We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edgewater
Nearby Hotels
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardrona Hotel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka Luxury Apartments(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Distinction Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manuka Crescent Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
482
287
88
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
287
88
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom suiteduck pondtennis courtslake edgebuffet breakfastwalking trackwasher dryerstunning locationwalk into townfirst floornew zealandthe ground floorliving areagreat roomsouth islandcomfy bedfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were amazingly lucky to be offered Edgewater on a 'Special' by the i (tourist information). Parking was easy, Reception was very helpful and the suite of rooms was one of the best we have had in 7 years of travelling (bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette (well equiped), living/dinning area (2 sofas, dinning table), opening onto small patio). Moreover, the position - on the shore of the Lake and the views, over the Lake, were superb not only to look out to in the evening but to awake to in the morning. Sadly, the internet was not straightforward and free access was limited to 15 minutes; why do hotels sillily impose restrictions on this essential requirement. In sum, therefore, for the price we paid in NZ, the accommodation was exceptional and thank you to the lady in the 'i'.

Room Tip: Room 105 - Beautiful suite with superb views of the lake. Parking very near.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Kia Ora

We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations from your time at Edgewater.

The spacious layout, guest rooms and lakefront location are great assets for the property. We are pleased you enjoyed them.

A solution to the internet issue is well underway, however there are a few technical challenges in our location. Be assured we are working towards a solution.

Thanks once again,

Regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

the hotel consists of several two story buildings with units up and down. \it is situated right on the lakeshore, with some units having a complete and unobstructed view over the lake, and others offering lake views obstructed to a greater or lesser degree by other building units. Unfortunately, our was one of the most view obstructed units, but still very pleasant. From our travels, it would appear that bookings made at discount rates through this and other web sites result in being offered the least attractive rooms available in that class, while the hotel saves the best for direct (and higher priced) bookings. we can't prove this, but it has been our experience so far everywhere that we have booked that we do not get the best location, even when better room appear to be available.

Having said that, our room was very nice, and the hotel facilities are extensive. We do have two complaints: 1. for a premium price booking it seems poor service to charge for internet access, and then to limit the data transfer offered also. by comparison, we last stayed in a "holiday park" motel style room, which was equal in every way to the room here, paid less than half the price, and were offered free unrestricted internet. 2. We were unfortunate to have rain during our stay and looked forward to using the spa/sauna facilities. the day we arrive we were told they were closed for maintenance, but would be open the following day. When we went over the following day they were still closed and maintenance had not been done, which was disappointing, as this feature was a factor in our choice of this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, call the hotel directly to request a unit with an unobstructed view of the lake and mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Kia Ora

We appreciate your feedback on your visit at Edgewater.

The internet is under active review at the moment so that we can offer our guests free, wi-fi access throughout the hotel. As often the case with technical matters, it is not quite a straight forward solution. However we are working actively on this.

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to use the spa/sauna facilities. As you would understand, from time to time they do need maintenance attention, however it is unfortunate that the facility wasn't open the next day.

You may have noticed that we have recently added a day spa/beauty service at Edgewater. So perhaps that may be an option on your next visit.

With regards to room allocation we aim to treat all our guest fairly, no matter how they booked us. Generally allocation is based on a variety of factors such as type of room requested (we have three different room types), the desire for the traveling party or group to be accommodated near each other, when the booking was made and simply availability on any given night. We do aim to accommodate guest requests as much as possible.

Regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Situated on the edge of the lake, waking up each morning was a pleasure. It is so quiet and peaceful, but minutes away from the town centre.
The rooms are huge with cooking and washing facilities if you are there for a longer stay.
The staff are helpful and offer advice on local attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NapierAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Kia Ora

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

It is often the case that guests enjoy some of their most restful nights at Edgewater, due to the quietness and peacefulness you experienced.

Edgewater is located on the edge of Wanaka, and edge of Lake Wanaka. We do have an easy access walkway from the hotel to the heart of Wanaka, taking about 15 minutes.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here in August and I must admit it is one of the most stunning locations a resort could have. Truly amazing views of Lake Wanaka.

The hotel itself could do with a lot of improvements. The rooms are fine, spacious and comfortable and for the most part self-contained. If you get one with a view across the lake then it is pretty special. The housekeeping was terrible. Each day the standard seemed to get worse and worse. The floor was not vacuumed and the hotel encourages you to separate your recycling from your garbage, but these were rarely emptied.

We were pretty diligent with our washing up and only ever left a couple of small things which were always left dirty and in the sink by the staff. A few utensils were missing which at times was annoying.

Another major concern I have about this place is the appalling internet/wifi set up they have. One must buy a scratch card valued at $45/week, there are other options which are all as ridiculously costly. In this day and age I would expect at $45/week you would get a flawless service but it is riddled with problems. At times the wifi was down all night. As someone who does a lot of work on the net this was a severe let down. To me this was the biggest drawback and something the Edgewater needs address asap.

All in all a pleasant stay but with a few improvements this place could be absolutely incredible, however, currently it is lacking.

Room Tip: A Lake view is a must
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us.

You are quite right about the internet. It is under active attention to be replaced to ensure that guests can easily access wi-fi free. This is posing some technical challenges which are taking time to be overcome.

With regard to your housekeeping comments we did an initial investigation, based on the limited information we gathered from your review. Unfortunately we were unable to pin-point more details and thus investigate further. We could investigate these further if you wished to provide a little more detail. You can email bd@edgewater.co.nz or housekeeping@edgewater.co.nz with details.

Regards
Trish

Regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We ended up staying at the Edgewater at the last minute as Haast pass was closed due to the landslide. We were originally travelling directly from Queenstown to Franz Josef.
The reception staff at the Edgewater were so welcoming and helpful. We loved our stay here. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the grounds were beautiful. The kids enjoyed their time around the lake and the parents had a chance to totally relax. We opted for the breakfast as well which was also very good. Will definitely arrange to stay a few nights at the Edgewater when we plan to travel to NZ again in a couple of years.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisg_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Chris

Thanks for your review and appreciate your comments about our reception team.

I am sorry that your plans were disrupted due to the landslip but pleased that you enjoyed Edgewater and Wanaka.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to NZ. There is so much to do in Wanaka, especially with a family.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews