We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel, we stayed here for one night after a long drive. It was lovely, very clean, neat and practical. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful, they have a cafe on site that does breakfast and dinner. We had a pizza for dinner that was absolutely delicious! Plenty of food for two people.

There is also a heated pool, spa and sauna onsite that we didn't get a chance to use.

I would certainly be more than happy to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cj_loves_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    118
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
86
156
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the resort and had no problems regarding the room and it's facilities. Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and chairs to watch tv without having to use the bed. Everything worked well and although quite busy did not hear any noise from other rooms although on our last morning a bus which obviously was departing early decided to run engine for what seemed like an eternity until they actually left. Not the hotel's fault but annoying all the same. Did not get the chance to explore resort as both days we were there arrived late and left early but from our balcony they seemed to have a fantastic outdoor area for relaxation. Were going to eat at their restaurant but it has now been downgraded to cafe with very limited offerings. This turned out okay as we discovered a couple of fabulous restaurants for our evening meals in Wanaka a place not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougalHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect place to chill out and relax. The room we had was huge and well appointed. The staff were always helpful and really go above and beyond to help you out. Sky tv and Internet available (at your own cost). We ended up canceling our plans to stay here longer we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minda75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We booked a studio unit and unfortunately it was basically a hotel room with a microwave and fridge stuffed into a closet. We had to wash our dishes in the bathroom sink which wasn't very sanitary, however we were only having cereal and coffee as it was too inconvenient to make anything else. We were surprised that the housekeeping staff were using the guest laundry to wash the resorts towels and therefore we had to work around their laundry. The door to our room was broken and scraped along the pavement every time we opened and closed the door, but maintenance didn't bother to repair it. We own a studio unit and this unit did not in any way meet the definition of a studio. We did hear that the one bedroom units were much better. We stayed in many hotels in New Zealand that offered more in cooking facilities than this resort. We had been looking forward to this resort and were therefore deeply disappointed. The staff were friendly and we recognized that there wasn't anything that they could do to rectify the situation. Wifi was not free and there was a $5 charge to rent a DVD. We had exchanged for a week, however left after 3 nights as it did not suit our needs. We would recommend researching the layout of all studio units offered by Wyndham as we have heard from others who have had the same experience with their properties. Do not let this review discourage you from visiting Wanaka as it is a beautiful little town and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves while there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

The afternoon we arrived it was wet and cold. A warm welcome from the staff, and the facilities were very good. Regardless of the weather we enjoyed the heated spa pool, gym and steam room. The room was quite large and very comfortable. A very enjoyable stay and excellent value.

Room Tip: You can get a good deal from booking.com to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over labour weekend and loved it!!
The room was fantastic, not anything overly fancy but was stylish, clean and had everything you could need! The staff were very friendly BUT the highlight of this place is the pool area and the fun water slide!! We had a ball in it and is not something you would usually see at a Wanaka Resort!

We would stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Good location, great rooms, amazing views and very good facilities.

We stayed here for just one night, and wish we had more time in Wanaka.

The room (one bedroom studio) was very large, had decent kitchenette facilities and a clean bathroom. The attached balcony had great mountain views.

Onsite parking is convenient and ample.

We didn't use the heated pool and the sauna (not enough time), but both looked great as well.

We requested complimentary late check-out, and it was given.

No free wifi.

Overall, perhaps the best value for money for our trip to NZ!

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Wanaka

Property: Ramada Resort Wanaka
Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing