We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Big, spacious suites, with a kitchenette, washing machines , dryers etc.was a place which we were looking forward to stay in our self driven vacation of south new Zealand. We cooked a hearty Indian meal there and get all the clothes washed ourselves. This really helped we were on a month long self driven vacation. We loved the place, the food ... The stroll along side the lake in the greens was fun.The overall experience was overwhelming.

Room Tip: Pick suites overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    248
    68
    19
    14
See reviews for
178
366
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great facility.We had a great view of the lake, although a long walk to the spa and at -3degrees this puts one off going.Unfortunately the tiled floor at the spa was like walking on ice and the sauna was never on and took longer than we wanted to wait.On a few occasions there were no towels at the spa, so we then had to walk back to reception, who rang a person to bring towels over .The spas were lovely.The only other annoying thing was one had to walk to reception to organize a card for wifi.It was a little archaic with cards and even though I had paid for an hour it timed out at 40mins.
We had dinner at their restaurant a couple of times and it was really enjoyable.
Our room layout worked really for us a self contained unit and an adjoining room.We booked an apartment so assume that this is their layout for apartments.The beds were really comfy.
We never tired of the gorgeous view.
I had tried to book the accommodation myself through the Hotel, but didn't feel they cared too much for my business so I did it through a travel agent.
I would come again, for the view and the walk to town along the lake is wonderful.The room arrangement for our family of 2 adults and 4 adolescents was fantastic.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of lake but are far from the spa. Other rooms look to be close to the spa bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yak15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. We noted your comment about our sauna and have made amendments to our procedures to ensure that the facility is pre heated and stocked with towels in the afternoon, prior to the skiers returning from the mountain.

We looking forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajasthan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We arrived At this hotel on a sunny Day and The first look of it was amazing .. Its a resort located just on the banks of the lake and provides with beautifull views .

The room we stayyed was a suite which was very comfirtable with seaprate living area ..

The bathrooms even had a washing machine for convienence and a small kitchentte for general cooking ..

The reception staff was very cordial and overall a great expierence .. superb for calm and peacefull holiday .

Well located too just 2 minutes drive from main city center ..

must go

Room Tip: Take a ground level room so that you can walk staright to the gardens and to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pknrajasthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My family and I enjoyed our one night stay at edgewater.. The view was great and amenities provided in the room more than what's expected in hotels.. We will come back and stay here again..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coast2CoastVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

right on the lake, with plenty of space, and easy 25 min walk to town centre. Well appointed suite with great outlook, although others in our group had rooms with limited views.. choose carefully. Breakfast a typical uninspiring buffet, but restaurant choice better and staff good. All season activities from cycling to skiing. Probably the best choice in Wanaka.

Room Tip: upper level, with view of lake or mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailingkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed your time here in Wanaka. All our rooms at Edgewater do have different aspects of either lake or mountain views. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spent 2 nights here between Fox & Queenstown. The location right on lake Wanaka really is something, especially if you get the right room. However, it's a good 30 minute walk to the centre of town and if you walk back in the dark it's not the easiest place to find, so take a taxi.

We had a one bedroom suite, number 116 which surely had to have one of the best views of the whole complex. There was only a footpath separating us from the lake. The suite was huge with a kitchenette, dining table, sofa and separate bedroom. Bathroom was a little dated, but it was great to have a washing machine/dryer at no extra charge.

Basis was room only, but we did eat dinner & lunch there one day. Food was excellent and all the staff hospitable, especially Hayley on reception, who gave us good advice about a local walk and arranged a taxi for us.

Don't miss the restaurant the White House in Wanaka, which serves delicious Greek food - menu changes daily.

Wanaka was one of our favourite places in New Zealand and we were lucky to see the autumn colours - out of this world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had a wonderful time in Wanaka and had the chance to enjoy a meal in our Wineglass Cafe. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Edgewater Resort is located right on lake Wanaka and the restaurant has lovely views across the water to the mountains beyond. We don’t normally choose hotel restaurants as they often seem somewhat sterile. However as the Edgewater was just a short walk from where we were staying and we were tired after a long day we decided to give it a go and we are very pleased that we did. The restaurant is spacious but has a warm feeling helped by the real log fire which was nice to sit by whilst our dinner order was being prepared – fish and chips perfectly cooked and served. The staff were all very pleasant, courteous and attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed dinner and returned the following day for brunch and to enjoy the wonderful view across the lake and once again the lovely log fire. Brunch did not go quite so smoothly as the kitchen prepared a lemon muffin when a salmon one had been ordered. This was realized by the staff before it was served – the muffins are freshly made and take 20 minutes – so rather than wait my wife had a cheese platter. The cheese was fine but the accompanying grapes were not which was politely pointed out when the restaurant supervisor asked if everything OK. Full marks to the staff for apologizing about the wrong muffin before it got to our table and for immediately and without any reservation acknowledging and apologizing for the problem with the grapes. In addition to the cheese platter a salmon muffin did appear which together with coffees were provided at no charge – the mistakes were very well handled and we enjoyed our brunch and left as satisfied customers. We would definitely recommend the Edgewater restaurant particularly for lunch or brunch when the view can be enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonekaurilodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of dining at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner and brunch and would recommend dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our restautrant again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
1.0 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing