We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edgewater
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cardrona Hotel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wanaka Luxury Apartments(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
481
287
88
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
287
88
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom suiteduck pondtennis courtslake edgebuffet breakfastwalking trackwasher dryerstunning locationwalk into townfirst floornew zealandthe ground floorliving areagreat roomsouth islandcomfy bedfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Beautiful location, good service, rooms are small and not set up for doing any work for those of us compelled to do some work while on holiday - ie little room for working on laptop, what space there is sits in front of large mirror - when you are in a place like this I would far rather observe the view then my reflection. The real surprise is that the hotel has no Internet. They have instead outsourced to a local company to provide very limited and restricted access that you pay exorbitantly for by the hour. We have come to wanaka every year for conference, this is the first time we have actually stayed at the hotel, and we will not stay again. For the same price you can get Very Well Appointed houses with free unlimited Internet access. Furthermore, in your own accommodation you dont have to share laundry facilities (or pay extra to use) with 50 other people so that doing laundry becomes a 12hour exercise of waiting your turn, checking who has jumped the queue etc ( discovered upon emptying the dryer - just the one that they have) it was full of staff uniforms and tea towels. We just thought this year to treat ourselves - how very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Kia Ora from Edgewater,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

As you may appreciate, by our location on the lakefront, and within Wanaka, that the hotel and room design was generally for leisure guests in a pre-internet age.

It is a shame that work needs to come with you but a sign of the modern times! Connectivity is very important to us all now.

I am pleased to say we are poised on full wireless, free interest access at Edgewater. There have been quite a few technical details to take into consideration but we have made some tangible advances.

Perhaps an option for the future may be our suite or apartment style room as these both offer a kitchenette and importantly for you an in-room washing machine and dryer. You can also enjoy our location and good service from our staff and we appreciate your comments in that regard.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We've been staying at the Edgewater at least once a year over the last 5 to 6 years. Always make a mental note to look for an alternative but end up at Edgewater. Why? Excellent lakefront location within walking distance to town.

Property is a little tired but suits the needs of family and this is made up for by an efficient housekeeping team. The reception staff do not recognize repeat visitors and have no qualms subtly letting you know that your five nights is insignificant compared to even longer staying guests.

Hotel has great potential...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAR_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Kia Ora from Edgewater

Thanks for taking time to provide us with your feedback.

You make a good point about recognising our many repeat guests and I am sorry on this occasion it seems we may have not recognised your many past visits. We know guest history from the name the booking is made under and/or guests’ home address. So this information needs to match exactly to identify a repeat stay.

At the time of your stay the property was extremely busy. Nevertheless we aimed to have your two rooms located near to each other. We trust you enjoyed one of your rooms being upgraded to a suite room type which was part of trying to place you near to each other. As it happened, there was a guest who was staying for a month nearby hence the reason why we were unable to situate your rooms exactly side by side.

We value all our guest visits, whether they stay for one night, five nights or a month. I am sorry on this occasion you felt less valued because we worked very hard to cater for your specific needs.

Thanks for your kind words about our housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Edgewater and to enjoy our lakefront location and family friendly facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were an extended family group looking for a quiet place where we could relax, entertain a 2 year old, go walking, ski and enjoy the views of the lake. We had 2 x 2 bedroom units and were 6 adults and a toddler. We used the kitchenette facilities to prepare some of our own food and ate at the restaurant some evenings. We could have used some storage for our food and a few more kitchen utensils but these are minor quibbles.Bedrooms and common area in each unit was spacious with plenty of recreation room. Staff came daily and emptied rubbish, made beds and replenished toiletries and were really helpful. An incorrect discounted rate was quoted but held despite the mistake, which we very much appreciated. Nothing but positives for this excellent facility. All in all, it was the perfect spot for our holiday

Room Tip: close to the lake was a great place to be to enjoy the ducks which came to the apartment each day. Opening the drapes each morning to the pink skies through the trees was magical.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hi there Travel Junkie

Sounds like you had a great time with your friends and 2 year old on holiday. I am sure the ducks provided hours of amusement for the small toddler.

I can imagine the kitchenette in the apartments may have been a little busy, with the various needs you had, especially catering for both the toddler and adult requirements.

Pleased you enjoyed your family time at Edgewater and we look forward to welcoming you back again next holidays.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was booked into the Edgewater by Southern Lakes Heli Ski for six nights. The hotel staff were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I had a lovely view over the lake. Breakfast was quite satisfactory without being wildly exciting: I was please when they changed from scrambled to eggs to order! The dinner menu was quite clever with a choice between light mains and full mains, some being just smaller servings. The food was well prepared and presented and the wait staff very friendly and attentive. The only real complaint was the Internet for which one had to purchase scratch cards. It was very slow and expensive. Better to go to Cafe Gusto in town and use their free service.

Room Tip: Ask for lake views and go elsewhere for internet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

HI Hamish

I hope you enjoyed your heli-ski holiday in Wanaka.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater. Appreciate your comments about the team.

I am pleased to say that we're actively in discussions with a provider regarding quality wi-fi throughout (and no scratch cards!) and hopefully this will all be in place when you next visit.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I booked for 4 nights via a special deal with a fantastic rate and inclusions such as breakfast, wifi, spa, sauna and free use of other facilities. The staff were all friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was amazing - almost a suite with a separate bedroom/ bathroom area and a lounge as well as a kitchenette. The view from the balcony of the lake was gorgeous. The breakfast buffet had variety and everything tasted great. We ate one dinner in the restaurant which was delicious topped off with a local wine. All in all a fantastic place to stay and you'd be hard pressed to find a better hotel in Wanaka (although a deal is the way to go to save money). Only a short walk to the township of Wanaka. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but building 4 is near reception and was a little bit noisy as people coming and going.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Toomco

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We're pleased you enjoyed our dining options and our spacious suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to soak up the fabulous views.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews