We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but overpriced”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Room was huge and clean but feel really old and not cosy.
Breakfast buffet was good with a decent variety of food.
Location is good with a nice view of the lake even if a bit far away for the center city.
As, we just stayed there for one night, we cannot judge about facilities, activities or services.
Globally, there is nothing much to complain about this motel but it is definitively a bit overpriced. You would expect a much more modern room as this hotel is far from cheap. We had equivalent room in other places of NZ (with also great location) for 40% of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Jonathan,

We appreciate your feedback and it is unfortunate you believed we were overpriced.

It would be interesting to know the manner of booking with us? We do offer various packages and offers on our website which provide very good value for money.

For example, at the moment we have $1 room specials which must be bought in conjunction with a second night ($210). To that is $105.50 per night!

We hope you enjoyed your brief time in Wanaka and your travels around the rest of New Zealand.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

Top spot the seat on the hill in front of the bar has got to be one of the best places to sit and have a drink and soak up the view.
Top service staff were very freindly and welcoming.
Top food Restraunt food was very nice.
We stayed for a freinds which was at the hotel, If you are thinking about having it as a venue then just do it the reception was perfect.
Overall one of the best properties I have stayed at for a while, and I stay at alot 45 to 60 mights a year.
We will be back

Room Tip: We Booked a one bedroom suite would recomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Kia Ora Herbie

So pleased you had a great time at Edgewater, especially soaking up the view from the Wineglass Cafe, overlooking the lake.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater in the future.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in April 2013 for a friends wedding. The location of the property was second to none. The gardens are well maintained and the bar runs onto these with nice views.

The rooms weren't the most modern but clean and useable.

The only let down was a small one, the breakfast was so what fast food and made for quantity not quality.

The wedding was beautiful and the location was perfect

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Kia Ora Aussie

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about Edgewater. It sounds like you enjoyed your friend's wedding.

I'll discuss your comments about the breakfast with our management team. I am sorry it was a let down for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

stunning view, clean rooms. Excellent sleep. Well maintained grounds. Friendly staff. Happy to come back again.
No mini bar. esy enough to find outside of CBD


Swimming pool and fitness centre not used or enquired about.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lake are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Hi Annette,

Great news that you had such an excellent sleep. Edgewater is set near to the lake and so this helps the tranquility and quiet atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is a good walk outside town. The rooms are large and clean but have a 70's motel feel about them. Breakfast was mediocre compared to some of the smaller guesthouses and larger boutique hotels we stayed in. We were independent travellers and this place is definately geared up for large coach parties. Not a major issue for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salverlaterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Kia ora

Thanks for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Edgewater. Edgewater is located about 20 minutes stroll from the heart of Wanaka through the tree-lined walkway around the shore line of Lake Wanaka.

You are quite right….we are not a guest house or boutique hotel so it is understandable your experiences were different.

Whilst your impression was as a group hotel we actually have a diverse range of guests. Increasingly more and more independent leisure guests. We also host many weddings in during the spring/summer and autumn, along with business guests as part of conferences and meetings.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Wanaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This 4+ star hotel is situated right on the edge of the lake just out of town.The huge 1 bedroom suite we stayed in had a fantastic view of the lake and the mountains and we purchased it on a special deal of second night for $1!
The staff are so friendly especially Hayley and nothing is a problem
The bar and restaurant look great and there is a great terrace area.
There are walking tracks and plenty of activities
This hotel is a real find in a beautiful part of New Zealand!

Room Tip: ask for lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchie0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Hi Frenchie

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

Pleased you managed to grab our second night $1 special!

We appreciate your great feedback.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Edgewater for one night on our drive up the west coast of NZ. It was reserved by the iSite office in Wanaka - when we mentioned we wanted a quiet room with a view. It was exactly that! The Edgewater is about 15-20 minutes walk from the centre of the town along the lake path.
The room and view was exactly as pictured in the pamphlet. Very clean and comfortable room.
We had a late lunch in the restaurant and sat on the outside patio - which we also enjoyed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 - a hotel/studio room at the end of the buildings (upstairs). Very quiet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Face1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Kia Ora

Great news that our local i-SITE matched your needs and sent you to Edgewater. The lakefront location and spacious setting is special.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand and perhaps, one day, we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
20.6 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort Cromwell
1.6 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £101 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing