We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

After a long travel day it was nice to arrive here. Friendly and helpful staff directed us to the room. It was nice to have a terrace allowing outside air comfort. We did not use the pool facilities although they looked very inviting. The room was modern with very good bathroom facilities. We took the breakfast in a cozy corner and this is the only weaker point...the breakfast was kind of average.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Resort Wanaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough, from its position on the lake to the friendly and helpful staff - take a bow, Bruno, and the lady who photocopied some sudoku for me.
My room was lovely and equipped with a small kitchen if I did not want to go out for a meal. I loved the crisp white bed linen and what better way to end the day than with a soak in the hot pool.

Room Tip: I had room 304 and could park my car right outside.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monacoEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Visited Wanaka and stayed a week in a two bedroom apartment with four adults and a 12 year old.
Found the staff very friendly at all times and very helpful with local advice.
Loved the scenery and walks along the lake.
The facilities at the resort were first class - spent a lot of time in the pool.
Wanaka is a great place - a lot more laid back than Queenstown but still relaxing with good facilities.
We drove into Queenstown both ways and enjoyed the drive. The one over the mountains is very spectacular and quite steep in places. Spectacular views.
Recommend a visit to the warbird museum at the airport and Puzzling World is great fun for all ages.
I was fortunate to get on a helicopter flight with Mt Aspring helicopters and greatly enjoyed the flight which included landing on the mountain - dont forget the camera as the views are unbelievable
My wife took a walk into the glaciers for the day and also had a great time
Highly recommended - would return here with any opportunity and would certainly stay again at this resort

Room Tip: all good rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We spent 4 days at this resort and was impressed firstly with the spacious room and the layout of the room. It was clean and well equipped. The position of the resort was out of the town and a car was needed to travel to and fro,but having said that it is a pleasant 20 min (or less for the more energetic) walk along the lake side to the activities of Wanaka.
We found the staff helpful and friendly but very few facilities when we were there, the restaurant was not open. The negative sides were that we found the shower floor quite slippery and dangerous especially for older persons with no rubber mat provided. The other negative thing was the creaking of the roof rafters especially at night- it was quite frightening at first until we were told it was the contracting of the wooden beams, and was reassured.
On the whole the holiday was very good value and would certainly go again when in Wanaka.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mod11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Overall Wyndham resort is a comfortable and conveniently located place to stay within Wanaka. Just outside through main township, Wyndham is a short, leisurely walk for the town centre which is wonderful as it is nice and quiet in the evenings.

The downfalls however are:

1) Extremely overpriced wifi - $40NZD for one weeks access - (cheaper accommodation offers this for FREE)
2) If you are not already a Wyndham owner/member you will be asked to attend a sales pitch asking you to join for a large sum of money.
3) Unless you are staying 8 nights or more, there is NO housekeeping.
4) The studio room amenities are in very small supply and you will need to purchase additional necessities from the supermarket (toilet paper, soap, shampoo, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper etc) - again these are all provided free at cheaper establishments.
5) Check in for RCI members isn't until 4:30pm (considerably late given the location) with a 12:00 checkout.

On the upside:

The staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful (apart from getting a scolding for arriving before 4:30pm) and Dani, who shows you to your room is an absolute delight!

Overall the stay was enjoyable but I would expect more for their nightly rate...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidLambchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The only downside to this property were the stairs. We had heavy luggage and my elderly Mum found it a little difficult to climb. Nevertheless, the rooms were spacious, modern, clean and very comfortable. The Reception staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definately stay here again, stairs and all.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage choose ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here before the school holiday Time and it was simply grand. The staff were tops, the room most comfortable, and the extras.....pool, spa, cycles, added value to ourstay. Wanaka offered a very good holiday pandas we like the greatoutdoors, it was an excellent place for us to refresh. It may not have the lakeside view yet we still enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: If you wish to be away from kidnoise then do not choose a poolside room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevanjP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
791 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Wanaka

Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wanaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Resort Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing