We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at the edge of lake Wanaka”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay at the edge of lake Wanaka”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My family and I enjoyed our one night stay at edgewater.. The view was great and amenities provided in the room more than what's expected in hotels.. We will come back and stay here again..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coast2CoastVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    255
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
186
380
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

right on the lake, with plenty of space, and easy 25 min walk to town centre. Well appointed suite with great outlook, although others in our group had rooms with limited views.. choose carefully. Breakfast a typical uninspiring buffet, but restaurant choice better and staff good. All season activities from cycling to skiing. Probably the best choice in Wanaka.

Room Tip: upper level, with view of lake or mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailingkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed your time here in Wanaka. All our rooms at Edgewater do have different aspects of either lake or mountain views. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spent 2 nights here between Fox & Queenstown. The location right on lake Wanaka really is something, especially if you get the right room. However, it's a good 30 minute walk to the centre of town and if you walk back in the dark it's not the easiest place to find, so take a taxi.

We had a one bedroom suite, number 116 which surely had to have one of the best views of the whole complex. There was only a footpath separating us from the lake. The suite was huge with a kitchenette, dining table, sofa and separate bedroom. Bathroom was a little dated, but it was great to have a washing machine/dryer at no extra charge.

Basis was room only, but we did eat dinner & lunch there one day. Food was excellent and all the staff hospitable, especially Hayley on reception, who gave us good advice about a local walk and arranged a taxi for us.

Don't miss the restaurant the White House in Wanaka, which serves delicious Greek food - menu changes daily.

Wanaka was one of our favourite places in New Zealand and we were lucky to see the autumn colours - out of this world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had a wonderful time in Wanaka and had the chance to enjoy a meal in our Wineglass Cafe. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Edgewater Resort is located right on lake Wanaka and the restaurant has lovely views across the water to the mountains beyond. We don’t normally choose hotel restaurants as they often seem somewhat sterile. However as the Edgewater was just a short walk from where we were staying and we were tired after a long day we decided to give it a go and we are very pleased that we did. The restaurant is spacious but has a warm feeling helped by the real log fire which was nice to sit by whilst our dinner order was being prepared – fish and chips perfectly cooked and served. The staff were all very pleasant, courteous and attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed dinner and returned the following day for brunch and to enjoy the wonderful view across the lake and once again the lovely log fire. Brunch did not go quite so smoothly as the kitchen prepared a lemon muffin when a salmon one had been ordered. This was realized by the staff before it was served – the muffins are freshly made and take 20 minutes – so rather than wait my wife had a cheese platter. The cheese was fine but the accompanying grapes were not which was politely pointed out when the restaurant supervisor asked if everything OK. Full marks to the staff for apologizing about the wrong muffin before it got to our table and for immediately and without any reservation acknowledging and apologizing for the problem with the grapes. In addition to the cheese platter a salmon muffin did appear which together with coffees were provided at no charge – the mistakes were very well handled and we enjoyed our brunch and left as satisfied customers. We would definitely recommend the Edgewater restaurant particularly for lunch or brunch when the view can be enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonekaurilodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of dining at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner and brunch and would recommend dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our restautrant again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Great resort right near the lake at Wanaka with easy 20 minute walk into township. Very relaxing with lots of water activities in summer and skiing in winter. The 2 bedroom villas are fully equipped and make for a very economical family holiday. Worthwhile visits - Puzzling World (not just for kids) and Toy & Transport Museum

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back and visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I had the good fortune of being in Wanaka for two nights, in truly gorgeous weather. The Edgewater Resort is located right on Lake Wanaka. The exterior landscaping is stunning, with large grassy grounds and beautiful ponds, which host all manner of wildlife, especially ducks and herons.
One can step off the Edgewater grounds at the lakefront and find lovely trails along the lake. It is only about a 15 minute stroll, right along the lakeside, to the center of Wanaka; walking in the other direction, one can enjoy sights of vineyards and the beautiful Ruby Island.
Breakfast and dinner at Edgewater were excellent.
We had a second floor room with a nice balcony overlooking a lovely pond and the lake itself. WiFi is available in your room for a fee. The vigorous Kiwis were forever racing their sailboats up and down the lake, a wonderful sight to watch from our balcony. Sunrise and sunset over the lake was also very special! The room was clean and fresh, if a bit small. No worries, we found spots for all of our luggage!
One activity we highly recommend is to kayak on Lake Wanaka. Simply walk into town. At about the center of the lakeshore there is a kayak rental kiosk, Wanakayaks. We rented a double and spent a most memorable afternoon kayaking to Ruby Island. We enjoyed the view of Edgewater from offshore, and then we headed to Ruby Island. We went ashore on the island at a little beach and relaxed with a tasty box lunch prepared by Edgewater. We hiked about the island, enjoyed unsurpassed views, and then reluctantly completed our kayak loop and returned to Wanakayaks’ kiosk. As an aside, Wanakayaks provided us with a cell phone for emergency use, and we were mightily impressed with this safety feature!
Wanaka is a terrific New Zealand destination, and we highly recommend Edgewater Resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star_Peepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had a wonderful time in Wanaka, enjoyed the actitvies that are on offer here and had would highly recommend staying at Edgewater.

We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Everytime when we stay in Wanaka we visit the restaurant. It is outstanding. Great atmosphere, very friendly and good service and of course the food is always fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Monika,

I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful meal at our restuarant when you stayed in Wanaka. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing