We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomadation”

Bayview Motel Wanaka
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Motel Wanaka
Ranked #41 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
ChCh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accomadation”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Had a week staying here with 2 young children Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unit was incredibly clean and comfortable. Very quiet , great facilities and location. Will certainly be back - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familychch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We came across this place by just driving around and looking from the outside, so it was the 3rd place we looked at. We liked the fact that it was a bit out of the town so quiet and the views from the rooms were amazing. We had a spacious room with a separate bedroom and sitting room. Ok it had that typical chintzy look of NZ ("heritage") which looks old fashioned to europeans but it was very clean and fresh - definitely no chips! The hosts were very friendly and helpful and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Old smelt like a chip shop were shown 3 different units all the same looks totally different on the Internet and they are using Campervan rating for the motel! So bad we found alternative accommodation for the night rather than stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terribetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayviewwanaka, Manager at Bayview Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
We'd like to clarify that we most certainly do not advertise our motel under our campervan parks rating. We only advertise ratings awarded to the motel; our website, brochures and Qualmark certificate show this to be true. Also our photos are very accurate as the were only taken this summer. The original unit did have a cooking smell present and we apologise for this. Myself and a co-worker could not smell cooking odours at all in the other 2 rooms. We now have a deodorising machine to help us eliminate unpleasant odours in any units.
Management
Bayview Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Unfortunately we only got to stay 1 night. The owner is amazing, meticulous and concientious. Free shuttle to town and back, free showers, free spas, free 24 hour Internet and beautiful sites. Easily the nicest place we've stayed in over 4 weeks of travel on both islands.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djay1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed there 2 nights - on 31st Dec and 1st of Jan - paying 180$ per night plus 50$ bank holiday surcharge. We traveled in 3 - we got a huge lodge - able to accommodate 7 if not 8 people - there were 3 bedrooms, 2 toilets, 1 bathroom with shower, huge parlour with terrace and views overlooking the mountains, big well equipped kitchen and dining room. We found this to be our best accommodation during our 3 week visit in NZ. We enjoyed our stay in Wanaka and we would have liked to extend our stay in Bayview Motel when we come to NZ next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Excellent value for 2 bedroom, self contained accommodation on the edge of Wanaka. Unit was a bit old but very comfortable and warm and cosy with a fireplace. Staff were great - very helpful and friendly. An added treat was the fire being set ready to light every evening when we returned from the snow.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCoastAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
295 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Excellent value for money and the fastest free wi-fi in our whole holiday. Lots of extras including meal vouchers for the local Mexican restaurant. Staff were friendly and the outlook from our 1 bedroom unit was spectacular. Our unit appeared to have been recently refurbished which added to the comfort. Heating was sufficient with additional portable heaters stored in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
1.9 mi away
Fairway Motel
Fairway Motel
#14 of 20 in Wanaka
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel Wanaka

Property: Bayview Motel Wanaka
Address: 263 Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality spacious and family friendly, units with modern amenities on extensive grounds, only 2 kms from Wanaka township with nearby fishing, skiing & tourist attractions. Qualmark 3 1/2 Star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bayview Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing