We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I had read trip advisor first”

Bayview Motel Wanaka
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayview Motel Wanaka
Ranked #41 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wish I had read trip advisor first”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We booked into one of the Bayview Motel's Deluxe studio units for 5 nights and I think it was the same "disabled" unit reviewed by previous reviewers. In my opinion it doesn't live up to the name "deluxe".

We usually stay at another motel in Wanaka on our other skiing holidays here, and for $25 less for a studio unit with a kitchenette. But this year we thought we would pay $25 more thinking the Bayview Motel Deluxe unit would a little better than our usual motel for the extra cost. The kitchenette in our previous motel was better equipped than the full kitchen facilities in this deluxe unit - mismatched crockery and stained tea cups.

The room smelled stale or musty - this I put down to the motel being a little tired and in need of some refurbishment. Then I read a recent reviewer who said she complained about the leaking toilet - I then took note and yes each day the wet was slowly creeping from the outer wall to the middle of the toilet floor - this I drew to the staff's attention and if it is due to condensation which in NZ seems to be an ongoing problem in winter and hence I guess the musty smell, then it's understandable but hopefully it is still not a leak somewhere making the room quite musty. The shower spray is adequate but the controls are indeed difficult to manage and so you either boil or freeze until you manage to get it to a near satisfactory and bearable temperature.

There wasn't a decent wardrobe in this unit - it was a cupboard that housed the hot water system and doubles as your wardrobe as well - if you had brought nice clothes for an evening out you wouldn't want to hang it next to a hot water system. There is very little space to hang all ones winter gear and no hooks or other hanging space in the room - a mobile clothes hanger would be nice (something we have had in other disabled rooms). We stayed 5 nights so it was inconvenient not being able to hang our clothes up in a reasonable wardrobe.

There is no reduction in the nightly rate for staying 5 nights, therefore one would think for each day that we stayed our services should be the same as the previous, but no. We were told when requesting some more tea bags that the owner said not to replenish tea bags for people staying more than one night. This may be the norm for all motels, but for customer satisfaction and for the meagre price one would think tea bags could be replenished daily - but no you are given just what any other person who books just one night would receive.

The staff were always friendly and helpful.

Good points. Bed was comfortable enough - sheets are not crisp but clean. Towels were changed daily but beds are not made up daily. Good oil heaters and room was warm; free wi-fi and it was quiet on our stay. I think we may return to our "old" motel on our next trip.

Room Tip: Don't get the disabled unit if you have to pay the same price as the other deluxe studio units
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We choose this place because we were staying in nz for a long time and needed somewhere affordable. The place is tired but they do the very best with what they have and we were happy with that. What we hated was the shower.. Having a shower was terrible as the water pressure in the room we had (which was disabled unit ) was the worst I ever experienced! We asked to get it fixed and the plumber came out and replaced shower head... You had two options ..have a cold shower or burn! LOL! But really the people in this motel are the best we came across, if it were not for that blasted shower I would give it a 5 star...
Another issue our apartment had was the toilet leaked when u flushed it, but we didn't have the heart to complain about that as well so we just put towels on floor and ignored it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatAntCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Unfortunately we too experienced a horrible smell in our unit, and it detracted from our stay significantly. For the price it would have been acceptable if not for this, but I found myself dreading going back to the awaiting aroma.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsgalore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in a small studio apartment in the low season. This motel is ideal for those on a budget seeking a relatively quiet place to stay in Wanaka. The room included an OK double and single bed, basic TV channels and the shower was excellent. The room rate included free Wi-Fi, a free newspaper and a free courtesy shuttle into town. The motel is exactly 2.3 km from the Wanaka CBD, definitely walkable in 20-30 mins but there isn't a lot of street lighting if you attempt to walk home after dark. The motel staff (which was actually one person who seemed to do everything herself) were courteous, friendly and efficient. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid downstairs units if possible as there is some footfall noise from the units above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The units are older but they are tidy and clean and very comfortable. Great for the price we paid. Great views. The autumn colours were just amazing. Only a 25 min walk to the town centre. The weather was absolutely superb. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeCoalgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

fantastic views!!!! the first morning here we woke up and the sun was shining no snow and NO RAIN and a glorious view


olderstyle units but they were clean and comfortable added bonus of a real wood fire plenty of firewood provided great hosts and no rain!
2 bedrooms & kitchen & lounge

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChCh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Had a week staying here with 2 young children Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unit was incredibly clean and comfortable. Very quiet , great facilities and location. Will certainly be back - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familychch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.4 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 52 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel Wanaka

Property: Bayview Motel Wanaka
Address: 263 Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality spacious and family friendly, units with modern amenities on extensive grounds, only 2 kms from Wanaka township with nearby fishing, skiing & tourist attractions. Qualmark 3 1/2 Star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayview Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing