We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit was even better than the first!”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Second visit was even better than the first!”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed at Edgewater last year and I really loved it. I found the hotel to be very beautiful, the view of the lake from your room when you step out on the balcony is amazing and the staff were very nice and friendly.

I returned to Wanaka again this year and Edgewater was the only place I wanted to stay at. I'd called and made a booking with Fiona; and I knew I was getting a good rate however, what I was not aware of, is the room they'd booked for me.

So, I arrived, grabbed the keys and went to the room and I was stunned when I walked in. It was a suite - the lounge had two comfy couches, a coffee table and flat screen TV on the wall; there was a fully equipped kitchen with cutlery, pots, a microwave so basically everything you need to prep a meal. There was also a flat screen TV in the bedroom and you had a washing machine in the bathroom. The best part for me was the area in the corner of the lounge. It overlooked the street, had cushions and was literally perfect to sit back and relax while reading my book.

Everyone was so nice as usual, especially Zuzana and Fiona. George was also up for a chat as well.

Edgewater is truly a great place to stay at - it's got tennis courts, a spa, you can hire kayaks and mountain bikes which come from Racers Edge as well so that's pretty good.

I miss my room already and I can't wait to return, hopefully next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Kevin S,

We're thrilled you had such a great stay.

It sounds like Fiona provided you with a suite room so that is great and pleased Zuzana and George were their usual friendly selves.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Please feel free to book online or make contact with Fiona and the reservations team to confirm your requirements.

KInd regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    256
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
190
388
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed here last week. Found the resort unit nice, spacious, clean, great view of the lake and very friendly staff. Food outstanding, and walking in robes to the lake's edge was luxury! We would recommend it to anyone who needs some r & r on a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Dikje

Great to year you enjoyed your stay with us. The lake front location is pretty special and we're pleased you enjoyed our friendly team.

We look forward to providing some R & R for your next visit.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel has a great location by the water, it is a very relaxed place to visit with friendly staff. The booking of the room was easy to do from afar, then when we arrived check in was very fast and efficient. Although no swimming pool there was enough facilities around to keep children happy for our 6 night stay.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear John,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Edgewater.

We try and make our booking process efficient.

We hope the family had the opportunity to try the lakefront -for a swim, tennis courts, and spa/sauna. Depending on their ages perhaps the mountain bike or kayak hire on site or the free childrens' playground. Sounds like they may have during your 6 night stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards, Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

there's something about being directly on the lakefront which is extra special - I mean being able to walk out of your front door and over the grass into the lake for a swim. As the other reviews say this hotel is in a sweet spot, away from the crowds and protected from the breeze. A little update on the inside (isn't 70's look chic at the moment - a few smart cushions and an upgrade of the cooking facitities would do it) would make this a 5 star stay. We will come again though, our room was spacious and we left relaxed and happy from our 2 night R&R after walking the Milford track. Oh and please upgrade your barbeques, a BBQ on the terrace is a great treat here.

Room Tip: make sure you have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Helen

We're pleased you enjoyed your well deserved R & R at Edgewater after walking the beautiful Milford Track.

Edgewater is a glorious spot and the proximity to the lake provides a tranquil environment.

Your idea about the BBQ is good as are your suggestions on the interiors. We do strive to keep the rooms appearance up to date as much as possible.

KInd regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed in rooms 515 and 516 which were interconnecting and had the most amazingly beautiful views. While the washing machine worked the dryer in the combined machine didn't. The staff could not have gone to more trouble to apologise and took our laundry down to a shared facility to dry it. Also, the wi-fi didn't work but I understand this was caused by a NZ wide problem with the vodafone network. Again the staff were apologetic. Frankly though, nothing could dampen our rating for this hotel. It was just beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Lisa K

We're pleased you had a great time at Edgewater.

Again we do apologise about the inconvenience regarding the dry but very pleased the staff assisted in getting your laundry dry.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We got off to a bad start at the Edgewater. We arrived at 4:30 pm and our room wasn't ready. I needed to use wi-fi and had to buy an expensive card to get spotty, interrupted service. The room was spacious but lacked charm. The view, however, was spectacular and the long walk to town was quite beautiful. What we did enjoy about the Edgewater was the bar restaurant. Nice atmosphere, attentive staff and a very tasty meal.

Room Tip: make sure you book an upstairs room, much more private!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bickles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Bickles 27

In response your message we've made some preliminary investigations with regards to your comment about our room readiness and wi-fi.

It is difficult for us to investigate this thoroughly as we don't know your booking details, such as the name the room was booked under and the date(s) you stayed.

If you would like to revert these directly to myself on email (bd@edgewater.co.nz) I would be able to find out more information.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with my parents in law in adjoining rooms/suite. The rooms were certainly comfortable and spacious and the views from the balconies were lovely. The hotel is in a great location on the lakeside, with easy walks straight from the front door, but it's a couple of kilometres to the town centre (not a problem for us, but you can't just pop into town unless you have a car or bike).
We had chosen Edgewater because there was a choice of B&B (plus restaurant) or self catering. My in-laws were keen to self cater and we found that the kitchen facilities, while clean and in good condition, really didn't allow for any proper cooking. There was a microwave and small hob, but not many of the accessories that you really need for cooking (eg no sharp knife, only a bread knife). We managed OK, but it wouldn't be any good for people anticipating cooking meals from scratch. There was a washing machine in our bathroom though, which was very handy and was restocked with washing powder daily.
We didn't try the restaurant, but my in-laws had one breakfast there and felt that it was not good value for money. My husband was unimpressed at having to pay for Wifi (other hotels and B&B's on our trip provided it free).
The housekeeping team seemed pretty efficient, although they did seem to come to clean quite early, so that we were still eating breakfast on most days. I thought this was a bit odd in a holiday hotel (rather than a business hotel, when guests have usually left quite early).
Overall we had a pleasant comfortable stay, and there wasn't any serious fault in the service or accommodation. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are either at ground level, with access straight onto the lawns, or one floor up with balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Anntheartist

Thanks for your very extensive review.

We are pleased to be able to provide flexiblity in our services and facilities to suit travelling parties such as yours, including the various needs of your parents in law.

We are looking very extensively at our wi-fi situation. The first 15mins is free and there is a computer at the reception area that is 'hard-wired' to the internet. Notwithstanding this we are looking at various options to meet the fast changing needs of our guests in this regard.

With regards to the cooking facilities we advertise the suites and two-bedroom apartments as having 'kitchenettes" as opposed to full scale kitchens. However in this instance I am sure reception would have assisted with any particular needs you may have had - such as additional knives. We are sorry for any inconvenience in this regard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing