We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, wonderful staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, wonderful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We were originally booked into this hotel for 1 night, and ended up staying for 5 nights. The first night was booked via the Information Centre and was for a room at the back of the resort. We then went to Mount Cook for a night, but asked before we left if we could return for 2 nights but this time for a room overlooking the lovely lake. Hayley at the Reception very kindly arranged just that so we had a 2nd floor room, with a balcony and a corner picture window with the most spectacular view. We kept to our plan and then moved on to Queenstown for what should have been 4 nights. However, we missed Wanaka and the Edgewater so much we only spent the 2 nights booked and called Hayley who actually managed to get us back into the same apartment for our last 2 nights in the South Island. This resort offers exactly what you want it to, lots of activities if that's your thing, or if you wish to relax and walk by the side of the lake then there can't be a better location than here. Only critiisism I have is that the Wi-fi provider Surfspot was very hit and miss, but this is not limited to this location but to every one that I used Surfspot in.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teresajnics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    246
    68
    19
    14
See reviews for
177
365
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We had planned out trip for Queenstown and at the last minute decided to switch to Wanaka due to a perception that it would be more restful and tranquil. We were right and we were right to book at the Edgewater.

We had a one bedroom suite with a garden/lake view (look hard to the right see the lake) it was clean and spacious. Not very fancy but well appointed and not showing signs of wear. The only potential drawback was the combination of no air conditioning and no screens. It has been a bit cool this summer in the area so it was not an issue, but it could be; however, from what I could tell ac is not all that easy to come across in the area.

The hotel has a fine restaurant with many more in town. A car is a must. Though one can walk to town and back, I wouldn't want to do it after dinner, too far.

Reception was cordial and staff couldn't be nicer. For a quiet private get away, this is an excellent choice. Want action and nightlife-find something in Queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moyaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Kia Ora moyaroo
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Edgewater.
You are right....Wanaka is a much more relaxed option to Queenstown.
As you may have found in New Zealand AC is not as prevalent as in other parts of the world. Wanaka tends to enjoy dry hot summers (not humid) but I acknowledge there are a few days in the summer when AC would be enjoyed. We do have pedestal fans in the wardrobe of the rooms.
Thanks once again and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in NZ.
Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Since we were winging it on our entire trip around New Zealand, we hadn’t planned on spending the night in Wanaka. However, the drive down the West Coast over the Haast Pass took a bit longer than expected because of the spectacular scenery. Our goal that day was Queenstown but since it was getting dark, we decided to call it a night, as we did not want to miss the views along the Crown Range Road via Cadrona.

Wanaka is a beautiful little town on a lovely lake. It has a feel of laid back, easy going that is intoxicating. We ended up acquiring lodging at Edgewater Resort as our other choices were all booked.

When we first walked in, I thought uh oh. The feeling of the resort is like that of a basic state park lodge in the states. Even the restaurant décor made it seem questionable that there would be good fare to be had. But, we were tired and the rate was fair for the night so we booked a room.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating during check-in. We requested a lake view room and were given room 104. We were pleasantly surprised with what greeted us. The room was clean, the décor reminded me a lot of the late 80s but the lake view was GORGEOUS! We were on the 2nd floor and our balcony overlooked the resort’s immaculate manicured lawn to uninterrupted views of the lake.

After settling in, we ventured down for dinner wary of how the food would be but we were too exhausted to go anywhere else. Thankfully, we didn’t let appearances sway us. Our meal at Sargoods Restaurant was one of the best we had in all of New Zealand. The food was EXCEPTIONAL and the wait staff was friendly and attentive. Our stay at Edgewater Resort ended up being the perfect ending to an amazing day.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Kia Ora lfisgd746

Thanks for taking the time to post your review on Edgewater in Lake Wanaka. You are right New Zealand is blessed with some great scenery.

It seems we 'grew' on you as you enjoyed our spacious rooms, staff and great meal. In fact we've just launched a new autumn (fall) menu this month (March).

I hope the rest of your trip in NZ went well and you shared some great times and photos with your friends at home.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Wanaka is our favourite place in New Zealand and Edgewater Resort has to be our place of choice to stay. The apartments are right on the lake and it is quiet and very peaceful.

The staff are very good and friendly and the food is acceptable if not first class.

The hotel is favoured by bus parties and this can become a bit too much.

The spa has been updated since our last trip and is a bit hidden away.

The rooms a very spacious and well appointed and ideal for an extended break.

We strongly recommend Edgewater Resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisterF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Dear Allister, thanks for your review. Great news that you enjoyed your time.

We are pleased we could share out great lakefront location with you.

Our spa pools are new and we hope in time to redevelop the spa area and add a few more amenities.

WIth thanks
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Our room was facing the lake..you could even walk out to the grass & lake. It was a great experience.

Food choice could be improved as the choice is limited & so could the TV channel choice for kids!

Free parking :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
Hi apbanerjee,

Thank you for your recent review of Edgewater. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the view, there is no doubt we have the best lakeside location in Wanaka!

I am sorry you felt our food choice was limited, but I am sure you found what you did have to be enjoyable! We are proud of the dishes we create from local produce and are often complimented on our delicious fare.

We will also be looking into your comments regarding children's channels.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you here again soon!

Kind regards,

Ellen Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Had a one bedroom unit downstairs overlooking the lake. Very clean and comfortable, quiet, great view, very peaceful. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Expensive but worth it as a wedding anniversary. Bit far to walk to town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjb185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
Hi cjb185,

Thank you for your recent review of Edgewater, we appreciate all your comments regarding your comfortable room, the views, and the peace you experienced while staying here. We hope to see you again soon as you are not far from Wanaka...in my own hometown - Invercargill!

Kind regards,

Ellen Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Pro:
- views of the lake and mountains are first class.
- rooms are nicely laid out and comfortable.

Con:
- pricey
- they say it is a 10 minute walk to town. it is more like double.
- they lost my reservation. luckily, i had confirmation and they were able to correct quickly.
- breakfast is very expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Brennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 19 December 2010
Dear P_Brennan,

Thank you for your recent review of Edgewater, we appreciate all feedback, whether it be glowing or whether it have some constructive criticism.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our lake and mountain views, we are the only hotel in Wanaka to offer such fantastic proximity to the lake with such stunning views. I am also glad you found the rooms comfortable, something we take pride in.

I am very sorry to hear that your reservation was lost, but glad our front of house staff managed to remedy the situation at once. As you can imagine with any computer systems there will always be minor glitches, however we are sorry that you had to experience it!

Your feedback on our room prices has been taken into account, and also your views on our breakfast pricing and options. As you can understand December in New Zealand is our absolute peak month, so prices are naturally a bit higher, just like most other hotels throughout the world during the Summer months.

One thing I will say however, is I am confused as to how you thought we were a 10 minute walk? On all of our collateral and materials we have specifically said we were a 20 minute walk from town and a five minute drive. I apologise if someone told you otherwise.

Thank you again for your review and we wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas!

Kind regards,

Ellen Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing