We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great location, friendly service, unit was very spacious with great kitchen and dining area, sitting room, washing machine and dryer included. Didn't eat at the restaurant but the coffee was good and the menu looked great. Would book in here again, thanks.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor with lake views - great facilities in rooms and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frieda1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Frieda,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

We're pleased you had such a nice time. It sounds like you stayed in one of our suites which offers great amenities, including the kitchenette and washer/drier - the latter being particularly handy on a holiday!

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Edgewater. Hopefully you'll have time to try more than just coffee in the Wineglass cafe. We change our menus each season', so there is always something to look forward to.

Regards
Trish

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    259
    73
    20
    14
See reviews for
195
390
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

What better location than on the lake edge! Our room had a perfect view, was clean and comfy with a good selection of teas & coffee. Bar / Café area very pleasant setting with an open fire place and that great lake view. Staff were friendly and helpful, with plenty of information about what to do in the area. A nice easy walking distance to the town centre which encouraged you to get out there and see the surroundings. We will definitely be visiting and staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-Flyer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi Kiwi Flyer

Thanks for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Wineglass Cafe, with its roaring fire and lake view is a nice spot, and you also enjoyed our lakefront walk to heart of Wanaka.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at Edgewater for 4 nights as part of a skiing/wine touring holiday. On the plus side - reasonably priced, close to the ski fields, the room was clean, big, had reasonable kitchen facilities (hot plates, small fridge, microwave) and had a laundry in the 1 bedroom suite. Nice walk into town (15 minutes) around the lake. Less good - older style, quite a lot of overhead noise in the downstairs unit.

Room Tip: Go for a 1bedroom, upstairs room for space and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DailyTravelsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Julie

Great to have you stay with us and sounds like you enjoyed the ski/wine combo.

I am sorry about the overhead noise you experienced.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Trish

P. S. Spring skiing is great at present!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here in August 2013, and thought the hotel was fine...and the location spectacular. The hotel has a bit of a "ski lodge" feel to it -- a central building with restaurant, reception, etc., and the rooms are more like condos in adjacent buildings. We found the staff to be friendly and knowledgeable (especially the concierge). And while we had read previous reviews complaining about the restaurant, we didn't find that to be the case. Our dinner and dessert were wonderful, and the restaurant has a nice selection of regional wines (and some really nice Otago pinot noirs). It is a few minutes from downtown Wanaka, and the walk along the lakefront path takes the better part of half an hour (and we walk at a brisk pace). But the views of the snowcapped mountains and the lake are worth the walk. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWolfeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

It is a great location and I'm pleased you enjoyed the Wineglass Cafe. We appreciate you comments about our concierge, George. He brings a wealth of information about our area.

As you would have realised we're still enjoying the ski season in Wanaka hence the ski lodge feel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location is great. The view of the lake any time of the day is wonderful. However, maybe you can find that in other hotels as well. My concern is the room. Although it is spacious, it really is just OK..considering the price. A little renovation wouldn't hurt. :) so next time, maybe I'll look for other hotels in the area.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank symphony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Kia ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions of Edgewater.

The location is very special and unique within Wanaka, offering uninterrupted access to the lakefront.

We aim to refurbish regularly and trust that by the time you come back to Wanaka we will have completed our next round of refurbishments.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We decided to spend a night at the Edgewater en route Queenstown while on our honeymoon. This hotel has an excellent location but apart from that there is really nothing on offer. To our surprise, even though they were well aware that we were on our honeymoon, the hotel didn't even have the basic courtesy to at least put in a small card in our room (what to talk of a bottle of sparkling wine or champagne) to congratulate us (not saying that its mandatory but that's the least they could have done just to make the guest feel special, as we had stayed in some of the finest properties in NZ prior and afterwards like the Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments in Queenstown and they ensured we were made to feel special).

Secondly, the food. We had ordered lamb chops just cse the menu had about 8 dishes and you cant go wrong with lamb chops, they r that standard. But to our surprise, the food was so bad that we actually left the meal midway and drove to the nearest Subway outlet in the heart of town and had our dinner there.

It gets better. The next day we got up a lil late as we had been driving the previous night and were curtly told we had to vacate the room by 11 otw extra charges apply! I mean cmon people, youre not running a shady bed and breakfast that you have to be that rigid with guests, come over to India some day and stay in a 3 star property and ull see what true luxury really means. (deliberately mentioned 3 star cse u wont b able to handle the pampering and luxury ull be showered with in a 5 or 7 star property).

Be that as it may, Wanaka and NZ as a whole are absolutely stunning and all other 5 star properties in the Country offer reasonable comfort and luxury, but this hotel should actually be rebuilt and the staff should be sent to other parts of the world for some real hospitality training.

Wouldn't advise anyone to stay at this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raj212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Kia Ora
Further to your review we’ve analysed all our guest stays during March and unfortunately, without further detail, we are unable to identify your visit and thus investigate details further to more fully respond.

However I can confirm that during the month of March our review showed that we had no guests from India where we knew those guests were on their honeymoons. But again, without specific detail (such as the origin of your booking) we are unable to check further as to the manner of how we might have been aware of your particular honeymoon visit.

We presume you ordered Cardrona Valley Merino Lamb Shank, not lamb chops as the Shank was the only lamb item on the menu in March. We are sorry this was not to your taste.
On occasion we may be able to extend our check out time beyond 11am, with prior arrangement, so guests can enjoy their time at Edgewater.

It is unfortunate that we were unable to meet up to your expectations during your stay in March. Edgewater holds a 4 star hotel grade from independent agency Qualmark New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Really disappointed. Photos are misleading - the hotel is 3 star at best and needs a complete renovation to bring it out of the 1980's. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbours, the "kitchenette" consists of a hot plate and a bar fridge, and our room had a really bad odour and smelled like the cleaners kept trying to mask it with products. The hotel had a conference during our stay with a band playing late at night which was ludicrously loud - we ended up switching rooms in the end. We come to Wanaka every year but will be finding another place next time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mezz

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay and hope that your experience won’t deter you from continuing to enjoy Wanaka in the future.

As you mentioned you did change rooms which we were very happy to offer to you in the circumstances, though the two piece musical group and vocalist played from 9.30pm until only 11pm for the conference guests who happened to be in house at the same time as yourselves.

We are at pains to ensure that any of our hotel photography is an accurate representation of our rooms. We don’t embellish in any manner other than by using items that are readily available in that particular room type.

The suite and apartment rooms are, you rightly point out equipped with a “kitchenette”. However you may have overlooked the other items in the kitchenette such as the microwave, pots, pans, cutlery, crockery and glass wear. There are limited items of each for guests’ conveniences and we are very clear that the facilities are ‘kitchenette style’ not a full kitchen.

The property holds a four star grading awarded by the national accreditation organisation, Qualmark New Zealand. We undertake regular and rigorous appraisals based on their exhaustive criteria to achieve this nationally recognised standard.

Unfortunately we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion, despite our efforts in changing your room and the offer of a compensatory complimentary dinner for your inconvenience.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing