We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all we hoped for”

Bayview Motel Wanaka
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Motel Wanaka
Ranked #40 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2010

we stayed here 3 nights over Christmas and there was everything we wanted - quite quiet, space inside and outside, TV with DVDs to borrow, spa, and best of all lots of helpful and knowledgeable advice about walks and activities - so we avoided a potentially risky walk in rain but were advised to do a different one, and did a wonderful river safari by jet boat in good weather.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antrobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at the Bayview Motel...in fact, it was one of the best accommodations we had stayed at during our 10 day holiday on the South Island. We stayed at some luxurious/expensive accommodations during our stay and figured "what the heck let's try this one." Looks can be deceiving as we were more than happy with our small 2 bedroom flat. It is not posh at all, but rather definitely comfortable with furnishings and decor that reminded me of going to grandma's. The wireless internet left a bit to be desired as it didn't reach within our unit, but overall we found the experience to be fantastic. Great views of the mountains and the young, but experienced staff were extremely polite, helpful, and friendly. Located a short distance out of town (15-20 min walk at a decent pace) it is peaceful and provides all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

The customer service was exceptional and I really enjoyed the spa pool at the end of a long day exploring. Would highly recommend this motel which is ideal for couples and families. The staff gave us a ride into town for dinner and we got a meal voucher when we booked our accommodation. Perfect setting to unwind - peaceful and relaxing with great views.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQ0756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Cant really fault the unit we stayed in, clean & tidy throughout, everything worked, reception friendly enough.
But the buildings are crying out for maintenance, blistering or faded paintwork, weeds here and there, the shrubs need a serious trim, obscuring picture window views of Lake Wanaka, some footpaths are fully obscured by shrubs.
But the Grounds are great, plenty of room for kids to run around, well away from road traffic noise, great views.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnboyMosgiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

we stayed at Bayview Motel earlier this year and we thought the staff and facilities we great! The room was nice and cosy with great full kitchen facilities. We could un-wind with a relaxing spa, totally private and free of charge and then the staff dropped us into town for dinner in the courtesy coach! All of the added extras like free wireless internet and a meal voucher, made our stay in Wanaka totally enjoyable- we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

This property is on the outskirts of town but they do a free drop of in the evenings if you feel like a few drinks in town. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were tidy and clean.
Stunning views of the mountains!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We chose this motel for our winter visit to Cardrona skifields. It was certainly not the cheapest available, but the room with the fire looked cosy and we thought it would create a lovely atmosphere for our family holiday. We phoned the motel managers before we booked to check that there was ample heating and were assured there was. This was pure fabrication. The only heating was the one log fire in the loungeroom, and electric blankets on the beds. When we asked for an additional heater we were given a little bar heater which was very inadequate. When we asked for another heater we were treated rudely and refused, and eventually told that if we had two heaters it would blow the fuses. The end result was that our stay was miserably cold and not the good time we had hoped for at all. Talking to others we found we were not the only people to have felt so cold and been treated badly. The four stars are self-rated stars - in reality this is a 2.5 star at most. Check their testimonials and see how many are written in winter! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiierOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
368 reviews
4.3 mi away
Zula Lodge
Zula Lodge
#24 of 48 in Wanaka
57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 48 in Wanaka
364 reviews
0 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
0.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel Wanaka

Address: 263 Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £44 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality spacious and family friendly, units with modern amenities on extensive grounds, only 2 kms from Wanaka township with nearby fishing, skiing & tourist attractions. Qualmark 3 1/2 Star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayview Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing