We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great stay”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay. We received a $10 bar/cafe voucher which we used for a beautiful coffee the next morning.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and our room was lovely and very clean and modern.

Would have rated 5 out of 5 if they had free wifi.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KellHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    121
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
87
164
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is just a standard resort accommodation. It is not amazing or above average, just what you would expect. Some positives were the room size & bed, which was extremely comfortable. The studio apartment was spacious with lots of room.
Some negatives. Limited car parking spaces & unbelievably high prices for wifi & breakfast. $25 for continental breakfast is high for bread, cereal & juice.
Not a bad place to stay for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to Queenstown. Rooms were great, hot pool was nice and relaxing. The hotel is a bit out of the way from the town but it provided us with everything we needed. We didn't use the restaurant, even with a $10 off voucher as it looked a bit average. We instead went into town for food which didn't disappoint. The staff were helpful. This hotel would be great for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent a week here when staying in Wanaka and it was quite nice. My partner and I had a studio apartment which was very spacious and included kitchenette facilities and a king size bed. The bathroom was also quite nice and the rooms were very quiet both during the day and at night. The on-site restaurant facilities were average to good although I'm under the impression that they are undergoing some renovations.

The downsides would be the lack of wifi - to connect was outrageously expensive and could only be used by one device at a time. I understand that the Wifi in the area isn't the best but why I can access free wifi in Bali but not New Zealand is beyond my comprehension. There was also a need for more parking as if you came back later at night it was almost impossible to find a park.

Our room didn't have a view but some of the 2 bedroom apartments did and those views were quite impressive. There was a pool for kids and a gym for those that way inclined. All the staff at reception were very friendly and willing to help with any queries that we had. Breakfast was decent but IMO slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: The studio apartments were spacious and quiet and the large windows allowed a fair amount of light i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Nothing to fault about the room - it is spacious and definitely very clean. This being more a hotel and less a motel, the kitchen facilities in the room is limited. Practical place to stay, easy parking. Some rooms are a bit tucked away with no views - such rooms are still worthwhile for a one night stay or so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I traveled as part of a group of 8 (mostly family) and found the Wyndham Vacation Resorts to be a perfect place for us. We had a 3 bedroom apartment that was very spacious and clean. I was very impressed by our check in process. When I went to the front desk and said "hello" with my American accent the front desk clerk addressed me by name and said she had been waiting for the North Americans to arrive. I thought this was a very special to be called out and welcomed. She provided us with several keys, since there were 8 people, and a map of the facility. She explained all the amenities to us and secured an escort to our apartment. There was a good sized kitchen which worked well with us since we looked to cook breakfast, prepare lunches and have the occasional dinner in our unit. The complex also has several BBQ grills that helped in our preparing local lamb and beef.

The unit we stayed in was very clean and well organized. We were able to get additional supplies (toilet paper, paper towels and dishwasher detergent) when we needed it. The pool area offered an after activity relaxation.

I like the location since it was an easy walk into town or down the street to the winery. It also offered a great proximity to the ski areas as well as some fantastic hiking. I really enjoyed Wanaka as a relaxing small town even though I learned the grocery stores charge the most for food of any town in all of New Zealand. I would stay here again without hesitation but might go to Cromwell to stock the refrigerator.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeannaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed one night here. It was clean and comfortable, but we had just come from Scenic Suites in Queenstown which had given us far superior apartment-style accommodation for the same price (via a Grabone deal). The room we stayed in seemed confused as to whether it was set up for cooking/food preparation. There was a microwave/oven, lots of cooking implements and dinnerware, but there was no kitchen sink or hotplate. Dishes, including dinnerplates, had to be washed in the bathroom handbasin which didn't seem very practical or hygenic. Our balcony just faced straight into another unit, rather than have any sort of view. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, it wasn't bad, but a bit overpriced for what it offered.

Room Tip: If you want to cook, check that your room has a sink and hotplate. If you want a view, make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Wanaka

Property: Ramada Resort Wanaka
Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing