We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reliable no frills motel”

Bayview Motel Wanaka
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Motel Wanaka
Ranked #41 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good reliable no frills motel”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in a small studio apartment in the low season. This motel is ideal for those on a budget seeking a relatively quiet place to stay in Wanaka. The room included an OK double and single bed, basic TV channels and the shower was excellent. The room rate included free Wi-Fi, a free newspaper and a free courtesy shuttle into town. The motel is exactly 2.3 km from the Wanaka CBD, definitely walkable in 20-30 mins but there isn't a lot of street lighting if you attempt to walk home after dark. The motel staff (which was actually one person who seemed to do everything herself) were courteous, friendly and efficient. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid downstairs units if possible as there is some footfall noise from the units above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The units are older but they are tidy and clean and very comfortable. Great for the price we paid. Great views. The autumn colours were just amazing. Only a 25 min walk to the town centre. The weather was absolutely superb. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeCoalgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

fantastic views!!!! the first morning here we woke up and the sun was shining no snow and NO RAIN and a glorious view


olderstyle units but they were clean and comfortable added bonus of a real wood fire plenty of firewood provided great hosts and no rain!
2 bedrooms & kitchen & lounge

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChCh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Had a week staying here with 2 young children Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unit was incredibly clean and comfortable. Very quiet , great facilities and location. Will certainly be back - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familychch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We came across this place by just driving around and looking from the outside, so it was the 3rd place we looked at. We liked the fact that it was a bit out of the town so quiet and the views from the rooms were amazing. We had a spacious room with a separate bedroom and sitting room. Ok it had that typical chintzy look of NZ ("heritage") which looks old fashioned to europeans but it was very clean and fresh - definitely no chips! The hosts were very friendly and helpful and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Old smelt like a chip shop were shown 3 different units all the same looks totally different on the Internet and they are using Campervan rating for the motel! So bad we found alternative accommodation for the night rather than stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terribetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayviewwanaka, Manager at Bayview Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
We'd like to clarify that we most certainly do not advertise our motel under our campervan parks rating. We only advertise ratings awarded to the motel; our website, brochures and Qualmark certificate show this to be true. Also our photos are very accurate as the were only taken this summer. The original unit did have a cooking smell present and we apologise for this. Myself and a co-worker could not smell cooking odours at all in the other 2 rooms. We now have a deodorising machine to help us eliminate unpleasant odours in any units.
Management
Bayview Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Unfortunately we only got to stay 1 night. The owner is amazing, meticulous and concientious. Free shuttle to town and back, free showers, free spas, free 24 hour Internet and beautiful sites. Easily the nicest place we've stayed in over 4 weeks of travel on both islands.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djay1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.4 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 52 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel Wanaka

Property: Bayview Motel Wanaka
Address: 263 Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality spacious and family friendly, units with modern amenities on extensive grounds, only 2 kms from Wanaka township with nearby fishing, skiing & tourist attractions. Qualmark 3 1/2 Star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bayview Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing