We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day Lunch was Horrible”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch was Horrible”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family and I went for Christmas Day lunch and were extremely disappointed. At $95 a person we expected to have a high quality meal. Sadly, most of the food was luke warm. Both the turkey and beef slices were dry and cold. The ham was the only meat that was remotely warm as it was sliced when you were served. Coffee from the espresso machine in the bar was not included for $95, which is was also disappointing. The seafood was also terrible. Prawn cocktails were made from frozen peeled prawns and were frankly rubbish.

The location was beautiful but we were seated at a table that was way to large for 5 people. The service was okay but there was no extra effort taken and certainly no Christmas joy. I definitely wouldn't recommend this restaurant and won't be going again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara_Westaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Lara

We apologize for the situation you have described where you shared dissatisfied with our Christmas day fare.

We did aim to give you a spacious table for your party, rather than squeeze you onto a table that was too small.

With regards to your various comments on the menu, we would be pleased to have attended to any matters brought to our attention on the day.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    255
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
186
380
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We spent three days here (encompassing New Years) and we had a great time! Wanaka is an amazing place with lots of things to do and Edgewater staff were always friendly and happy to help us!
We had dinner at the restaurant ny's and were happy with both our meal and the service! The band were brilliant and we danced and enjoyed the music! Thanks Edgewater!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Kia Ora,

Thanks for sharing your experiences with us at Edgewater during New Years.

It sounds like you had fun both at Edgewater and around in Wanaka....even though the weather was a little changeable during the New Year period!.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We visited the holiday last year on our honeymoon and trust me this place was the best of all the places we stayed in New Zealand. The hotel is situated just on lakeside true to its name. The rooms are very big and spacious with plenty of lounge space, big bedrooms, kitchen. The rooms open directly into the garden area besides the lake and have awesome views. We wanted to stay here for longer but unfortunately our plan didn't allow that.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor lake side room for the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Czarofconsoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Kia Ora,

We appreciate your comments about Edgewater during your recent honeymoon visit.

We hope you have more time to stay longer, during a future visit.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay between Christmas and New Year and were absolutely delighted with the standard of accommodation and service we experienced. The location beside the lake is beautiful and the apartment we stayed in just right in every detail. Above all the staff seemed genuinely interested in the well being of the guests and keen that we should enjoy our stay. Many thanks to all for providing such a first rate experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Kia Ora

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Edgewater and that we met your expectations in so many ways.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again during 2014 and beyond.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Motel located right beside Lake Wanaka which already gaurantee a great view. My children had a great time playing on the grass lawn and beside the lake. Room is very spacious, comfortable and clean. The only disappointing thing is the Spa pools were closed and Sauna were not appealing.

Road condition was provided at the reception which we thought was very helpful but unfortunately the info that the Hasst Pass was closed since early morning (21 Dec) was not known when we checkout out at 10am.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Kia Ora

Thank you to taking time to share your thoughts on Edgewater.

It is a great location for families, both for the outdoor areas and the spacious room size.

We are sorry the spa was closed. From time to time it does under-go maintenance.

The situation with the Haast Pass is quite fluid. We aim to keep our guests as updated as possible but sometimes there can be a delay receiving the latest from the Pass or indeed it can change after guests' departure.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali Seminyak
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked our lunch for this special day at $274 for a child and 2 adults no less, a month before our arrival as we were coming from overseas. It had come recommended for 'lunch' and given the location, we confirmed the booking.

I really and truly wish that I had booked somewhere else and felt as much from our arrival. There were cheaper options that now appear to have been awesome.

Clearly Edgewater caters to a select few in the community and in-house guests mainly whom accept dried up salad and frozen peeled tiny prawns in a tinned mayonnaise dressing. I accidently picked up a few prawns in the shell on ice that surrounded these atrocities and was told that they were only the decoration !! I thought people stopped serving that garbage in the 80’s??

Today I was proven wrong. How a sea faring culture such as the south island of New Zealand with a pick of the world's best and freshest seafood can allow itself to linger in shear laziness and mediocrity is beyond me. No oysters, no fresh fish, no local mussels at all. Frozen tiny prawns was our choice or little slabs of smoked salmon.


Main course - dried up ROLLED turkey, no cranberry sauce in sight - I begged and got some. Boiled up old peas, burnt pumpkin, Gammon Ham in chaffing dishes floating in something clear - again - who serves that ? Over salty gravy and soggy cauliflower in what looked like the blancmange sauce. My eight year old loved that. Us less.

Desserts stopped short of a disgrace with a choice of cherries and cream, a berry soup and cream, a tough old boiled Christmas pudding in mini portion and a 'brandy' sauce or Pavlova.
At least the fruit was fresh and local.

Now, perhaps I seem a little rough on this gig, however given that everyone was seated on what looked like barbeque timber rounds of a beer garden, no tableclothes.

I was offered a drink but she never came back.
As we were seated outside we saw no-one but the gorgeous morning supervisor who realised we had been forgotten at the end when we were leaving. She knows who she was - divine.

Entre plates nor cutlery were cleared so we took them in ourselves and kept the grubby cutlery incase we never saw anyone again. My 8 year old thought it was hysterical to put our dirty plates on a clean table in order to achieve the task of clearing for our next course.

Finally, we resorted to going into the bar area twice, firstly to order our drinks (no champagne by the glass available even on Christmas Day ) then coffee, to see the league of nations in the form of the wait staff colonising and discussing their evening plans.

At least they had some to look forward too - mine were a non-event.

One cannot rely purely on clearly one of most beautiful back drops in the world however that is free and belongs to all of us. We paid happily for our Christmas lunch and had hopes that you would have made an effort albeit outside of the Ski Season.

I will not recommend you and will advise our friends whom own villas in town to do the same.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CicadaManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Christmas day dining experience with us and whilst I respect your right to have your own opinion I do not necessarily agree with many of your claims; for example

• The Prawns surrounding the Shrimp Cocktails were available for consumption.
• Indeed NZ does have some truly wonderful seafood available around our shoreline, however our location in Central Otago places us the furthest inland from any of these shores and subsequently does not allow us the direct access to this fresh produce.
• Cranberry Sauce was one of the many condiments available with the rolled Turkey
• The Ham was carved at all times by one of our chefs from the carving station and at no time was served from a chaffing dish
• Minted potatoes, Roasted pumpkin, Glazed carrots, Steamed peas and Cauliflower in a Cheese sauce were available as stated.
• Champagne was available by the glass.

Without wanting to go on further, I am sorry you did not have the experience you had wished for however the clear majority of the in excess of 300 diners we had on the day, many of whom I spoke with, had differing opinions to that of your own.

Regards
Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We only stayed for one night but will definitely be back. It was quiet and one could hear the water lapping. The restaurant was really good apart from far too many dishes having hollandaise sauce as an ingredient!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyandjim83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Wendy and Jim

We're pleased you enjoyed the peace and tranquility at Edgewater, with Lake Wanaka so close.

We look forward to welcoming you back....perhaps for longer than just one night!

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing