We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and beautiful location”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived at this hotel after a really long journey from the locations and it was a welcome relief. The rooms are well appointed, the bathrooms spacious, and a fantastic view of the lake (in certain parts).

My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin (which is not helped by shared doors in-between certain rooms) and we could hear a fairly loud party in the room next-door for most of the night. To the hotel's credit, we called the desk and told them about the party, and they helped as much as they could. The other issue is that, due to some reason, the rooms don't have a very large hot water tank, so I ended up taking a cold shower after the two other people in my party took longer showers. This is a known problem with the hotel, and they tell you about it when you check it, but it still stinks.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask for a second floor room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Kelly

We are pleased we were able to offer a haven for you after such a long journey.

I am sorry to hear of the disruption next door to your room, but pleased the reception staff assisted you with this.

Indeed, each guest room is fitted with its own hot water cylinder and from time to time, it can get low if used extensively. But I am pleased you were alerted to this at check in.

I trust the rest of your time in New Zealand went well.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    256
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
190
388
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This a lovely hotel, as a family, the room was great. Separate bedroom for Adults ! . The location is wonderful, open your bedroom patio door with lawns running down to the waters edge.

All the staff from the groundsmen to the most excellent George, the Northern Concierge, based in the hotel lobby could not do enough for you. Cudos to the manager for creating a welcome, friendly, immaculate Hotel.
We even spoke to locals who go there for a drink & food!

Our sons have elected instead of a 2 week European vacation, to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRyansBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences.

It is a bit of a plus that our suites and two-bedroom apartments give you the opportunity for your own bedroom.

George is such a delight. We are pleased to have him with us at Edgewater.

We look forward to welcoming your sons during their visit.

Thanks once again.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I along with my wife and toddler daughter stayed here for 3 nights. We stayed in a suite and are very happy with the decision to stay here. We arrived in wanaka without a booking, the I site had closed for the day. luckily they had a brochure available, I called about 10 motels and inspected a few. Edgewater gave me a deal on the suite which sounded attractive, we landed there without knowing what to expect.. of course we were pleasantly surprised. What awaited us was, Plenty of parking, fully equipped room, excellent heating, awesome view of the lake, rolling lawns with ducks prancing around. Only thing to be kept in mind is that you need to have transport to get to town centre. I fully recommend EdgewaterGave

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank iyernix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your observations about Edgewater.

We are well suited for families, as you discovered. I am sure our prancing ducks kept your toddler fascinated with their antics!

As you rightly point out, we are on the edge of Wanaka and a car is certainly an asset. Many guests also enjoy the lakefront walkway from the hotel to the heart of Wanaka, taking about 15 minutes to stroll.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were amazingly lucky to be offered Edgewater on a 'Special' by the i (tourist information). Parking was easy, Reception was very helpful and the suite of rooms was one of the best we have had in 7 years of travelling (bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette (well equiped), living/dinning area (2 sofas, dinning table), opening onto small patio). Moreover, the position - on the shore of the Lake and the views, over the Lake, were superb not only to look out to in the evening but to awake to in the morning. Sadly, the internet was not straightforward and free access was limited to 15 minutes; why do hotels sillily impose restrictions on this essential requirement. In sum, therefore, for the price we paid in NZ, the accommodation was exceptional and thank you to the lady in the 'i'.

Room Tip: Room 105 - Beautiful suite with superb views of the lake. Parking very near.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Kia Ora

We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations from your time at Edgewater.

The spacious layout, guest rooms and lakefront location are great assets for the property. We are pleased you enjoyed them.

A solution to the internet issue is well underway, however there are a few technical challenges in our location. Be assured we are working towards a solution.

Thanks once again,

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

the hotel consists of several two story buildings with units up and down. \it is situated right on the lakeshore, with some units having a complete and unobstructed view over the lake, and others offering lake views obstructed to a greater or lesser degree by other building units. Unfortunately, our was one of the most view obstructed units, but still very pleasant. From our travels, it would appear that bookings made at discount rates through this and other web sites result in being offered the least attractive rooms available in that class, while the hotel saves the best for direct (and higher priced) bookings. we can't prove this, but it has been our experience so far everywhere that we have booked that we do not get the best location, even when better room appear to be available.

Having said that, our room was very nice, and the hotel facilities are extensive. We do have two complaints: 1. for a premium price booking it seems poor service to charge for internet access, and then to limit the data transfer offered also. by comparison, we last stayed in a "holiday park" motel style room, which was equal in every way to the room here, paid less than half the price, and were offered free unrestricted internet. 2. We were unfortunate to have rain during our stay and looked forward to using the spa/sauna facilities. the day we arrive we were told they were closed for maintenance, but would be open the following day. When we went over the following day they were still closed and maintenance had not been done, which was disappointing, as this feature was a factor in our choice of this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, call the hotel directly to request a unit with an unobstructed view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Kia Ora

We appreciate your feedback on your visit at Edgewater.

The internet is under active review at the moment so that we can offer our guests free, wi-fi access throughout the hotel. As often the case with technical matters, it is not quite a straight forward solution. However we are working actively on this.

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to use the spa/sauna facilities. As you would understand, from time to time they do need maintenance attention, however it is unfortunate that the facility wasn't open the next day.

You may have noticed that we have recently added a day spa/beauty service at Edgewater. So perhaps that may be an option on your next visit.

With regards to room allocation we aim to treat all our guest fairly, no matter how they booked us. Generally allocation is based on a variety of factors such as type of room requested (we have three different room types), the desire for the traveling party or group to be accommodated near each other, when the booking was made and simply availability on any given night. We do aim to accommodate guest requests as much as possible.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Situated on the edge of the lake, waking up each morning was a pleasure. It is so quiet and peaceful, but minutes away from the town centre.
The rooms are huge with cooking and washing facilities if you are there for a longer stay.
The staff are helpful and offer advice on local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapierAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Kia Ora

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

It is often the case that guests enjoy some of their most restful nights at Edgewater, due to the quietness and peacefulness you experienced.

Edgewater is located on the edge of Wanaka, and edge of Lake Wanaka. We do have an easy access walkway from the hotel to the heart of Wanaka, taking about 15 minutes.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here in August and I must admit it is one of the most stunning locations a resort could have. Truly amazing views of Lake Wanaka.

The hotel itself could do with a lot of improvements. The rooms are fine, spacious and comfortable and for the most part self-contained. If you get one with a view across the lake then it is pretty special. The housekeeping was terrible. Each day the standard seemed to get worse and worse. The floor was not vacuumed and the hotel encourages you to separate your recycling from your garbage, but these were rarely emptied.

We were pretty diligent with our washing up and only ever left a couple of small things which were always left dirty and in the sink by the staff. A few utensils were missing which at times was annoying.

Another major concern I have about this place is the appalling internet/wifi set up they have. One must buy a scratch card valued at $45/week, there are other options which are all as ridiculously costly. In this day and age I would expect at $45/week you would get a flawless service but it is riddled with problems. At times the wifi was down all night. As someone who does a lot of work on the net this was a severe let down. To me this was the biggest drawback and something the Edgewater needs address asap.

All in all a pleasant stay but with a few improvements this place could be absolutely incredible, however, currently it is lacking.

Room Tip: A Lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us.

You are quite right about the internet. It is under active attention to be replaced to ensure that guests can easily access wi-fi free. This is posing some technical challenges which are taking time to be overcome.

With regard to your housekeeping comments we did an initial investigation, based on the limited information we gathered from your review. Unfortunately we were unable to pin-point more details and thus investigate further. We could investigate these further if you wished to provide a little more detail. You can email bd@edgewater.co.nz or housekeeping@edgewater.co.nz with details.

Regards
Trish

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing