We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More motel than resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More motel than resort”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Expectation is everything. Modern units of decent size, but let down on so may fronts.
No aircon in room, just a wall mounted fan. Worse 2 nights sleep of month long holiday in New Zealand. A small site for so many rooms mean cars are parked everywhere, for us this meant both outside the front door and back door patio. The complimentary toiletries are of dollshouse proportion and very disappointed that on our second day after enjoying a 6 hour lake walk we found these had not been refreshed in the room or the bin emptied. When asked for replenishments the staff response was abrupt. Receptionist also coded our room key to work for 1 day only, had to be reset for 2nd night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HauntedHospital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    123
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
93
164
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Spent one night at this hotel. The service was great, and the room was very clean. Hot tub was first rate. Only problem was an outrageous charge for wifi. Haven't these chain hotels gotten that people don't want to pay; raise my room rate a couple of dollars, and give me free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We went there on your Christmas vacation last year & it was as we expected. Wyndham situated in a quite location just opposite Mount Aspiring so it has got a lovely view & very close to the city & lake Wanaka. We rented a car which made it very easy to drive around town & also Queenstown. Had a great time in the pool with my kids. Went to the restaurant on New Year's eve for dinner. Food was great & the place was family friendly. I had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahnila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Saw a deal on Wotif and decided to give Wydham Vacation Resort a try. I was delighted when I pulled into the drive - it was evident at that point that this Hotel was a cut above the rest. Very modern decor. Attentive staff. Good restaurant with limited (but suffice) menu. Wonderful surroundings of mature trees and NZ native shrubs - kind of retreat like.

Room Tip: 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k8andsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We enjoyed a week's stay at this lodge in beautiful Wanaka, NZ. Wanaka must be one of those well kept secret places that Kiwis reserve for themselves. We could walk to the lake and the town centre in one direction and walk to one of the most beautiful wineries (Rippon) in the other. Even though the road was well traveled, our unit was very peaceful and quiet. Our room had all the things one would expect at a very reasonable price.

We also enjoyed fine dining in the upper level restaurant. Great roast lamb and the venison must have been so good that it was gone when I ordered. Our compliments go to the chef!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We had a studio room for 7 nights, the room was spacious, clean & staff friendly & helpful.
A well maintained property

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

When you are a traveller with high expectations, skip this one. For families this can be a great place, there is a pool and hottub, laundry facilities. There is no vieuw on the lake or on the spectaculair environment. what ever you do dont eat here. It's cheap but awfull. There are enough restaurants in town who do a better job. Again, we are used to luxuary travel, so ....

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Axelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig W, Manager at Ramada Resort Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Hi Axelke
Thank you for posting feedback about our resort, apologies for the resort not living up to your expectations of a luxury destination. We strive to achieve a balance between value for money and meeting the requirements for luxury travellers with our different room types. I would welcome the opportunity to show you our Delux and Presidential units which I am sure will meet up with your expectations. Let me know if you are planning a trip to Wanaka again, it would be great to show you the more upmarket rooms. Please can I ask you to e mail me craig.walker@wyn.com with feedback on the restaurant to allow an opportunity to investigate you disappointment with the facility.
Regards
Craig Walker – Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Wanaka

Property: Ramada Resort Wanaka
Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing