We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
wolllongong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Highly recommend the Edgewater as it is on the edge of town in a very quiet location, but still only a 10 min walk back into town. Rooms are large and very private with views over the lake. Walking tracks in all directions and service was very good. We would derfinitely stay again

Room Tip: Any facing the lake have wonderful views and direct access to the walkways and cycleways
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevWolllongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Kia ora KevWollongong

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

We're pleased you enjoyed our tranquil location and it sounds like you also enjoyed exploring the area on the the walking tracks.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    250
    71
    20
    14
See reviews for
183
374
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for work last week. I love that the apartments are so big and roomy and the views are to die for. Customer service was fantastic. You must try out the cafe and have one of the freshly made to order lemon and poppy seed scones, they are absolutely devine. Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yonnamalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Yonnamalone,

Thanks for your kind words and pleased you were able to enjoy our Edgewater's hospitality for a week.

We change our menu seasonally (four times per year) but the baked-to-order scones are a hit and so they're always on the menu!

On your next visit try out some of our other options....they're delicious too.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This substantial resort hotel is nicely situated at the edge of the lake and within walking distance of the town. Although it was functional, it really was rather ordinary and almost devoid of character. Also, nowadays it is disappointing to find WiFi connection being charged for, as is the case in this establishment. However, the concierge, George, is a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Edbarnes

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

You'll be pleased to know that Wi-Fi is now free. It was implemented during December but unfortunately, it would seem, just after your stay. Just by way of a back-story, a number of technical issues had to be overcome to help improve the stability of our service before going wi-fi. As you would appreciate, Wanaka is scenic, but hilly environment and that posed some challenges for the wi-fi providers.

Thanks for your kind words regarding George and our location. I am sorry you otherwise found Edgewater to underwhelming.

I trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Terrific location at the edge of the lake. Check-in was very pleasant with friendly staff. This is a great location at the waters edge with terrific views of snow capped mountains. Our room faced the lake and was a good size with a balcony which was great for breakfast and a glass of wine in the early evening. The bathroom was large and had a heater in case of a chilly morning but weather was fabulous so not needed.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room facing the lake with lake views as many rooms face away from the lake. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68IanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear 68 Ian M,.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

We are pleased to be located right on the edge of Lake Wanaka and offer our guests, such as yourselves, lovely views and a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The views from the rooms at Edgewater are spectacular. Sitting on the balcony with the morning coffee or a late afternoon wine watching people jog around the lake or staring out to the snow capped mountains was amazing.

Staying at Edgewater is definitely all about the location and views.

The rooms are quite basic bit very adequate and comfortable. Our room had a comfortable queen size bed, small kitchenette and bathroom with bath/shower. Our room was kept clean and well serviced.

We had one breakfast at the hotel, which was very basic, but included in the price. The restaurant menu looked good, however we did not eat there so can not comment.

The hotel staff were lovely. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everyone we spoke to was polite and helpful, even the cleaner in the early hours when we'd locked our key in the room!!

Wanaka is a beautiful location and the Edgewater is the perfect hotel to truly enjoy the beauty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Edgie 66

We appreciate your comments about Edgewater and very pleased you enjoyed our relaxed environment and friendly staff.

We hope that one day, in the future you may have the opportunity to return to Wanaka.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I travelled from the United States for a two week stay at Edgewater. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the resort. The resort sat right on the lakefront, with immaculate grounds and facilities. We dined in the restaurant numerous times and each time we were more than impressed. We found the staff to be very helpful and were served in the restaurant by a waitress by the name of Zara - she went above and beyond each time she saw us and was always smiling and friendly. The reception staff were also very helpful with a wonderful concierge who gave us great trip and activity advice. Would definitely stay here again.

Thankyou Edgewater

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Kia Ora JD

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at Edgewater.

We are pleased to have played such a positive role in your vacation. Thanks for you comments about our staff and we'll pass your comments onto Zara.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
721 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed three nights in a king suite and the view was marvellous. The dinners we had were all well done and well prepared. the wine list was local and quite good. Given all the good points the breakfast was disappointing. The rather meagre selection of food was accompanied by only drip coffee. This seems out of synch which what is otherwise a top notch locale.

Room Tip: get a suite overlooking the lake on the ground floor so you can walk in the grass
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Applejuice 12

We appreciate your feedback on your stay at Edgewater. We are very lucky to have such a special location for our guests to enjoy.

Your comments about our breakfast are noted. With regard to the coffee we are happy to offer specialty coffees on request and for an additional charge.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing