We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lakeside location”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay in this lovely hotel the rooms are well equipped and spacious with all amenities catered for, brilliant breakfasts and superb views of the lake highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolopom0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had another enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have stayed at the Edgewater Resort seven times over the last 10 years and there is nothing to beat it. We have been fortunate to stay in the same suite each time (after requesting it). The position of the hotel is outstanding and the views magnificent. The staff are always pleased to see us and make us very welcome, bit like second home. Wanaka and surrounding areas are incredible with unbeatable scenery. We would recommend this very hoghly.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusheyHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had another very enjoyable stay with us and feel like it is a second home. We look forward to welcoming you back for your eighth stay with us.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My hubby and I stayed here in April for 2 nights to have time away from the kids. This was the part of our trip that I was mostly looking forward to. Edgewater did not disappoint!! The views are absolutely stunning. I booked us a "Romantic Escape" package. It was so worth the money! The view from our one bedroom suite was just awesome. It had it's own kitchen (with dishwasher) washer and dryer, lounge and comfy king bed. Included in the price was champers and chocolates on arrival, a three course dinner in the Wineglass Cafe, which was 5 Stars the whole way. The food and service was superb. A full buffet breakfast for each morning was also included. We could not fault the accomodation, food, service or anything at all about this place. We travel quite a lot with and without our children. This place really impressed us. Do yourself a favour and stay here - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: If it's just the two of you book the Romantic Escape package, you get a room with some of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you and your husband had such a wonderful and relaxing time. We look forward to welcoming you (and your children) back to Edgewater one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Big, spacious suites, with a kitchenette, washing machines , dryers etc.was a place which we were looking forward to stay in our self driven vacation of south new Zealand. We cooked a hearty Indian meal there and get all the clothes washed ourselves. This really helped we were on a month long self driven vacation. We loved the place, the food ... The stroll along side the lake in the greens was fun.The overall experience was overwhelming.

Room Tip: Pick suites overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great facility.We had a great view of the lake, although a long walk to the spa and at -3degrees this puts one off going.Unfortunately the tiled floor at the spa was like walking on ice and the sauna was never on and took longer than we wanted to wait.On a few occasions there were no towels at the spa, so we then had to walk back to reception, who rang a person to bring towels over .The spas were lovely.The only other annoying thing was one had to walk to reception to organize a card for wifi.It was a little archaic with cards and even though I had paid for an hour it timed out at 40mins.
We had dinner at their restaurant a couple of times and it was really enjoyable.
Our room layout worked really for us a self contained unit and an adjoining room.We booked an apartment so assume that this is their layout for apartments.The beds were really comfy.
We never tired of the gorgeous view.
I had tried to book the accommodation myself through the Hotel, but didn't feel they cared too much for my business so I did it through a travel agent.
I would come again, for the view and the walk to town along the lake is wonderful.The room arrangement for our family of 2 adults and 4 adolescents was fantastic.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of lake but are far from the spa. Other rooms look to be close to the spa bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yak15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. We noted your comment about our sauna and have made amendments to our procedures to ensure that the facility is pre heated and stocked with towels in the afternoon, prior to the skiers returning from the mountain.

We looking forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We arrived At this hotel on a sunny Day and The first look of it was amazing .. Its a resort located just on the banks of the lake and provides with beautifull views .

The room we stayyed was a suite which was very comfirtable with seaprate living area ..

The bathrooms even had a washing machine for convienence and a small kitchentte for general cooking ..

The reception staff was very cordial and overall a great expierence .. superb for calm and peacefull holiday .

Well located too just 2 minutes drive from main city center ..

must go

Room Tip: Take a ground level room so that you can walk staright to the gardens and to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pknrajasthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My family and I enjoyed our one night stay at edgewater.. The view was great and amenities provided in the room more than what's expected in hotels.. We will come back and stay here again..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coast2CoastVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £108 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing