We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love it so much we go every year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love it so much we go every year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Admission - I have Wyndham time share credits, which I use to stay here every year. However - while I have many other choices - I return here every year and relax in this wonderful, beautifully appointed resort. Great furnishings, well appointed kitchen, good beds, nice little gym and an outdoor spa that is hot even on a cold winter night!
The staff are exceptional - last year we accidentally drove into a huge puddle and could not get out - I rang reception and in 15 minutes they had a tow-truck out to rescue us. They are onto everything going on in the area and can make recommendations.
It is located about 15 minutes walk from the village, or a short walk from the lake in a quiet, residential area at the foot of Mt Aspiring.
There are so many places to explore in the area and Wanaka is a perfect jumping off place. This year we visited Cromwell and Bannockburn - the old abandoned gold mines, explored old country churches in Hawea and Hawea Flat, trekked along the Clutha River and explored some of the back roads. The week flew by!

Room Tip: If possible, get a two bedroom unit, even for a couple. The extra space is really nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    116
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
85
154
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was running away for my 50th birthday week. A year in the planning my husband suggested going back to Wanaka and have a couple of friends invited and get the presidential suite. It was a home away from home and we settled in. Gas log fire, heated floor tiles, full kitchen, BBQ and hot tub - well better than home in some cases. Whilst the weather is nippy it is never to cold to get in the jacuzzi so we did twice with some Moët. Also made our own mulled wine to eat with chocolate. Staff always helpful and Edita thanks so much for your tips and sharing jokes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in a 2bedroom apartment overlooking the pool area in April 2014. We were very lucky that our stay coincided with the Wings Over Wanaka air show which we attended and enjoyed immensely. We had a hire car and did day trips most days to places like Haas Pass, Cromwell/Alexandria and Queenstown/Arrowtown. Wanaka itself is a lovely town and we enjoyed the scenery of the lake, poking around the centre of town shopping, dining, watching a movie at Cinema Paradiso, visiting some local pubs and wineries, clay shooting and of course visiting the air show (it's on every 2 years). In hindsight I think 5 nights would be just perfect for a stay in Autumn. Some down time and some time to explore before moving on to another destination.
Reception was generally busy but with excellent staff to answer questions and help out with visit information. The bar had happy hours and there's a very limited menu of take away food (mostly pizzas) to order in your don't have other plans. This is also the breakfast area but we didn't use it at all as there is a great supermarket in town which is open till 9pm every day so we purchased basic groceries and used the kitchen facilities in our room to make something easy for breakfast and a couple of dinners.
There are bikes available from the hotel and its not far to ride into town although it's uphill a little on the return journey!
The four of us were very comfortable in our 2bedroom unit and our only grip was that there is only one bathroom and the toilet is not separate but part of the bathroom. Not ideal but you can live with it. There were no views from the room except of the hotel wings & pool area but other accommodation in town would offer views and closer proximity to the centre of town.
I would recommend this property for a stay in Wanaka especially if you have a hire car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasminepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, the staff were fantastic, so helpfull nothing was to much trouble, the room was large clean, and comfy bed, there was a small swimming pool which was a nice touch, the young man who cooked breakfast was amazing what ever you wanted, he would cook to order, excellent breakfast. We enjoyed the lake it's only 5mins away in the car, nice shops and pubs, really enjoyed it here, and a big thank you to the staff who made our stay extra special

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashton40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a great time at Wyndham Wanaka. We stayed in three different rooms, a 2 bedroom then a 3 bedroom then back to a 2 bedroom (just the way it worked out), however the staff moved us and accommodated us without any issues. The hot tub was amazing and a great place to meet interesting people from all over the globe. A definite meeting hub!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kindredspirits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here with a group for my birthday and I have to say it was perfect and added to a brilliant stay in Wanaka. Walked into town one day and taxi realy cheap since there was 4 of us, the staff here were so helpfull and relaxed and give great recommnedation for dinner and activities. We stayed in 2 different 3 Bed room aprtments which were clean tidy and pretty modern loved the faux fireplace, the washer dryer tucked away was very handy and the heated tiles was lux. Everyone in our party really loved this hotel our other friends had their family ina 1 bedroom apartment with little kids, we would all recommend this hotel to others and def stay here again. The Massive Spa pool was a great way to unwind after a day on the slopes and to meet other travellers look forward to staying here again. Thank you again to the wonderful staff awesome job, we asked that one of the rooms to be switched to a double and when we came back from dinner that same day it was changed and they had turned onthe fireplace so it was nice and toasty.

Room Tip: We had a 3 bedroom apartment near the Spa which was handy and bigger then the ones my friends had un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nofoa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was really happy with Wyndham. The room was really nice, it even came with a small garden where we could sit outside while enjoying a cup of tea. The staff was very friendly, and they got bikes to rent. So we each got a bike and had a good exercise riding across the town. The hotel is about 5 minutes drive to the town center, but it is no problem at all since most people have car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveTreeSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Hotel Mount Aspiring)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing