka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing